We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A costly dump” 1 of 5 stars
Review of San Juan Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added San Juan Motel to your Saves list
San Juan Motel
1103 6th Street, Anacortes, WA 98221   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Anacortes
Paris
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“A costly dump”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I often travel in Motel and this is one of the worst I have ever been. The room and mattresses were dirty, mold in the bathroom, cigarette buds in the windows' rail, at least a dozen flies happily flying in the room (made for some fun hunting at first), not lamp by the bed (only one but it was not working), trash in the parking and some left in the bins in the room too, hair, etc.
Someone said in another review that it was like a Motel 6 or Motel 8 but I have never ever seen any of these places as dirty as the San Juan Motel was.
In Seattle I stayed in the Value Inn and it was in a much better condition!
All that for nearly 80$ a night mid-September!
I would not recommend that place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    6
    6
    4
    20
See reviews for
11
11
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

In late August 2013 we took our two granddaughters with us to Anacortes. We used this motel as as a jumping off point for travel to the San Juan Islands. The motel grounds were very dirty and the room lacked a proper setup for their guests. The manager seemed very nice and tried to take care of our needs as quickly as she could. Once we were settled, the room was fairly comfortable. The rooms are fairly large, but very outdated and not well maintained. Our first morning there we left the room for the day to catch a ferry to the islands. We made a serious mistake by leaving our passports and $200 cash inside a suitcase in the room. While we were gone, it was stolen from our suitcase. Of course, everyone denies the theft and they refused to refund even the room rent. We will not be staying there again.

Room Tip: DO NOT leave any valuables in your room - not even inside your suitcase. Theft is very likely and m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolding, Denmark
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Barely clean, someone else's long hairs on the bathroom floor, the chain lock was barely attached to the wall. Could also hear every word said by neighbors, all morning long.
Lady at the front desk was cheerful, even though we were late checking in that night, and had cookies.

Room Tip: Get in late, get up early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Are you kidding me? How can this place get good reviews? The first night we spent there, kids were running around, yelling and screaming until 9:30pm. The parking lot was full of trash, the room had 2 tv's. That's great, but one didn't work. The bathroom needed major renovation. There was one tiny waste basket in the bathroom, that's it. The room had a kitchenette, but nothing worked and no flatware, dishes, or pots and pans. We won't stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

We travel to Anacortes a couple times a year for my husband's work at the refinery and we always stay here. We are always asked at check in if we want weekly service because we more or less live there for 3-4 weeks. We always decline because my husband works nights. The staff always gives us towels and sheets when we ask and I usually change them because of his work schedule. The staff is always very friendly and helpful. The room is always clean when we check in. The person before me who left the reveiw I don't understand because we never had an experience like that. This motel caters to refinery workers so it might not be your 5 star motel but you won't find another on in town for the price and convenience. See y'all again in July.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband was working in Anacortes He stayed at the San Juan motel for approximately two and a half weeks. and all that time his room was never cleaned his sheets were never changed he was never given clean towels no toilet paper and had to empty his own garbage. if he ever has to work there again I will pay a little more and get a decent room. will never stay here again no matter how convenient.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This motel is very conveniently located in Anancortes and walking distance to shops and restaurants. However, it really is worn, ragged and not exceptionally clean. It is not a good value when you compare the cost to the quality. Next time I will pay a little more and be much more comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Juan Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Motel

Address: 1103 6th Street, Anacortes, WA 98221
Location: United States > Washington > Anacortes
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Anacortes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Downtown Anacortes, exactly 3.5 miles from San Juan/Sidney B.C. Ferry. Situated near a variety of restaurants, this quiet motel is great for short-term and long-term guests. Rooms offer King or Queen-sized beds and brand new Stainless Steel Kitchenettes. All rooms include Satellite TV + 4 HBOs, WiFi, In Room Courtesy Coffee and Free Local calls. Amenities also include, Non-Smoking and Smoking Rooms, Daily Maid Service, Ice Machine and Laundry Facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your San Juan Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Hotel Anacortes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Juan Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.