We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Islands Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Islands Inn to your Saves list
Islands Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   3401 Commercial Ave, Anacortes, WA 98211   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Anacortes B&B and Inns
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great place for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here after taking the ferry to Orcas Island for my daughters 18 birthday. Check in was fast and the desk clerk was very accommodating.
They were out of two queen bed rooms so she upgraded us to a family room.
The hotel is older but very well taken care of. Outside entryway but still quiet. Inside the room was very cozy and although we didn't have a fireplace, there are some rooms that do.
Very clean and well stocked for your stay. The furniture could use some updating for example the televisions are old as well as the couch and chair but again, clean and well cared for. The first thing I would change is the beds. They need replacing. Very old and "springy". The place has a nice continental breakfast with homemade muffins, bread and granola. Coffee was good too. All and all, for the money it's a great place to stay if you want a clean and cozy place to spend the night on a budget.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    38
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
21
43
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Okanagan, British Columbia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed one night in late September, during the boat show. Check in was very pleasant and we were offered a king room as an upgrade. This room had a fireplace which was nice, but when we entered the room the first thing we noticed was a very strong smoky smell. The front desk gave us some keys to check out a few other rooms, and in the end we decided to keep the "smoky" room, because in all other ways it was the nicest. Our room was on the 2nd floor, with a great ocean view. Everything was clean and all the amenities were nice (good quality coffee, tea, soaps). The lobby was very welcoming, with a fireplace, internet, coffee and cookies. Breakfast was excellent. All staff we encountered were warm and friendly. Location was a long walk to downtown (short drive but we wanted to drink some wine, so we walked), but at least we got to walk off our dinner. Overall a nice place to stay. Rooms could use a little more updating.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stumbled upon this hotel on trip advisor and other sites, and were VERY glad we chose this hotel. Right at the entrance to Anacortes, and on the main street, it's convenient location is only the first plus. The room decor was a little bit dated, but very clean and the fireplace is a very nice touch. The service was OUTSTANDING from the moment we walked in the lobby until the moment we checked out. The comp. breakfast has a good selection and it was all very fresh - we were even offered a loaf of bread fresh out of the oven! I expected the hotel to be a little noisy being on the main street, but we faced the water and couldn't really hear the street noise at all. The pool and hot tub were clean and looked well maintained (the hot tub was nice and HOT!) and the hours were good (until 10:30). We will DEFINITELY stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the water view with the fireplace but a word of caution - there is no elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Islands Inn is a great choice for a budget hotel. You get a very clean, spacious room, good breakfast ( they bake their own bread and muffins fresh every morning, the coffee is good too).The location is very convenient, it's the first hotel as you get into town, coming from the main road. The staff is very friendly, they are really helpful, they even suggest places where to go in and around Anacortes.The only thing, our room didn't have airconditioning, we were there on a hot August weekend...Anacortes is a lovely town itself, I really liked the art displays throughout the town, nice sculptures, murals everywhere.We would go back to Islands Inn any time.

Room Tip: Room with airconditioning if you are there in the summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Islands Inn is a great budget hotel option in Anacortes. Don't expect anything fancy, but this will work for a short stay.

The staff is friendly and helpful and they have a great free breakfast!

The rooms are simple and clean and the hotel is conviently located in downtown Anacortes.

We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, USA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I have stayed several times at the Islands inn and will gladly stay there again. The motel is very clean, even the pool area seemed clean. The breakfast is much better than average. The selection is similar to other motels (breads, cereal, yogurt, eggs, etc.) but the quality is much better. They have home made granola which is very good as well as muffins. The whole wheat bread was very good with honey cream cheese spread, the cereals were very good, and the hard boiled eggs seemed freshly cooked. The staff was very friendly and helpful. For the price this motel is a good choice. The only negative is that it is an older motel so some of the fixtures show wear/damage (window cranks broken, a few cracks, etc.) The owners have clearly made an effort to maintain the building and I appreciated some of the unique features such as the second murphy beds in some rooms (as a second bed).

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are the best since we could hear some noise from above when we stayed in a first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

My friend and I decided to take a couple of days away from the bustle of big city life in August. After reading the reviews for Islands Inn we booked it. The rate was $79 for a room with 2 double beds, breakfast included. We were very pleasantly greeted and helped with maps of the many beautiful parks and lakes in the area. Our room was old fashioned, but very clean, with a fridge and ample sparkling white towels. In the lobby was coffee and tea to help ourselves. We were also given real wine glasses so that we could enjoy the delicious local wine we had bought.
Breakfast the next morning was pure delight....soft boiled eggs perfectly cooked served with a loaf of delicious home made bread. Bagels, cinnamon toast, home baked muffins, cereals, juice and coffee rounded out a delightful start to our day.
Kudos to the owner and staff of this wonderful establishment.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Islands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islands Inn

Address: 3401 Commercial Ave, Anacortes, WA 98211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Anacortes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Anacortes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Islands Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When Fien Hulscher and her daughter Bela Berghuys moved to Anacortes over 30 years ago, they wanted to recreate the warm atmosphere of the B&B they had owned in Amsterdam. The result is Islands Inn: a quiet, comfortable hotel with a variety of room styles to accommodate family vacations, romantic getaways, and overnight business trips, offering a range of amenities to make your stay as pleasant as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Islands Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islands Hotel Anacortes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Islands Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.