We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great low-cost hotel right in the heart of Anacortes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cap Sante Inn

Cap Sante Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anacortes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cap Sante Inn
Save
You added Cap Sante Inn to your Saves list
906 9th Street, Anacortes, WA 98221   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Anacortes B&B and Inns
Sedro Woolley, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great low-cost hotel right in the heart of Anacortes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

This hotel, as I recall from my October 2010 stay, is a low fare kind of hotel but a nice place with great location...

It's low fare because their business model at Cap Sante Inn is they have no staff between 11 PM & 7 AM, they charge an arm & a leg if you become a hassle (e.g. lose your key) & they have no coffee-maker, no wake-up call, none of that. Seriously, the business model is like RyanAir or Southwest Airlines... but the mattress is TempurPedic. Very comfortable. So 5 stars on value & sleep quality... but 3 on rooms & 4 on service (nice staff so won't dent them). They seem to have some bold as in risky ideas.

The location is great, only a 25-minute 1-way walk to the top of Cap Sante w/ great views. Very much recommended. Also the hotel is right next to the town centre with everything a good walk (when you're disabled & can't drive, it's an issue). Finally, the SKAT/Skagit Transit bus stop is a grand total of one (1) block to the south to connect to Burlington & Mt. Vernon, the latter of which has AMTRAK & Greyhound service. Definitely 5 stars on location.

Overall, if you want bang for your buck, a great downtown location and don't need to be pampered... this is the place to go in Anacortes. Hope to return one day...

Room Tip: Ask for the 2nd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    17
    8
    5
    5
See reviews for
4
20
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

Owners are very freindly and accomodating. Restaurant close by (calico inn) is great for breakfast. Brown lantern Tavern has good food but service has gone downhill and honestly sucks nowadays. Had to go to the bar for a menu and even after asking bartender(s) for a menue they couldn't put 2 and 2 together and figure we might want to order. We waited 15 minutes and just decided to move on. Mexican restaurant nearby had great food and even better service. Pick them instead. Need a tattoo? One of the premier artist is in town. Tribal casino nearby has a great breakfast spread.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollister, CA
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2009

I have stayed at other motels in Anacortes but found the Cap Sante Inn to be the place for me! First of all, Mark is terrific. He has made this motel into a very comfortable place to stay. It's not a 5 star hotel but it IS after all, Anacortes. The beds are really great, the towels nice and fluffy, the room very clean. The refrigerator, microwave were a nice touch and a flat screen TV too. My room had a view of the Cap Sante Marina and Cap Sante hill where you can see lots of Bald Eagles. The motel is so conveniently located in town, so walking for shopping or eating is very easy. There is coffee, tea and hot chocolate in the lobby and it is open from 7am -11pm every day. If you love dogs, there is almost always one in the lobby to pet while you are away from your own!
I would recommend for breakfast, the Adrift restaurant. Casual atmosphere but the people there know good food! Try the Spelt pancakes...custardy with lovely flavor. Great bacon too from a local farmer. They use a lot of local ingredients. They also make a killer lamb burger for lunch or dinner. If you are looking for a nice dinner, try the Star Bar. I tried their 4 course small bites dinner. What a bargain! (you get 2 choices from each section) The butternut squash soup with truffle was delicious and served in a coffee cup and saucer...nice touch!! It was not at all sweet which is my complaint about nearly every soup of that type. For an appetizer, I had the madras curry marinated flat iron steak....delicious twist and a good size portion. The halibut was pan roasted with a porcini mushroom crust. It was frankly the best halibut I've ever had! For dessert, a lovely little creme brulee, perfectly done. Nice wine list but would have preferred more northwest wines. They are making some truly great ones. I ended up with a Pinot Noir from right down the road from me in California. It was tasty, but hey, I can have that here! Also while in Anacortes, you have to stop the "The Store". More importantly, "The Bakery" at "The Store". Frank and his gang make the most amazing muffins and other delicious choices! He gets up at 2:30 every morning to bake for the morning. The coffee is superb and he has a very well thought out selection of wines by the bottle (Frank knows his wine!!!) and other country store type finds! Go there, it's worth it and the screen door hitting you on the backside on the way out is a nice reminder of days gone by.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Tx
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

Clean, mostly comfortable. No AC and can't open windows because quarry trucks run 24 hrs a day. Is a remodel with fridge, micro, flat screen. No coffee in room. Has 2 sinks. They did forget to replace the shower head. It was more like a pressure hose. It's probably the quietest hotel in Anacortes, however. The others are on the main busy street. Over looks the marina and bay. Can walk to restaurants. Adrift is not good value,food mediocre at best. Cafe next to hotel has great breakfast. The staff quite helpful.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

This motel has everything you need at a good price, plus it's in a great location in the old town of Anacortes they have free wi fi internet. There's a very nice place for breakfast next door & it's walkng distance to good restaurants. Beds were comfortable, room was clean, & management/staff were friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

If your the kind of person that needs all the extra amenties, stay in Seattle. But if you love small town charm, friendly people and a quaint quiet place to stay, this is the place. My husband and I regret only staying here for 1 night. We have already discussed plans to return and spend more quality time both in Anacortes and at the Cap Sante Inn.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendota Heights, MN
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

The location adjacent to marina and historic district is great. Owner and staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Also a pet-friendly motel. Not glamorous, but clean and roomy and definitely the best value.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cap Sante Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cap Sante Inn

Address: 906 9th Street, Anacortes, WA 98221
Location: United States > Washington > Anacortes
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Anacortes
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Cap Sante Hotel Anacortes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cap Sante Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.