We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfortable, Good Value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of San Juan Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added San Juan Motel to your Saves list
San Juan Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1103 6th Street, Anacortes, WA 98221   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Anacortes
California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfortable, Good Value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2008

Rooms are nice, reasonable size, clean, good condition with new kitchenettes, WiFi and HBOs, and the price is quite reasonable. New paint job outside and landscaping. Good location as well, just a few miles from the ferry terminal.

  • Liked — WiFi
  • Disliked — No Frills
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    6
    6
    4
    24
See reviews for
12
13
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Easton, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2008

Being a very frequent traveler, I am not given to hyperbole and exaggeration when it comes to hotels. I realize, by nature, its hit or miss. However, I feel compelled to fully advise and warn others about this incredibly squalid and dangerous place.
--
I was in the area to run the Whibey Island Marathon in nearby Oak Harbor, a town that was hopelessly sold out of all hotel and motel rooms. So I booked this property in the quasi-depressed town of Anacortes since it was practically the only thing available within a half an hour of where I needed to be. Orbitz listed this "property" as a two-star hotel so I figured it would be passable. However, not only does the property not rate two stars--or any fractional stars---it should be condemned and the owner(s) faced with heavy fines for innumerable fire, safety and building code violations.
--
When I first came upon the motel, the exterior revealed a property screaming out for extensive renovation, if not altogether razing. But when I climbed three flights of stairs that reeked of urine and revealed decades of abject filth, the situation deteriorated from dread to panic after I saw my room---room #40 (see photos). This particular room was inside a corridor, more a dead end where identically situated rooms on lower floors were used as janitorial (assuredly unused) closets. At first, I thought there was a mistake since the door knob had a crumpled paper bag over it, held around the knob by Band-Aids. I called down and I was assured that this room was for let and was tragically mine for the night. When I entered, the smell of decades worth of unfiltered cigarette smoke and mold assaulted me with the force of a junkie's fetid breath. I have stayed in smoking rooms before and it's never lilacs and ambrosia, but this room's stench made my eyes water. Airing out the room was impossible since there was a thick plastic sheeting over every window in the place, a garbage bag-like material that flapped outside.
--
The room had all of its locks missing---the chain, deadbolt, all gone replaced with holes in the particle board indicating their former presence (see photos). The carpet and chairs all were festooned with mean and copious stains....the bathroom had no mirror, but had gang graffiti (again, see photos) all over the room....an ancient fuse box with missing door greeted the guest in the bedroom where the sink was, inches about the sink....seemingly every table and cabinet had shards of particle board torn and slashed...an ancient space heater built into the wall sneered out, just millimeters from the dingy bedspread (see photos), clearly an inferno waiting to happen. And the barely functioning shower that worked as well as an octogenarian prostate cancer patient's urine stream.
--
Finding another room was impossible due to the marathon, both at this property and any hotel or motel within a 35-mile radius. So I gilded myself for the night, wedging one of the bodily-fluid stained chair's backs underneath the knob, programming the local police's phone number into my cell phone and hoping that none of the area's seemingly many hard cases wouldn't be invading my horrific sanctum. Fortunately, no one dared to perpetrate a B&E at the San Juan Motel, no doubt scared off by threats of bubonic plague, not to mention the probable desperation of any guest crazy enough to stay at this sub-hovel.
--
In summation, I think that this place might supplant Manhattan's Hotel Carter as the U.S.'s filthiest hotel for next year's list...that is, if it hasn't been condemned or destroyed by fire in the interim.

  • Liked — Seeing it disappear in my rental car's rearview mirror.
  • Disliked — Hmm....the squalor, the danger, the smell, ad nauseum (emphasis on nauseum)
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ranijee, Owner at San Juan Motel, responded to this review, November 14, 2008
Unfortunately this visitor's stay was during our remodel. This customer secured this room through Travelocity. This room was the only room available because of our remodel.

We did secure him a room for this visitor at the Marina Inn. They only had one room left. This visitor opted to *not* move to the Marina Inn.

We also told the customer that we would not charge him for the room at our hotel if he would take the room at the Marina Inn.

Again he refused.

All the rooms, inside and outside, were going through a complete remodel during this visitor's stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2008

This place gave on OK rate for a place to pass out and wait for the ferry at. Keep you expectations low, party, and get up an catch the ferry the next morning.

  • Stayed July 2004, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2007

We were thinking of staying at this property, however, after driving by the motel, my wife refused to even look at the rooms. The motel looked due for a major renovation, with curtains hanging loose, etc. Someone had previous written that the motel had been remodeled - it looked more like it definitely needed remodeling!

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2007

Me and my daughter spent two nights here while taking a day trip in the San Juan Islands.

An earlier review here suggests recently renovated rooms. Ours did not appear this way, and featured a burn mark on the wall and a bathroom that appeared to have marks on the floor- it looked dirty, but it was nothing I could wipe up FWIW. The main bedroom was a bit dark for my taste.

Having said that, for a budget price of $70 per night, with a mini-fridge and a microwave (and the old-fashioned stove and oven that obviously caused the burn marks), and a two-bed arrangement set up in almost separate rooms allowing for two TV sets, the amenities were quite handy for our needs (or in the case of the separate "rooms," stress-relieving). The beds were soft enough (if a little old), the bathtub clean, and the sinks in good working order. The location is great for walking around downtown (if only we had set aside the time to do so).

All in all, I'm looking for an excuse to bring my daughter back.

  • Liked — Spaciousness
  • Disliked — Appearance of scarring, if not uncleanliness
  • Stayed July 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2006

Likes:
*The Room rate is cheap.
*Rooms are clean and newly remodeled.
*Plenty of Parking
*Good Service
*Wake-up calls polite yet get you up.
*90+ channel TV
*Experienced staff ready to help with everything.
*in downtown Anacortes.
*near shopping, park, movie theatre
*quiet and relaxing
*Discounts for military, AAA, ARP, Islanders and Refinery Workers.
*International staff. no racism.
* Guest LAUNDRY

Dislike:
* No COntinental Breakfast or pool

  • Liked — open, quiet nice rooms
  • Disliked — no pool
  • Tips/Secrets — Book in Advance... This Motel tends to sell-out alot.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Juan Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Motel

Address: 1103 6th Street, Anacortes, WA 98221
Location: United States > Washington > Anacortes
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Anacortes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — San Juan Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Downtown Anacortes, exactly 3.5 miles from San Juan/Sidney B.C. Ferry. Situated near a variety of restaurants, this quiet motel is great for short-term and long-term guests. Rooms offer King or Queen-sized beds and brand new Stainless Steel Kitchenettes. All rooms include Satellite TV + 4 HBOs, WiFi, In Room Courtesy Coffee and Free Local calls. Amenities also include, Non-Smoking and Smoking Rooms, Daily Maid Service, Ice Machine and Laundry Facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your San Juan Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Hotel Anacortes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Juan Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.