We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor location” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Anaco Bay Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Anaco Bay Inn to your Saves list
Anaco Bay Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   916 33rd Street, Anacortes, WA 98221   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Anacortes
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Poor location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel does not have much going for it. The location is at the end of the main street and it is about 3/4 of a mile to the restaurants and shops. It seems like it is in a semi-industrial area. The front desk person was not very helpful or polite. It boasts of a hot tub which was closed on the day we arrived and when it finally was open it was in a small room ( converted hotel room ) not very appealing. The room was old fashioned to a fault ( think shabby 50's décor) and the linen was threadbare.

Room Tip: Don't stay here and you are bound to get a better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnacoBayInn, Manager at Anaco Bay Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear cliff ,Thankyou you for taking a time to relay your comments regarding our property during your stay in month of jan 2013. we are deeply sorry . we fell below your expectations your comments are very troubling and will certainly looked in to. may be you miss we are next door to pizza factory resturant. our property is located on quite street. on daliy basis. we having a meeting with our frontdesk and housekeeper. Your issue will we attention to our next meeting.we look farward to hear from you soon. thank you again.



manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    66
    23
    13
    8
See reviews for
50
98
17
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shawnigan Lake, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This was a very comfortable place to stay and good value for the money. Our room was very clean and well set up. The front desk was helpful and friendly. The location was within walking distance of all the amenities in Anacortes. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnacoBayInn, Manager at Anaco Bay Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you karen for writing a best review.Our front desk is always here to help the customer needs.Good to hear that our rooms are very clean and huge rooms with a kitchens .very close to all amenites. seeing you again on your next visit.Thankyou



manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

As a frequent traveler I rely heavily on TripAdvisor reviews and ratings and rarely do I disagree but there is no way that this Inn deserves a 4.5 rating or anything even close to that. First, the property is old and everything is well worn. While the rooms are big they have one small window (in the old part of the Inn) and there is very little natural light that gets in. The Inn is peppered with signs telling you what to do and don't do with the equipment and bathtubs etc. The AC was out in our room so I talked to the nice lady at front desk and was told that the AC maintenance people had told her that they occasionally needed a "cooling off period" due to being in constant use. I asked her how long it might be until they'd be "cooled off" enough to work and she told me it could take up to three days! No kidding. The courtesy computer in the lobby wasn't working (and according to staff hadn't been in working order for some time). And their tv system, Direct TV, has limited entertainment channels (ABC, NBC,CBS, FOX and CW only and not a single all-news channel and over two-thirds of the channels are infomerical channels selling goods and services. And something happened to us at this Inn that has never happened to us before at any hotel or Inn --on the afternoon of our first full day we came back to the Inn to an unmade bed and a note from the maid that said that they would not make up our bed because we had left a "personal item" on the bed. The "personal item" I had left was my pajama bottoms. No kidding. The Inn location is far removed from the downtown and the "action" and the only good thing I can say about the Inn was that the staff were very nice.Also, please pay attention to fact that there is another Inn just down the road with a very similar name, the Anaco Inn, and while we did not stay there it's possible some of the favorable reviews may actually have been intended for that property - perhaps. The staff at the Aanaco Bay Inn told us that the two Inns used to be owned by the same owner but no longer are. I truly hate the say bad things about any property we visit, and although a prolific TA reviewer this is only the second really critical review I have written. I will not stay at this property again and urge you to be aware that this old and well worn Inn is just that - old and well worn.

Room Tip: There is a newer addition with large rooms - I think they call them Villas. Our friends stayed in o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is our first visit to anacortes.we stay at Anaco bay inn which is very carming place for family stay.front desk is very helpful for guide about the resturants around the city.
Bed are very comfortable to sleep and my kid enjoy very much at hot tub. Little bit disoppointment about breakfast timming but thats ok. we will definently came back next visit to anacortes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnacoBayInn, Manager at Anaco Bay Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thankyou are writing a great review. our housekeeper are very pleasent about your stay at our inn.Glad to here that feel very comfortable sleep and enjoy our breakfast. Love to seeing again on your next visit. thankyou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed here for four nights while the movers were packing our house. It was so nice to have a two bedroom villa with our two boys. We had plenty of space and a full kitchen. The people were nice and everything was clean. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnacoBayInn, Manager at Anaco Bay Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thankyou for taking a time to write a best reviews. Good to hear that your stay at villas are enjoyable with full kitchen. Our villas are very comfortable for familys. our staff can't wait to have you back soon. best regard. manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Anaco Bay hotel is kind of nice (we had the Honeymoon Suite, #211) but not great. The hotel reminds me of hotels that are a bit over the hill. It's an old hotel and smells a bit musty. Our room had not had the A/C on and was quite warm. Warm enough that it took until after dinner (5 hours after we checked in) for it to be a comfortable temperature. The bed was comfortable.There was some kind of worm or centipede in the tub. There was a nice table set for dinner for two, but no comfortable chair of any kind. The woman who checked us in was very nice but her comments about the ferry and the wait for the ferry were way off the mark. Based on what she said, we got to the ferry (to Sidney, BC) about 2 hours early.

Room Tip: Our room was on the street but still pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELIZABETH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed at the Anaco Bay Inn, in Anacortes, WA June 1, 2013-June 4, 2013; this is a wonderful Inn, very clean, quiet and accessible to local merchants. Kim and Charles, the innkeepers, are very nice individuals, and so helpful. I will visit Anacortes, WA again, and the Anaco Bay Inn will be my first choice! The price range is also affordable!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second level , which face west, have a nice view of the bay/marina. No restaurant at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnacoBayInn, General Manager at Anaco Bay Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thankyou Elizabeth writing a best review. Glad you enjoy our huge room with a kitchenette with a comfortable beds .Good to hear that from know our inn is your first choice. our inn have very reasonable rates. Good to seeing you on your next visit to anacortes.


Thankyou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anaco Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anaco Bay Inn

Address: 916 33rd Street, Anacortes, WA 98221
Location: United States > Washington > Anacortes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Anacortes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Anaco Bay Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
our inn is located in beautiful on the fidalgo island. the inn is close to Downtown, restaurants, and shops. minutes from the ferry.friendly staff, free wireless Internet, free continental breakfast, kitchenette,fireplace, heat and air conditioned rooms, cable TV, guest laundry, hot tub with view, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Anaco Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anaco Bay Hotel Anacortes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anaco Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.