We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swinomish Casino & Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Swinomish Casino & Lodge to your Saves list
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12885 Casino Dr, Anacortes, WA 98221   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Anacortes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Spanaway, Washington
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Anniversary stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband decided to surprise me with a trip to Swinomish Casino/Lodge to celebrate our anniversary. Upon checking in there was a patron having a disagreement about camping spaces and it took all three hotel registration personnel to attend to this while others waited. We were finally greeted and given a room with two queen beds even though my husband made the reservation for the bay view end unit/king bed. I didn't know he had made that reservation until we got home and he thought he might have made an error in asking for the end unit, so we just made the double bed situation work! Upon getting home he checked his email and indeed he had reserved the $169 end unit and we were given the $149 double queen. He emailed right away and Paula immediately got back to him to refund the difference. I decided to call back to see why this error happened and talked with Paula who is a great representation of this resort. She couldn't explain why this happened but amended our profile to give us a free upgrade the next time we decided to visit and then called back to state that her supervisor also included a $50 voucher for the dining facility. Now, I call this superior customer service to a somewhat disappointing "double queen" stay!
I have to say that I had a great time, we ate at the 13 moons restaurant for dinner and we sat outside to enjoy the water and the view. The meal I had was one of the greatest and the wait staff dealt with my celiac issues and made sure the meal was gluten free. Very attentive wait staff, top quality food for dinner and great ambiance.
The casino was a hoot to play in, several wins and a good selection of machines. The staff on the casino floor were engaging, friendly and I have to say that while I lost overall, I was satisfied with our experience there and definitely will be going back for our upgrade and dining voucher. To be honest, I would have gone back again without the incentives because this resort is well worth your time. My husband and I have been to many of the casino resorts in Washington State and this one is at the top of the list. The view of the water/bay is outrageous and you can spend a lot of time just looking at the scenery. So, if you are looking for a fun stay in a super clean resort, very nice rooms and attentive staff that genuinely care about their patrons, give this place a try.

Room Tip: Book an end unit at the higher price....you will not regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    100
    21
    13
    9
See reviews for
33
166
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised. The view was great, the rooms were clean and the bed was very comfortable. Good high quality bedding. The lobby, while coming in is very smokey smelling, but I asked for a room the farthest away from the smell and I couldn't smell it once on the elevators. We stayed during a week day and weekend. The weekdays were very quite, but Friday was pretty loud on the outside patio (below all the rooms facing the bay. Luckily, they all started leaving at around 10:00pm. Maybe the hotel asks them to leave because it is very noisy in your rooms. The glass on the sliding doors are very thick, but drinking people can get pretty loud. The room has wonderful Keurig pots and quality coffee. Modern room decor and plug-ins on the nice lamps for ipods, tablets, etc. I would most definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirkland, wa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We have stayed several times here. We use our players card, so they send us 2 free nights frequently. The rooms are nice. Bayview rooms have floor to ceiling sliding glass window that opens all the way and some have balconies. This time we ended up with a balcony room. The room has a Keurig Coffee maker and also a good sized refrigerator. Bathroom is good sized, no tub just a shower.

The only downfall is the food options. My husband ordered from the deli and did not even eat the food it was so terrible. He ordered a blt and said it was the worst sandwhich he has ever had. The two girls working there also seemed like they weren't getting along and didn't know what they were doing. The only other food options are the buffet, sports deli, or The 13 moons. Really need better quality food options.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This is the second time I stayed at this hotel, I made a mistake that time and didn't let them know I was wishing an early arrival. I am disabled and therefore I did not want to be waiting in the lobby for a check in time at 4:00 p.m. That first visit we were checked in around 2:00 p.m. which wasn't too bad of a wait. We come from Canada and we always clear customs early in the morning rather than line up for over two hours if you pick too late of a time to cross the border. This last stay I talked to Paula and requested an early arrival, she agreed to do her very best. She also asked would I need a disabled room I advised no. When we checked at the desk what time we could possibly have our room we were told to come back at noon, which we did. The girl at the desk at noon was not as friendly and kept saying check in is 4:00p.m. I tried to explain I requested an early arrival and I am disabled and would appreciate if she could check us in early, she informs us the rooms aren't clean yet and come back at 2:00 p.m.. My daughter and I decided to go to La Conner and have lunch we stalled there as much as we could but I was starting to get tired; we returned back to the hotel at 3:15 p.m., the girl now at the counter tells us our room wont be ready until 4:00 p.m. on the button. We all got really upset, and then she said she would down grade us to find a ready room, she looked into her computer and then tells us none of the rooms are ready, come back at 4: p.m. We sat in the lobby, and boy are we really mad; we then start seeing a lot of people checking in, ten minutes to 4:00 pm we go back to the counter and asked why other people are checking in, she looks into her computer and says oh okay I can get your room ten minutes earlier than promised. We were very upset and feel these three girls deliberately delayed us getting our room before 4:00p.m. Even while this was going on I asked to speak to the manager and I was told there was no manager on duty that day. I later found out there was a manager on duty, I also talked to the cleaning staff and was advised our room was ready before 3:00 p.m. in fact the whole floor was ready before 3:00 p.m. We cancelled our stay for the next night, but later we re-booked as we were going whale watching the following day and knew we would be too tired to drive home. The day of the whale watching we spoke to the manager on duty Amanda, she was horrified the way we were treated, and would check into why those girls took such a stand with us. I hope those girls will be retrained and learn better customer service skills. On a positive side I wish to say the suite we had was fantastic and the view we had was very much enjoyed by us, especially me. I also want to thank Amanda for her concern and regrets that our check in request was not honored or any effort made to get us into our room earlier than 4:00 P.m.

