We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Convenient to Ferry and Many Parks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Marina Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Marina Inn to your Saves list
The Marina Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3300 Commercial Ave, Anacortes, WA 98221   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Anacortes
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great Value, Convenient to Ferry and Many Parks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for one evening after arriving on the ferry from Sidney BC. The Marina Inn is a very nice place to stay, comfortable rooms, very good beds, with coffee maker, fridge and microwave, good Wifi, and close (driving distance) to many beautiful parks on Fidalgo Island, as well as to the Washington Ferry to San Juan Islands and Vancouver Island . The front staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was good. The fresh baked cookies in the evening - delicious, although not great for my diet!

The only draw-back was that there is no balcony nor outdoor sitting space (except for table and couple of chairs adjacent to parking lot.) However we took our snacks to a local park and enjoyed our picnic looking over the marina and the bay.

Anacortes is an interesting town and we enjoyed an afternoon walking and exploring the Old Town and walking along the Marina and up to the very beautiful viewpoint looking over Anacortes and the entire town. There is a lot of history in this place. We also enjoyed our time exploring some of the wonderful state parks and walking the trail around Deception Pass. Well worth a stay beyond the one night "to catch the ferry" stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    114
    21
    4
    2
See reviews for
76
108
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there on sep1st,2013 for a night. It was a last minute plan for whale watching and luckily we found this hotel. It was small but very clean and right on the main street close to everything(the main st is called commercial ave and everything is on both sides of this ave perpendicularly including the marina).The lady at the front desk Pam was very helpful in guiding us to local attractions.Rooms are clean with A/C .Bathrooms are well taken care of. Continental breakfast is not so great.. everything is cold including waffles and boiled eggs, however there is a microwave to heat if u want.since it was only for a night to crash, no complaints at all.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, Oregon, Usa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We have stayed in various places in the Anacortes area in order to catch the morning ferry to Vancouver Island, and none were as well done as the Marina Inn. It isn't new, but it is well-appointed, obviously had a facelift lately, The rooms are outfitted with almost everything you would want, including a Keurig coffee maker. Hooray!
I am going to quit checking out other places and make this my stopping off place in Anacortes from now on.

Room Tip: There are two floors but no elevator. If you don't want to carry luggage upstairs, ask for a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel is a small "mom & pop" type place. The rooms are very clean. The front desk has fresh baked cookies every evening. There is a breakfast buffet, but we did not partake, so I cannot rate that.
It is in a convenient location, easy to find!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Good value and well kept clean rooms. I woke up well before my family so thought I'd treat myself to a leisurely coffee downstairs and get some time to read my book - unfortunately the breakfast area is tight and not intended for lengthy stays, so that didn't happen as I'd hoped. Aside from the space, which is OK for what it is, I could hear absolutely everything from behind the busy front desk, including all converstions between staff members...they might want to keep that door shut between the back of the desk and the breakfast room to keep it peaceful for guests.

Room Tip: If you can't manage stairs be sure to get a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We only needed one night here so we can get on the early ferry to the San Juan Islands and booked the king jacuzzi room. I was a little hesitant on staying in this room because I didn't feel the jacuzzi was big enough for my husband and I. We were desperate to find a tub for our achy bodies so we stayed in this room anyway. It was too small for us, I am 5'9 and hubby is 6ft. so we didn't go in together. The bed and linens were super comfy, we didn't want to get out of bed in the morning and keurig coffee maker was another plus. Even though the inn was situated on the street, we didn't hear ANY noise. Very quiet. The chocolate chip cookie they gave us at check in was delicious but the breakfast could be a lot better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinafun, Manager at The Marina Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Marina Inn. We are delighted you enjoyed our wonderful beds. So many people comment how comfy they are. I sorry you were disappointed in our Jacuzzi bathtub. My staff is very good about informing people when they make a reservation that it is a bathtub with Jacuzzi jets but not a two person tub and our website also makes note of that. I'm hoping that you still were able to soothe your aching muscles - just one person at a time.
Pam Audette,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed here prior to lining up for the ferry the following morning. Staff were excellent, from the person I called to make to reservation, to the check-in person and including the breakfast staff. Great value! Small breakfast area but adequate. Yes, you have to walk up a flight of wide stairs but we coped OK (we knew this in advance thanks to Trip Advisor reviews). We could hear the TV in the next room but effectively blanked it out with the AC when it was time for bed.

Room Tip: We like upstairs simply to not have folks above us making noise, so accepted the walk up a flight of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinafun, Manager at The Marina Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thanks for the review HikerDave. Glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for submitting a review. If you stay again, please let us know if you're being disturbed by another guest. We will contact the guest and let them know they're disturbing other guests. We want your stay to be as perfect as we can make it.

Pam Audette
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Marina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marina Inn

Address: 3300 Commercial Ave, Anacortes, WA 98221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Anacortes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Anacortes
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anacortes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Marina Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of the San Juan Islands archipelago, The Marina Inn is conveniently located in Anacortes, WA on Fidalgo Island. The Marina Inn is close to downtown restaurants, shops and Marinas. Minutes from the ferry. Exceptionally friendly staff, remodeled rooms, comfortable beds, feather pillows, free wireless internet, complimentary expanded continental breakfast,air-conditioned rooms, cable TV, guest laundry and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Marina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marina Hotel Anacortes
Marina Hotel Anacortes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marina Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.