We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ship Harbor Inn was great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn to your Saves list
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5316 Ferry Terminal Road, Anacortes, WA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Anacortes
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ship Harbor Inn was great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We recently took at trip to Victoria, and spent the night at the Ship Harbor Inn. We were taking the ferry to Victoria and the location couldn't have been better. The staff was friendly, recommended a great local restaurant, and helped in our selection of a bottle of wine. The rooms were clean and quiet and had a great view.

Room Tip: We stayed in the King apartment and there was plenty of space for the 5 of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda H, Guest Relations Manager at Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Hey Jeff I’m glad you enjoyed your stay at the Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn we value your patronage and hope you choose us when booking in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    114
    20
    14
    8
See reviews for
81
182
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

The Ship Harbor Inn is a great choice in Anacortes. The view of the harbor is unbeatable. Although others have complained about it being far from town, the drive is quick and easy to make. The single queen room is quite tiny, but very well laid out with simple but classy furniture. The cleanliness was awesome. The only sheets in a hotel that have ever smelled so good. Fresh and clean. The gardens were lovely. The reception desk was friendly and fun. The only reason I took one star away is due to the trickiness of getting into the actual property. It's quite a long steep driveway, and the day we went a worker was parked in the driveway chipping branches. So we had to go in the back way which meant a circuitous route. Nothing major, but due to some apparent road changes things seem a bit tricky in the matter.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda H, Guest Relations Manager at Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Greetings Karmatravelers, Well let me start out by apologizing for the brush clearing we try to be done with all of that type stuff by check in time. That was probably our grounds keeper he is responsible for all 6 acres of lush green tree’s, blooming flowers and everything in between. While a lot of hotels are only interested in the latest LCD or newest alarm clock we try to keep a balance of modern and natural and over 1000 blooming flowers help do just that! Glad everything else was great on your trip, We will see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We loved this place. It had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. The location couldn't have been better for taking the ferry to the San Juan Islands since it is in walking distance. The atmosphere is pleasant because of the view of the harbor, the landscaping, cleanliness of the room, and the helpfulness of the owners. A complimentary continental breakfast of boiled eggs, waffles, cereals, bagels, toast, and fruit is offered. There is a bistro on site which came in handy with our busy schedule, and the food was excellent. There was plenty of seating on their outside decks, with a great view. The laundry room with iron on site came in handy. My only complaint, which would not keep me from coming back, would be the noise level. We heard people talking and walking above us most of the time.

Room Tip: I would suggest getting a room on the top level or in the individual cabins to avoid the noise level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda H, Guest Relations Manager at Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Hello Diana R, I’m pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us! It looks like you were able to take advantage of many of the new amenities we are offering. I’m sorry the noise was a bit of a nuisance we are constantly taking steps to try and give guests are more private experience, When you book next time feel free to ask for me personally and we will make sure your stay is perfect. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukilteo, Washington, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Hubby and I had a wonderful stay at the Ship Harbor Inn ~ celebrating our 29th Wedding Anniversary. Couldn't have picked a better place to relax and enjoy our special time. Our deck had an amazing view of the harbor and the room was comfy. We ended up staying put for dinner both nights. We brought a picnic for our first night (our room had a nice little kitchen) ...and the next night we enjoyed lasagna and a yummy salad from their bistro menu. They also have a fully stocked bar and plenty of outdoor seating to fit your mood. The owners/staff are very kind people and made us feel right at home.
I would also suggest taking a whale watching tour with Island Adventure cruises in Anacortes. Both made for a wonderful get-away! We look forward to going back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda H, Guest Relations Manager at Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Hello Tam and Joe!
Wow I am elated we could have you on your 29th Anniversary and that you had the opportunity to take advantage of some of our amenities. We love Island adventures as well and are happy to offer a discount to any of our guests. We hope to see you back for many future Anniversaries!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

You couldnt ask for a better location to get on the ferry if you're heading to San Juan/VIctoria. The units are cute ( small but cute) and the view is good. They have a nice bistro on site where you can eat snacks and eat on their outdoor patio ( heated lamps). Lots of deer to watch. They offer a breakfast in the morning that is decent ( fresh waffles, eggs, toast, coffee). Staff working there is a bit lackadaisical-- maybe its the small town thing--and a bit misinformed (told me Frida was closed--- we havent to go downtown and find it open and its FANTASTIC mexican food).

