We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fidalgo Country Inn

Best prices from these 6 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Fidalgo Country Inn to your Saves list
Fidalgo Country Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7645 SR 20, Anacortes, WA 98221   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Anacortes
Everett
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

HORRIBLE IN EVERY WAY! DO NOT GO HERE! My husband and I stayed here for a week in September of 2013 while our boat was being serviced in Anacortes.

First of all it was very hot so we called and ask if the air conditioning was good. We were assured that it worked great. We get there and the A/C was so old that all it would do was barely blow warm air. First night, very uncomfortable. Not to mention the quote" new bed" they said they put in recently, that was so old that the springs were poking our backs all night. We had to take the comforter off and put it under the sheets for some cushioning. Which didn't help. And the bathroom faucet that broke off when I turned it on. Which we ignored.


Second day...asked the front desk girl to come take a look at the A/C because it was broken. She came over, looked at it, fiddled with it a bit, talked down to us and laughed saying it worked just fine. We were annoyed to say the least. Later that evening when a man took over the front desk we asked him if he could fix the A/C. He came to check it out, said it was indeed broken and replaced it with a new A/C Unit. Finally we had some relief. The new one worked well. He told us that the day girl doesn't like to be cold so the A/C was fine for her. Terrible customer service on her part.

Our poor dog got terrible fleas from the carpet, and she chewed some grass on their little patch of grass by the parking lot, and apparently it had some toxic chemicals on it which made her violently ill for the entire week. King bed was HORRIBLE and old. The room stunk like carpet chemicals or something. Which might be what made my dog sick. Okay...we stuck it out for the week, went home to Everett vowing to never stay there again.

Then we got bill from them for two hundred more than it should have been. We called them to see if they made a mistake. NOPE! They had the crust to accuse us of stealing one of their disgusting flea infested bedspreads! Apparently the housekeeping is so horrible, they didn't even change the sheets after we left! If they had, they would have found the bedspread. Disgusting! They then refused to credit us for their mistake or apologize for it. And the owners/managers refused to credit us the extra charges and that we would have to take it up with our credit card company! Which we promptly did! Unbelievable! Also it's at the intersection of two highways that are busy 24/7 so it's noisy.

Big mistake Fidalgo Country Inn. HUGE. We will be letting all our boating friends & family know how we were treated.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob D, Manager at Fidalgo Country Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
To all future guests, this review is a result of a disgruntled guest who was charged for destroying
hotel property! please refer to other reviews of our Inn since we took over late june of 2012.
thanks for everyones business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    23
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
12
19
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Comox
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed there 2 nights in one week, both rooms were very clean, both were located in the quieter side away from the highway.
Very friendly staff, from the desk workers to the cleaners.
An older place, but nicely improved Older pool and hot tub, but very enjoyable on a warm evening and early morning.
Breakfast, was pretty much all Carbs,but did the trick to start the day.
We were late getting out of the room each day due to health issues, it was not a problem at all.
Considering what we got for the same money in Coupville..... this is a darn good pleasant place!

Room Tip: Ask for a quieter room. And be sure and eat before arriving in the evening, Pub/resturant next door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lewis, Washington
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is a gem in its own right. Clean spacious accommodations. Very nice front desk person upon check in. Low rates (could be the time of year). A wonderfully hot, hot tub, not a tepid tub. A very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Due to a maintenance issue with my room at the Snohomish Casino I was relocated to the Fidalgo Country Inn nearby. I stayed at the Casino earlier this year and initially I was not pleased with the relocation. However, once I checked in at the Inn I was very pleased. The young lady that checked me in a little past midnight was very pleasant and accommodating at such a late hour. The room was very nice, comfortable and clean. The continental breakfast the next morning was quite good. The Inn reminded me of the Country Inn in the old "Newhart" Show. You will do yourself a favor by making this a #1 choice when traveling in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Have stayed here for business travel several times for a single night each time.
The rooms I've had have been tidy and the furnishings and ambiance are on par with Holiday Inn Express, Best Western, etc. Sheets and towels are clean, walls and windows satisfactorily insulated against excessive noise. Some rooms are subject to noise from the nearby highway, but with windows closed I haven't noticed it.
Safe, clean, restful, and a good value. Friendly staff.
It's a 5 minute drive outside of Anacortes proper, which can be good or bad, depending on your point of view.
I've stayed elsewhere in Anacortes, but have settled on FCI as the lodging I will return to for value and comfort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Our room was on the 2nd floor facing the self storage yard. Very quiet. The only problem was the bright lights from the self storage yard which may bother some people. Our breakfast was adequate. There are no hot options, see pictures. Plenty of packaged sweet rolls, bread and bagels. the microwave and frig in room were good to cook small meals. Main part of town is about 2 miles away

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastsound, Washington
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Came into Anacortes because my wife was past due with second baby and we live in the san juans so we wanted to be closer to hospital in Anacortes. Rate was good and the room was clean. Did NOT smell like wet dog like all the rooms in Anacortes so we stayed. Guy at front desk was nice and booked us for our second night when our plans changed. Nothing fancy but clean and friendly for a good price.

Room Tip: No elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fidalgo Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fidalgo Country Inn

Address: 7645 SR 20, Anacortes, WA 98221
Location: United States > Washington > Anacortes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Anacortes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fidalgo Country Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heated outdoor pool and hot tub! (Seasonal) Restaurant one block away! Also only 5 minute drive to Casino! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fidalgo Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fidalgo Country Hotel Anacortes
Hotel Fidalgo Country
Country Inn Anacortes
Anacortes Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fidalgo Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.