We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swinomish Casino & Lodge

Save Saved
You added Swinomish Casino & Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12885 Casino Dr, Anacortes, WA 98221   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 hotels in Anacortes
North Lakewood
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed there while attending an event in Anacortes. The hotel is fairly new and is a luxury resort. The room was awesome and well equipped. We were pleased to find a small fridge in the cabinet, and the huge glass shower was great. We had a room with a view of the Swinomish Channel and it was beautiful. Check-in was quick and the staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    87
    16
    12
    9
See reviews for
27
138
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I couldn't believe this place---it was fabulous! What a bargain! My daughter and I stayed there as a gateway to the San Juan Islands. The staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were comfortable, clean and quiet. Beds/pillows realy comfy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We have stayed at Swinomish Lodge several times and each time it has been excellent. The staff is friendly and helpful and the rooms are lovely. The towels a large and new. There is a coffee pot with both kinds of coffee. The casino is clean and well layed out. We would certainly return to Swinomish again

Room Tip: We have occupied several different rooms and have no complaint of any of the locations
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Below is a copy of the letter I emailed Swinomish.

It is rare that I write to complain about something but thought it was only fair to let you know how disappointed we are with the changes you have made to the reservation system of your campground. We really like the upgrades that have been made to the campground and have no problem with the rate increase but not being able to pick our camp spot will keep us away from your resort as well as the casino.

We have stayed numerous times over the past year in the Swinomish campground. Either by ourselves or with friends. We have thoroughly enjoyed the park and love to bring our dog as the setting is perfect. We also spend many hours in the casino on each visit.

It was last weekend the nights of July 26 and 27 we stayed our last weekend at your campground. It is our feeling that the people that made the decision to change the reservation system have no idea how people camp. People do not want to have to request that they are beside their friends, we want to pick our campsite when we call to make a reservation, guaranteeing that our group is together. No other campground that we have stayed at in the state of Washington has this reservation policy, even the state parks let you pick your spot when you reserve. Yes they charge a fee and we appreciate this especially now after the horrible experience last weekend with your reservation changes. There is a reason that campground maps are posted on the campground websites.

We were not surprised when we arrived at 7 on Friday night to find out that we were in spot 30 and our friends were way over in spot 21. Who camps like that? Our other friends that came to stay Saturday night had spot 10. Could the 3 of us be more spread apart? Do you know that people that camp together eat together? Do you know how difficult our locations made this? Camping people socialize constantly. Did any of us know when others were up having coffee? No we didn't because not only were we far apart we couldn't see each other. These far apart locations totally changed the atmosphere for our camping weekend.

We will gladly pay the extra money a night to reserve a spot right on the water at other campgrounds or at other casinos. Not only will we know what spot we are in and know our friends are right beside us, we will also not have the pressure of trying to rush to get a half decent spot only to find out it was all for nothing.

We felt it was only fair that you needed to know what a bad decision you have made to take away the reserving of spots. It was also very obvious that the front desk staff are getting complaints from other campers. The women checking me in was extremely quick to ask if i wanted to speak to the manager as soon as I started to complain. I feel sorry for them as they were not the ones to make this bad decision to change the reservation system. We also spoke to many other people camping in your campground last weekend and they were just as disappointed as we are.

We will also be posting this on trip advisor to make all other campers aware of your change.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas W, General Manager at Swinomish Casino & Lodge, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. We do now allow guests to reserve specific spots if available, especially for groups wishing to camp together. I trust all of your concerns have been addressed after our email exchange last week, and we look forward to seeing you back soon.

Best Regards,
Dallas Widmark
Lodge General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stopped there two days on the road to Whidbey Harbor. Kindly upgraded in a "corner suite" with bay view -awesome room !- (thank you again). Quiet place even with the RV parking and the -single- RR nearby (you'll see a strange turning bridge), and very nice view. Kind staff. Even if you're not a gambler (casino and hotel are very well-separated), a very pleasant place to stay. Good foods but breakfast menu could be more "creative" and 13 moons restaurant could be opened Monday (we had to go to have dinner in Burlington city this evening).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Good value, excellent breakfast served at the main restaurant. Rooms are clean, you can watch the boats go by. IPA beer is served in many locations which is excellent. It is quite a small casino which is great. Three Moons has a good happy hour menu and the bartender is always friendly.

Room Tip: Always get the ocean view side, it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We are not gamblers but we wanted a nice place to stay as we were taking the Anacortes Ferry to Victoria the next day. The rooms are beautiful (lovely bathrooms, nice products, comfortable beds, Keurig coffee maker with lots of pods) and the staff is professional, helpful and very friendly.
The quality of the art in the lobby and the rooms is excellent.
The one criticism I have is the lack of recycling bins. In this day in age and in the scenic spot the responsible thing to do is provide recycling bins in all rooms.

Room Tip: If you like a tub rather than shower you need to make sure you make arrangements when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Swinomish Casino & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swinomish Casino & Lodge

Address: 12885 Casino Dr, Anacortes, WA 98221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Anacortes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 hotels in Anacortes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swinomish Casino & Lodge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swinomish Casino & Lodge includes 98 luxury rooms, all 100% smoke free, overlooking the Padilla Bay and San Juan Islands. 13moons Restaurant features flavors of hand-cut Alder wood grilled seafood, meats and the freshest flavors of the Northwest. In addition to 13moons, the Swinomish Casino & Lodge features dining options to satisfy any appetite including, Two Salmon Café, 10 Sports Bar, and The Deli. With Las Vegas style gaming, the Swinomish Casino & Lodge features 800 of the latest slot titles, table games including Black Jack, Craps, Roulette, Pai Gow, Poker, Keno and Bingo. The Wa Walton Event Center boasts 9,000 square feet of multipurpose meeting and convention space with flexible breakout rooms along with 6,000 square feet of pre-function space for gatherings and networking events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Swinomish Casino & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swinomish Casino & Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.