Room Tip: water view is really worth the extra fee they charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas W, General Manager at Swinomish Casino & Lodge, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. I assure you our staff would never deliberately delay a check in if a room was ready. It appears there was a time lapse between when the room was completed until it was made available for the front desk to check in. I do see you had reserved a suite, which we only have 4 of, so we did not have the luxury of assigning one of the other rooms that were ready as this would have been a downgrade from your original reservation, although I do see the offer was made. I am happy to hear that you were able to speak to Amanda about the situation and that you ultimately enjoyed your stay in the suite, which are truly special! My apologies your entire experience was not as intended, upon your return, please contact me directly, I will make your reservation personally and ensure you experience is what it should be.

Best Regards,
Dallas Widmark
Lodge General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed two nights while visiting Anacortes and Friday Harbor. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and the lodge and rooms were very nicely decorated, but since everything else was so nice it didn't make sense to us why the mattresses were so uncomfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here overnight as we travel from Vancouver to visit casinos along the I-5. Yes were welcomed fairly warmly, but at the end of the check in there was no mention of where to go from there, just the room number. Employees should treat patrons like they have never been there before, as we had not and the elevators are a little hidden from the front desk, so had no idea where to go. Room was average and there were soft candies left on the floor around the bed. I think they were ju jubes? Obviously no vacuuming before we were given the room.

No fitness center although there was apparently access to one 10 minutes down the highway.

Parking was free and there was a small convenience store just on the other side of the parking lot.

The buffet was exceptional with lots of fresh seafood and other nice dishes. We did have to put up with the hostess and waiter arguing if her hair was really blonde or not on the way to the table. Seems to be a theme here of very young workers being hired which is great as we all have to start somewhere but perhaps a little more training when dealing with customers.

For an overnight stay, it was not bad. Quiet for a Friday night so we had a good nights sleep. We were up quite late so they did allow us a late check out at noon. Shops are not to far away with some great deals.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I took my 89-year-old Mom up for a couple of days and just like the previous times we have been there...we had a fabulous experience. We were greeted warmly at the front desk and loved our room - understated and lovely. (The room was near the ice machine but thankfully it was nice and quiet!). Based on a previous very positive experience, we went to the 13 Moons restaurant and just like with the front desk, our service was warm, engaging and professional. And, that was from the host, our Server, our busboy and one of the cooks who came out to check on our meal! The food is so good and very reasonably priced and as Mom said, "Everyone acted happy that were were there." Lots of places have good food and nice rooms but it is the Customer Service that will keep us coming back. (By the way, we wrote a letter to the General Manager, Dallas, with our feedback and how nice to receive a personal, appreciative and timely reply. Obviously this service attitude exists at all levels!) Thank you for a great time...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swinomish Casino & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swinomish Casino & Lodge

Address: 12885 Casino Dr, Anacortes, WA 98221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Anacortes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Anacortes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swinomish Casino & Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swinomish Casino & Lodge includes 98 luxury rooms, all 100% smoke free, overlooking the Padilla Bay and San Juan Islands. 13moons Restaurant features flavors of hand-cut Alder wood grilled seafood, meats and the freshest flavors of the Northwest. In addition to 13moons, the Swinomish Casino & Lodge features dining options to satisfy any appetite including, Two Salmon Café, 10 Sports Bar, and The Deli. With Las Vegas style gaming, the Swinomish Casino & Lodge features 800 of the latest slot titles, table games including Black Jack, Craps, Roulette, Pai Gow, Poker, Keno and Bingo. The Wa Walton Event Center boasts 9,000 square feet of multipurpose meeting and convention space with flexible breakout rooms along with 6,000 square feet of pre-function space for gatherings and networking events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Swinomish Casino & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swinomish Casino & Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.