We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and beyond” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Islands Inn

Save Saved
You added Islands Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Islands Inn
3401 Commercial Ave, Anacortes, WA 98211   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Deception Pass Tour Deal!
Ranked #4 of 9 Anacortes B&B and Inns
Dresden, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Above and beyond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We came to Anacortes just for a whale watching trip (which was awesome as well) and decided to stay there for the night on short notice. From our first walk into the lobby we were more then impressed. The overly friendly and very helpful front desk lady (unfortunatley I forgot her name, well she worked on the evening of Saturday the 5th) made us feel very welcome and we knew that this is a great place to stay. She gave our little 3 man travel group from Europe an awesome rate and literally went above and beyond our expectations.
The rooms were excellent. Clean and spacious so that we had a great and relaxing night. Also the WiFi was extremely fast. Our very positive impressions kept going on as we enjoyed a surprisingly rich and well picked breakfast which was definitely more than the average continental breaky in the morning.
As we checked the quiet good looking and pleasant housekeeper made our stay perfect as we would just say thank you for having us.

Room Tip: Check out the pool. I wish we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    35
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
17
39
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We chose this place because it was pet-friendly. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the room based on the price of the room. The hotel staff were very nice and helpful. The woman that took our initial reservation was so nice in making suggestions for things to do in the area. The breakfast, although not outstanding, was adequate. My only suggestion to improve the stay for those of us who have pets is to have a few trash cans outside so we can dispose of pet waste appropriately. Overall, a wonderful stay and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okotoks, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This place is a typical motel style with 2 floors and access from the outside. I chose it because it has a pet friendly room, and was reasonably priced. The only thing I didn't like was that room has the stairwell to the upstairs attached to the outside wall, so all night we heard and felt the thumping of heavy footsteps up and down. Don't other patrons care how much noise they make at 2:30 in the morning? The room was very clean but could use some updating, especially the faucet in the sink area. The breakfast was nice, with soft boiled eggs keeping warm in cute little chicken sweaters. The hostess on shift when we arrived gave a very good recommendation for dinner which we appreciated. Best part about this place is the service. About 40 minutes after we checked out, I got a call telling me that my grandson had left his bathing suit in the room. I turned back and picked it up at the desk. Much appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We wanted to spend some time in Anacortes, WA but reserved too late; Islands Inn was the only thing we could find for the two-day period we were there. It's old and shabby; has doors to the outside rather than inside a building. Although they keep it clean, the carpets look grimy and the bathroom fixtures are cracked and outdated. BUT it was the cheapest by far of any place we stayed in the Seattle metro area for three weeks. The mattresses and pillows must have been new because they were the most comfortable of the three weeks and we got our best night's sleep there. Front desk staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is skimpy and the eating area very small. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Rooms are reasonably priced (especially the Family style rooms) and clean and comfortable, but are nothing special. Good value for the money. Very friendly staff. I would stay here again given the overall options in Anacortes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

This was our first time staying here although we have stayed in Anacortes many times. We were looking for a king non-smoking with a sofa or love seat. Made a reservation after verifying they had such a room. Called a couple of days before check-in to verify that we would get such a room. When we checked in, there was some confusion right off, and the woman who checked us in said we should look at 3 rooms and decide which one we wanted. None of them was a king. One of them had a sofa. So we went back and said these did not match up with our expectations or our reservation. Then she gave us another key of a room to look at. It was a king, no sofa, smoking room. Went back again. She called her boss who said they did not have the kind of room we wanted, but for a higher price she would give us the executive suite with 2 sofas and a king. Hmmmm. Finally, she did come up with the type of room we asked for. A lot of time and hassle to get what we expected from the start. Got in the room. 2 of the 3 lightbulbs in the ceiling fixture were burned out and it was very dark in there. After that was taken care of, we discovered that the only electrical outlets in the room were on the far wall across from the bed. Got 2 long extension cords that my husband tripped over twice. But all that paled in comparison to the nearly heart-attack-inducing full blast alarm of country music at 2:30am which also woke up our neighbors.

Now, there were some good things! I think the mattress was new and it was comfortable. The pool was nice and sunny, and the water was warm. The pool furniture was sparse and shabby, including the one table which had no top. The place is very clean. The breakfast was a notch better than the competitor places nearby, but nothing great.

Now that the alarm clock is unplugged, I'm hoping the second night brings no further nasty surprises.

One reason we came here was because of the good reviews. Have we just experienced a rare unlucky moment?

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seemore59, Front Office Manager at Islands Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
I want to personally apologize for the outcome of your most recent stay here at Islands Inn. Before you arrived, we made a change to your room assignment, transferring you to a more spacious room, in hopes this would better accommodate the requests on your reservation. It was our mistake for not questioning you prior to making such a change, but I am sincere when I say we had your interest and comfort in mind.
We hope you will give us another chance on your next visit to Anacortes, so we might redeem ourselves and show you the service and appreciation that is customary in our establishment!
Thank you for your business, and for taking the time to leave us feedback.
Have a wonderful day!


Best Regards,
Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel is not fancy and maybe a little bit dated but wow it was great in all the ways that mattered! It was clean. The bed was comforable. Some rooms have A/C but mine didn't. It wasn't ever a problem as I could open the doors for a few minutes and get a "flow thru" breeze when I needed it. Usually just oepening the door to the balcony was enough. There was a ceiling fan too. I stayed 6 nights and got a great rate. The front desk was helpful. There was GOOD coffee available in the lobby all day. I'll be back!

Room Tip: If you don't mind no A/C stay upstairs on the end aways from the office. There is a vierw of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Islands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islands Inn

Address: 3401 Commercial Ave, Anacortes, WA 98211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Anacortes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Anacortes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When Fien Hulscher and her daughter Bela Berghuys moved to Anacortes over 30 years ago, they wanted to recreate the warm atmosphere of the B&B they had owned in Amsterdam. The result is Islands Inn & Petite Wine Bar: a quiet, comfortable hotel with a variety of room styles to accommodate family vacations, romantic getaways, and overnight business trips, and a range of amenities to make your stay as pleasant as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Islands Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islands Hotel Anacortes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Islands Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.