We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swinomish Casino & Lodge

Save Saved
You added Swinomish Casino & Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12885 Casino Dr, Anacortes, WA 98221   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 hotels in Anacortes
Washington
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great new hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

I had visited this casino several years ago and was not all that impressed. Then I heard they had built a hotel and read some positive reviews on TripAdvisor so I decided to give it a try. I booked a King Bay View Room for a reasonable price with my AAA discount. I was very impressed when I walked in the lobby. The staff was very friendly and the lobby very nice with a great view of the bay. This is a new hotel so the all the common areas looked clean and modern.

I had a room on the third floor and it was very large and spacious. I loved that the it had floor to ceiling windows the full width of the room. It made for a very nice view (if you could look past the RV camping between the hotel and the water). The room was also very clean and new looking. It had a nice decor and the furniture was very comfortable. It had a large LCD TV with the largest selection of channels I have seen at a hotel. The bathroom was also very nice, with a large walk in shower. I have read some reviews complaining there is no tub. I actually prefer a room without a tub. I wouldn't want to take a bath in a hotel room anyway. I also really appreciated the in room safe. The wireless Internet was very string and robust. I streamed a movie on my IPad and the wireless handled it perfectly.

The casino was also better than I remembered. It was a short walk from the main hotel area and not overly smokey. There were three bars in the casino, one of them a large sports bar with many big screens. The food was decent and the atmosphere good. There was also a couple other restaurants and a deli in the bingo area that I did not try. The employees in the casino were also very friendly and if I had been winning it would have been a perfect stay. I will definitely stay here a again in the future.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    87
    16
    12
    9
See reviews for
27
137
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sidney, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I am a return customer to this property. The check in , and floor staff are curtious and very friendly and always helpful when needed.The POKER ROOM is my main reason for coming here so often. I always have a great time here. Thanks DARLA and BRIAN. Stayed for Christmas and have already booked for mid JAN. See you at the tables. Randall ORR CANADA.

Room Tip: Stay on bay view rooms, 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

stayed on boxing day room was great tv has lots of channels to play with way more then most check in staff was very friendly casino was a casino they are all the same have two complaints my bed was king and seemed to be high in the center felt like i was rolling off the big complaint was the service i like my beer when i gamble i always run a tab and get it my self it was at there sports bar not once when i walked up for a refill did i get served write a way only one bartenter on and he was missing most of the time i do not like to wait 2-3 mins. for every beer i go to the silverreef all the time they have 2-4 bartenters on all the time my beer is in my hands before i hit the seat also they keep your credit card for your tab i dont like that silver reef swipes it then gives it back the price for the room is awsome so would reccomend this lodge

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We went here on a bus trip from Canada and stayed 3 nights over Christmas. Rooms were nice, comfortable beds and very clean. Casino was fun and staff were friendly. I have to say though that the food was very bad and for that reason alone I will not be making a return trip or recommending it to anyone. Management should take a look at the other casinos in the area and take some tips from them on how to cook and present food. If they resolved that issue the casino would be worth a visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirkland, wa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed here this past Saturday night. Room was pretty nice. Had a nice Tv, good size bathroom with no tub, and even a mini refrigerator and safe.

My only complaint was the beds. My bed was uncomfortable. It made so much noise everytime i moved. Come to find out in the morning, there was some plastic liner on it. How tacky! My friends bed did not have it so i dont know if they put them on all the beds or not.

Otherwise i would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin S, Manager at Swinomish Casino & Lodge, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thanks again for your feedback. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had some fun playing in the casino. After doing some research I learned that we have mattress covers on all the beds, but they should not impede on the comfort of the bed. We will have housekeeping look into this concern. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.

We hope to see you again soon :) Best wishes,


Justin Shank
iGaming & Interactive Media Project Manager
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stayed here a few time and every time it has been great. The staff are so friendly and helpfull. About the hotel make sure you sign for the e club at the players club it save you big bucks!!! The bathrooms don't have a tub but they have great showers and lots off room you dont feel like you're in a freaking box and the walls are falling on ya. The rooms are great clean and lots of space with a flat screen tv with every channel you need to relax the water view is just amazing. The casino has a big non smoking area. And if you a night they will reward you with free nights vegas style.


  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympic Peninsula
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This newer (opened April 2012) property has features to recommend it. The midweek off-season rate was very reasonable and included a $15 restaurant credit. The quiet room was nicely furnished in native art décor with comfortably firm beds, flat screen TV, a desk for work space (with readily-accessible electrical outlets), closet with door and bathroom with large shower (but no tub) and a mini-fridge. Wireless internet is provided at no charge. The windows do not open at all not even partially (a personal pet peeve). Ask for an odd-numbered room as they feature a nice water view instead of the highway and parking lot.

The lobby is comfortably appointed with double-sided fireplace and overstuffed chairs and couches along with a player piano playing seasonal tunes. A complementary business center with computers, fax machine and printer is available. The outdoor patio is covered for all-weather use leading to a small RV park. but the facility does not have pool or spa. Checkout is 11 AM (PP #2) but my request for a late (noon) checkout was readily honored. Parking is uncovered but valet parking is provided. Two on-site restaurants are available and I sampled an unremarkable omelet at the Two Salmon eatery.

The attached smallish casino offers a limited assortment of table games with reasonable minimum bets (but some rather restrictive BJ rules) and the usual assortment of slot machines. Ventilation could use a boost: Even on a midweek night with a small crowd, the smoke was very noticeable.

Overall, the quality+value=3 stars for this newer tribal hotel/casino property.

Room Tip: Odd # rooms have great water view not the parking lot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Swinomish Casino & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swinomish Casino & Lodge

Address: 12885 Casino Dr, Anacortes, WA 98221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Anacortes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 hotels in Anacortes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swinomish Casino & Lodge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swinomish Casino & Lodge includes 98 luxury rooms, all 100% smoke free, overlooking the Padilla Bay and San Juan Islands. 13moons Restaurant features flavors of hand-cut Alder wood grilled seafood, meats and the freshest flavors of the Northwest. In addition to 13moons, the Swinomish Casino & Lodge features dining options to satisfy any appetite including, Two Salmon Café, 10 Sports Bar, and The Deli. With Las Vegas style gaming, the Swinomish Casino & Lodge features 800 of the latest slot titles, table games including Black Jack, Craps, Roulette, Pai Gow, Poker, Keno and Bingo. The Wa Walton Event Center boasts 9,000 square feet of multipurpose meeting and convention space with flexible breakout rooms along with 6,000 square feet of pre-function space for gatherings and networking events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Swinomish Casino & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swinomish Casino & Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.