We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh the Changes!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn to your Saves list
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5316 Ferry Terminal Road, Anacortes, WA   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Anacortes
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
395 reviews 395 reviews
261 hotel reviews
Reviews in 269 cities Reviews in 269 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
“Oh the Changes!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

OK, it has been 14 years since I stayed here but things have sure changed!! There is now a lovely concrete patio out the back that is wonderful for sitting and relaxing while taking in the view.

Room - Our room was nice and white, crisp and clean and it had a had a sliding glass door that afforded excellent views. The bathroom was also a nice bright white. Both rooms were decorated with blue accents. The bed was very comfortable and the room was spacious and well appointed with a microwave, coffee maker and refrigerator.

Breakfast - Breakfast is included and was very nice and more than met my expectations. The coffee and OJ were both very good. There was a waffle maker, assorted coffee cakes, bread and bagels. There were two cereal choices, packages of oatmeal and hard boiled eggs for something more substantial. The breakfast room was bright and white, just like the rooms.

We only wished we had planned to stay longer as this is the type of place where you want to spend a few days just to relax and unwind. A perfect stay. I can’t forget to mention that we arrived after midnight on the ferry but were able to get to our room just fine as a key had been left in a lock box for us. Also, the owners had left a light on at the door to our room to make it easy for us to find it. Now that was a nice touch.

We will have occasion to stay here again due to the proximity to the ferry and we will certainly take advantage of the opportunity.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to face the harbor - less expensive rooms are ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda H, Guest Relations Manager at Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for staying with us again! So glad you are enjoying the
completed renovations, We always strive to make sure every room is
spotless and glowing reviews like this make it all worth it. I am
delighted that you enjoyed breakfast and can’t wait to have you back
next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    97
    19
    11
    8
See reviews for
66
152
23
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I was traveling up the coast from San Francisco to Seattle with no plans and decided to meet a friend (from Bellingham, WA) in Anacostes. A quick look in TripAdvisor led to a phone call from a downtown parking lot and finding a last minute room. I was just grateful to find a room! But once I arrived, I knew I had found a special place. Right near the ferry (which I did take a trip on) to the San Jan Islands. The staff are superb, very helpful, cheerful and accommodating. Tiny bistro to fix you home-made food. Beer and wine and espresso bar right there in the main building. Someone else said this place feels more like a bed and breakfast, and I would completely agree. Breakfast is included in the overnight rate. Lots of lovely places to sit outdoors and enjoy the views. I stayed in a small 1 bedroom and it was clean, quiet, and had everything I needed. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda H, Guest Relations Manager at Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We have a joke that we are the last minute resort vacation you never
meant to take haha! Many of our guests find themselves here late after
missing a ferry when that happens you can count on us to get you
through the night, with an on site Bar, Bistro and Espresso bar we
have everything you need and want. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metro dc
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Our family of four stayed at the Ship Harbor Inn for two nights and I wish we stayed longer. Linda and Christine were wonderfully welcoming and went above and beyond the call of duty by getting balloons for my daughter's birthday and even wrapping a present for her that arrived by post to the hotel. They were also a font of information on places to go and things to do in Anacortes.

The rooms are fresh and clean and our balcony overlooked the ferry to the San Juan Islands, just a short walk away.

A great little bistro for snacks and espresso in the main hotel lobby and a great breakfast in the dinning area too.

Linda also helped us located a whale watching outfit who were awesome! Highly recommend Island Adventures too!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda H, Guest Relations Manager at Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
I’m elated we were able to do something special for your daughter’s
birthday! I hope when your Birthday comes around we will see you
again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Love this experience. Great food. Really good espresso, very clean and the couple that owns the place are top notch! Very helpful in directing us to our excursions. Very accommodating. Would love to go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda H, Guest Relations Manager at Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
I’m pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Isnt the espresso amazing?
I have worked at quite a few coffee shops and have never encountered
such a rich full flavored espresso without that bitter after taste. A
very knowledgeable woman out on Samish Island roasts it for us and we
take a lot of pride in crafting the perfect beverage. Right now I’m
enjoying an espresso macchiato! Hope to have you and your excursion
group back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

My family of four stayed at the Ship Harbor Inn based on the recommendation of a family member while we were in the area for a salmon-fishing charter. The staff at the hotel treated us like we were old family friends. The room was very clean and offered an amazing view of the harbor. This place is out of town a bit, near the marina and Washington Park, and we appreciated the calm, versus staying right downtown. The coffee and the minimal food and wine menu were simple but exactly what we were looking for. The service was helpful, timely, and friendly. We asked to have some mail sent out, have the patio fire lit, have food delivered to our room, and have our freshly caught fish frozen. All was done quickly and with a smile. We enjoyed relaxing on the patio and throwing a Frisbee in the yard. Ideal! Well done, Ship Harbor Inn! We plan to return someday.

Room Tip: We appreciated having a room with a balcony that overlooks the yard on one side yet is level with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

When the airporter let us out at the hotel, I was pretty sure my husband had picked the Bates motel! But the airporter shuttle let us out passed the office of this very charming hotel. It is more like a bed and breakfast than a hotel. After traveling all day in planes and shuttles, we loved the very well manicured lawn, classy terrace, and quaint feel of the grounds. We spent several hours looking out towards the ferry and the water. We had a queen bed, there is no AC, but we left a window open at night. Everything else was very well suited for our one night stay. We also took advantage of the bistro on site instead of trying to get back several miles into town. We had a small pizza and a brie with candied pecans. Gourmet!! For the price of the food, it was amazing. They even delivered a chocolate molten cake to our room later.

The next morning we had a continental breakfast (waffles, cold cereal, etc.). We easily walked down to the ferry (about a half mile or so down a hill). We carried our luggage down too, but this wasn't a problem as there was a bike lane.

Loved this night!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

The spiffy upgrade of this sprawling property has almost made it into a resort. Bar/ espresso bar in lobby, nice breakfast with waffle bar, complimentary wine hour,lawns, view of harbor, units with kitchenettes, fireplaces and jacuzzis. Plus a great staff. Nicely priced, too.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn

Address: 5316 Ferry Terminal Road, Anacortes, WA
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Anacortes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Anacortes
#1 Romantic Hotel in Anacortes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn is built on a wooded hillside amidst towering cedars and mature firs, insulating it from the hustle and bustle of the outside world. Located 2/3 mile from the San Juan Ferry and a locally owned restaurant known for its atmosphere and great food. Hop in the car and you are just minutes away from Old Town Anacortes where you will enjoy a unique shopping opportunity, as well as several other favorite restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anacortes Ship Harbor Hotel Anacortes
Ship Harbor Hotel
Ship Harbor Anacortes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.