We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time Friendly Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Islands Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Islands Inn to your Saves list
Islands Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   3401 Commercial Ave, Anacortes, WA 98211   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Anacortes B&B and Inns
hbgirl57
1 review
“Great Time Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2008

My husband and I went on a Whale Watch Tour and stayed at the Islands Inn, a friend recommended staying there , we were treated very well , the front desk staff was very helpful in giving us directions to the Whale Watch boat as well as other things to do in town. Our room had just been remodeled a few months earlier we stayed in a room with a king size bed fireplace flat panel TV, the room was clean and neat. You also get a free Continental Breakfast included with your stay, and it was not your typical Continental Breakfast they had an assortment of breads , muffins, fruit , yogurt , juices , cereal, and there homemade granola was great. There is also a Resturaunt on site called Cameron's the food was first class all the way and very very tasty. We really enjoyed our stay there , everyone there went the extra mile to make you feel like home .I can't wait to come back again next year. We will definetly being staying at the Islands Inn.

  • Liked — Friendly Hotel and Resturuant Staff that is a plus in my book
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    41
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
22
46
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spokane
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2008

I recently stayed at this Inn, it looked good but I was greeted by the the Host Bela, she was having a bad day, she was rude to me for no reason at all. Not what I expected to find in hospitality. The room was clean. I had a bad taste in my mouth so I failed to notice the good things. I hope she was just having a bad day.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walla walla, wa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

We just finished a 2 night stay at the Islands Inn; we were disappointed since there are so many good reviews of this motel. We stayed in an "older style" family unit with a "living room" and bedroom. Problems: stained sheets; no night stands in the bedroom; no book outlining hotel services; one tiny wastebasket for the whole unit. (We were traveling with our adult daughter.)

The breakfast was nice, but I saw nothing European about it, as others have written. A tradition that has gone by the wayside? The eating area, though attractive, is tiny and so squeezed into a narrow space that it was uncomfortable; just trying to get to the food without bothering other diners was a problem.

Also, we had booked, as mentioned as 3 travelers. The set up wwas for 2 people; when I mentioned this, non-complainingly to the front desk staff person, she shot back that this was my problem, as the cleaning people had no idea how many were staying in the room! Really? Wouldn't that be her job, to inform them?

It was just kind of disappointing. The newer rooms, as pictured on the website look lovely; but our unit was old, sad and depressing.

Never again.

  • Liked — homemade granola
  • Disliked — furnishings, lack of ambience
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermiston, Oregon
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2008

Wow , what a deal!!! About a 3 1/2 star at a couple star price!! Moen and Price-Pfister plumbing fixtures , CD player and large flat screen TV + a fireplace with wood!! (Didn't use it , as it was about 80 that day!) With an added 4th of July bonus - The fire works were launched on the waterfront about 5 blocks away! All for 89 bucks!! A really nice room at a good price!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Pool was a little chilly...
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2008

My wife and I recently stayed at the Islands Inn with our 9 month old and our dog. The room had just been updated with new tiles and carpet. It was a spacious room with enough space for a king size bed, playpen, dog bed and room left over for our little guy to crawl around. The front desk was super helpful in co-ordinating doggy day care for our dog while we took the ferry out to San Juan Island for the day. And the jacuzzi/pool was an added bonus after carrying my son around in a backpack all day ;)

  • Liked — price and cleanliness
  • Disliked — further from downtown
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2007

My wife and I recently needed a place to crash before heading to the San Juan's for a trip. We found the Islands Inn by searching on google and decided to make a reservation.

The room was run-down but clean and quiet. It featured the notorious "toilet phone" and I was actually happy that the bathroom had it's own heater as the room was pretty cold when we arrived. I wouldn't ever make this motel a tourist destination but if you are looking for a simple place to stay that is quite affordable than this is what you are looking for.

We were pleasantly surprised by a free breakfast in the morning. Not only was a it a free breakfast, it was actually good. As we sipped on tea and a decidedly Norwegian breakfast breakfast of breads, soft boiled eggs, cheese, and cold cuts, we could actually envision this Inn being in Northern Europe.

They could stand to update just about everything. A trip to Ikea could turn a 70s retro breakfast area into a trendy European breakfast spot.

But for the price it was an absolute delight!

  • Liked — the cute breakfast
  • Disliked — don't walk to the ferry... it's like 6 miles!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2007

We stayed in Anacortes only 1 night as a stopover from Victoria, BC to the Bellingham Airport. The Island Inn was the only thing that went well for us on this stopover. In fact their staff was our saving grace.

We arrived on the late ferry (8:30pm) no public transport available so we called a cab. The company tells us 15 min and shows up 45 min later. Why did we wait? We had no choice. At least the other taxi co. in town was honest and told it would be a 45 min wait.

So we arrived, tired and hungry. Tried pizza delivery, but found out that the restaurants had closed. The only one open and in reasonable walking distance was the Jack and the box. Their drive thru was open. So we walked up with dreams of hamburgers and fries...which they promptly dashed as they refused to serve us because we didn't' have a car!!!

Out of dining options, we luckily caught the local convenient store just before it closed and got some pringles and beer for what was going to be our dinner in Anacortes.

Needless to say, when we returned and told this story to the woman at the reception, she really felt our pain. She called the Jack and the box to complain, (which made me feel better) and then fixed us the most beautiful plate of ham/cheese for sandwiches. (which made our stomachs feel better)

The next day..well we had little time and even less enthusiasm to explore Anacortes. So we had a leisurely dutch breakfast (soft boiled egg, warm bread with butter and choclate sprinkles ) and asked for a late checkout which they gave us without any hesitation. We then enjoyed their spotless pool and hot tub before getting the heck out of town.

To summarize, the Island Inn holds to a far superior standard of service that the rest of Anacortes (at least the little that we experienced) cannot even dream to match. I would not even consider going back to that town without a confirmed reservation at the Island Inn.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Islands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islands Inn

Address: 3401 Commercial Ave, Anacortes, WA 98211
Location: United States > Washington > Anacortes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Anacortes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Islands Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When Fien Hulscher and her daughter Bela Berghuys moved to Anacortes over 30 years ago, they wanted to recreate the warm atmosphere of the B&B they had owned in Amsterdam. The result is Islands Inn: a quiet, comfortable hotel with a variety of room styles to accommodate family vacations, romantic getaways, and overnight business trips, offering a range of amenities to make your stay as pleasant as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Islands Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islands Hotel Anacortes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Islands Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.