We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible customer service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Marina Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Marina Inn to your Saves list
The Marina Inn
3300 Commercial Ave, Anacortes, WA 98221   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
2 nights for $114!!!
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Anacortes
1 review
“Terrible customer service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I had a room reserved and was very pleased with the room and rate. However the Lori who would have been checking us in was so disrespectful I decided that I would rather spend my money somewhere else because of the way Lori treated me. I have worked customer service a long time and I could not believe the way this woman talked to me and really I should say yelled at me in front of other customers. Good customer service is making sure that they are happy and want to come back and I was neither. I spoke to the manager who apologized for her rude obnoxious employee but didn't seem sincere or like she really gave a crap. Anacortes is a beautiful place with a lot of friendly people. I would recommend visiting but I would absolutely not recommend this hotel. I am glad they didn't get a penny from me, nor will they ever and I hope they don't get any of yours either.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinafun, Manager at The Marina Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Our policy is if a guest is paying with cash you must have $100 cash security deposit or we authorize $100 on a credit card in the event of potential damage. The deposit is returned at check out after inspection of the room. The reviewer didn't have the cash and she wanted us to hold her "debit" card for security after admitting there was no money on it. Lori took her into another room in order not to embarrass her in front of other guests and tried to explain our policy. The reviewer got mad. I was just returning to the hotel and she caught me in my car and complained to me for 15 minutes with me barely getting a word in edge wise. I told her that Lori is a long time guest here and is excellent with guests and without having her side of things there was nothing I wasn't going to comment except to say I was sorry if she had a bad experience and I would check into it. She asked if the policy was for everyone and I said yes. She proceeded to head to her car and I came into the hotel. As I approached Lori to ask her what had happened the reviewer came back in and shouted at Lori using such vulgar language I wouldn't even repeat it and yelling at other guests that they shouldn't stay here. Her behavior was totally unacceptable and she will never be welcome at this hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    108
    21
    4
    2
See reviews for
73
102
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This hotel is a great value. You can't beat the price. The hotel was clean, beds were comfortable, location was great. The lobby smells of chocolate-chip cookies - yum! No elevators, but there are only 2 floors, and they told us beforehand, so it wasn't a big deal. I was also very impressed with the amenities in the room - there was a hair-dryer, TV with cable, a mini-fridge, a microwave, and a coffee maker. (We had a regular coffee maker, but our friends had a Keurig in their room.) I wasn't expecting those items to be in the room for such a cheap price. I was expecting 2 beds and a bathroom! :) I was also very glad to have the sink outside the bathroom, which is always nice when traveling with others.

I was a little disappointed with the breakfast, only because we were told it was an "expanded" continental breakfast, which I took to mean hot food. In my opinion, it was just a regular continental breakfast - bagels, toast, fruit, boiled eggs, coffee, and juice. If they hadn't said anything about the breakfast, I would have been just fine with it.

If I'm ever in the area, I will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, WA
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed here the night before our Island Adventures whale watching boat trip out of Anacortes. The boat check-in was just blocks down Commercial Ave., the main drag through town.

The desk and breakfast room staff were very friendly and courteous. Otis Spunkmeyer chocolate chip cookies were offered gratis in early evening. Our room was fairly spacious with a flat screen TV and somewhat hard mattress on the bed. Keurig coffee maker with both regular and decaf K cups. Complementary breakfast in the small breakfast room included cereals, Danish, hard boiled eggs, Eggo waffles (sadly not cook your own), toast, juices, coffee, fruit etc. We had a quiet, comfortable stay, though I wouldn't say it was a screaming deal at $100.00 incl. tax AFTER our AAA discount. Only big downer? Ice machine broke down right after we arrived...so no ice. Oh! and if view and a pool are important to you, this is not the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for one evening after arriving on the ferry from Sidney BC. The Marina Inn is a very nice place to stay, comfortable rooms, very good beds, with coffee maker, fridge and microwave, good Wifi, and close (driving distance) to many beautiful parks on Fidalgo Island, as well as to the Washington Ferry to San Juan Islands and Vancouver Island . The front staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was good. The fresh baked cookies in the evening - delicious, although not great for my diet!

The only draw-back was that there is no balcony nor outdoor sitting space (except for table and couple of chairs adjacent to parking lot.) However we took our snacks to a local park and enjoyed our picnic looking over the marina and the bay.

Anacortes is an interesting town and we enjoyed an afternoon walking and exploring the Old Town and walking along the Marina and up to the very beautiful viewpoint looking over Anacortes and the entire town. There is a lot of history in this place. We also enjoyed our time exploring some of the wonderful state parks and walking the trail around Deception Pass. Well worth a stay beyond the one night "to catch the ferry" stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed there on sep1st,2013 for a night. It was a last minute plan for whale watching and luckily we found this hotel. It was small but very clean and right on the main street close to everything(the main st is called commercial ave and everything is on both sides of this ave perpendicularly including the marina).The lady at the front desk Pam was very helpful in guiding us to local attractions.Rooms are clean with A/C .Bathrooms are well taken care of. Continental breakfast is not so great.. everything is cold including waffles and boiled eggs, however there is a microwave to heat if u want.since it was only for a night to crash, no complaints at all.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, Oregon, Usa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We have stayed in various places in the Anacortes area in order to catch the morning ferry to Vancouver Island, and none were as well done as the Marina Inn. It isn't new, but it is well-appointed, obviously had a facelift lately, The rooms are outfitted with almost everything you would want, including a Keurig coffee maker. Hooray!
I am going to quit checking out other places and make this my stopping off place in Anacortes from now on.

Room Tip: There are two floors but no elevator. If you don't want to carry luggage upstairs, ask for a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel is a small "mom & pop" type place. The rooms are very clean. The front desk has fresh baked cookies every evening. There is a breakfast buffet, but we did not partake, so I cannot rate that.
It is in a convenient location, easy to find!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Marina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marina Inn

Address: 3300 Commercial Ave, Anacortes, WA 98221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Anacortes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Anacortes
#3 Family Hotel in Anacortes
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anacortes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Beautiful San Juan Islands on the Fidalgo Island. The Marina Inn is close to downtown restaurants, shops and Marinas. Minutes from the Ferry. Exceptionally friendly staff, Remodeled rooms, New beds, Free wireless internet, Complimentary expanded continental breakfast, hat and air-conditioned rooms, cable TV, guest laundry,and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Marina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marina Hotel Anacortes
Marina Hotel Anacortes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marina Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.