Room Tip: If you're boarding ferry early, go to the ferry docks, park, checkin and then you can walk back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda H, Guest Relations Manager at Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Greetings SMPDX, I’m happy to see you were able to take advantage of our location! You tip is what we tell most guests taking the ferry that once they get their car in line they can walk back up and have breakfast as long as they are there to board they don’t need to wait down there. Sorry was misinformed about Frida’s we love that restaurant here I call it Anacomex! I am glad you got to see the wild life our close proximity to Washington park usually means we have a few resident Deer Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed the location. We walked along the beach, walked to the ferry terminal to ride to the San Juans on the Washington State Ferries. A bit expensive for the room with the "best view" Noisy as it was next to the open deck.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda H, Guest Relations Manager at Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Hi Kathleen, glad you were able to take advantage of how close we are to the ferry terminal. Sorry it was a bit noisy on the deck for ya we do stop serving food out there at 8pm but I could see how if you had your side window open you might hear some talking. Since your review we have repositioned the tables so they will give that room some extra space also if you would like some additional privacy we have the same type room available on the other side of the property. We look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I booked the Ship Harbor Inn for my parents 50th Wedding Anniversary getaway. The staff made sure that all the details were well in hand, the rooms are spacious and clean. I ordered the romance package, and the staff did a great job of making a beautiful rose petal layout.

The room suites themselves are well-appointed with deep jacuzzi tubes, majestic views, and quiet sitting areas. I booked on a Sunday - I am not sure if it is busier on some weekends, but it was very quiet and tranquil.

The place is nestled in the hills on the way to the ferry, about 5-10 minute drive out of downtown. The Inn offers majestic and sweeping views, with a quiet relaxing ambiance in a natural setting. It feels like a quaint island getaway without having to travel on a ferry!

The inn has a small onsite bistro, wine selection and an outside eating/dining area on a large concrete "patio". It is a little ways out of town, so you would need a car or taxi if you wanted to eat something different, but it is a quick ride, and the bistro isn't too bad at all. They offer things like soups, sandwiches, various salads and pizza.

If you are in Anacortes, and are looking for a quiet retreat, or a romantic getaway, I would definitely consider the Ship Harbor Inn, I am sure you will not regret it. I would say that the ship harbor inn, is one of those jewels of the San Juans, a one-of-a-kind well kept local secret.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda H, Guest Relations Manager at Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Hey Brian, Thanks for the review! Happy to have your parents with us on their 50th anniversary and I’m glad they had a great time. As you said we are nestled on 6 acres of sprawling tree’s and woodland and have many room options that may offer some additional privacy you wouldn’t normally have in a standard hotel. We hope we see you all again soon perhaps on the 51st!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anacortes
3.2 mi away
Majestic Inn and Spa
Majestic Inn and Spa
#1 of 10 in Anacortes
4.5 of 5 stars 372 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Marina Inn
The Marina Inn
#3 of 10 in Anacortes
4.5 of 5 stars 277 reviews
2.9 mi away
Anaco Bay Inn
Anaco Bay Inn
#6 of 10 in Anacortes
4.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Fidalgo Country Inn
Fidalgo Country Inn
#7 of 10 in Anacortes
4.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
7.7 mi away
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
#4 of 10 in Anacortes
4.0 of 5 stars 309 reviews
11.1 mi away
La Conner Channel Lodge
La Conner Channel Lodge
#1 of 3 in La Conner
4.5 of 5 stars 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn

Address: 5316 Ferry Terminal Road, Anacortes, WA
Location: United States > Washington > Anacortes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Anacortes
#3 Family Hotel in Anacortes
#4 Business Hotel in Anacortes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn is built on a wooded hillside amidst towering cedars and mature firs, insulating it from the hustle and bustle of the outside world. Located 2/3 mile from the San Juan Ferry and a locally owned restaurant known for its atmosphere and great food. Hop in the car and you are just minutes away from Old Town Anacortes where you will enjoy a unique shopping opportunity, as well as several other favorite restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anacortes Ship Harbor Hotel Anacortes
Ship Harbor Hotel
Ship Harbor Anacortes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.