We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swinomish Casino & Lodge

Save Saved
You added Swinomish Casino & Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12885 Casino Dr, Anacortes, WA 98221   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 hotels in Anacortes
Courtenay, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Stayed 3 nights had a great time, our room was very nice beautifully decorated overlooked the channel. Enjoyed watching the boats only saw 1 train as we were enjoying our happy hour. Glasses would of been nice for our happy hour but you did say they were coming, it would also be nice to have a makeup mirror in the bathroom. We found the food was to our liking no complaints there. We just finished rebooking for another 2 nights for the end of the month. Keep your promotions coming!!! From the Vancouver Island travellers

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin S, Marketing Coordinator, Swinomish Casino & Lodge at Swinomish Casino & Lodge, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
This is great feedback, thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are working to have glasses in place very soon. Hope that you have an equally enjoyable experience at the end of this month. The promotions will continue!

Best,

Justin Shank, Marketing Coordinator, Swinomish Casino & Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    92
    17
    12
    9
See reviews for
31
142
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Very nice new hotel with a lot of potential. As others have mentioned, smoke from the Casino comes right into the lobby. Rooms are large, but only one towel holder. Expedia advertised rooms had balcony, but only 12 of the 98 rooms have. Friendly staff, good location, quiet - could use a mini-fridge.

Room Tip: Ask for bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin S, Marketing Coordinator, Swinomish Casino & Lodge at Swinomish Casino & Lodge, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our new property, we appreciate your valuable feedback! Additional towel racks and fridges will eventually be in every room. We are working with Expedia.com to correct the room descriptions and differentiate between rooms with balconies and rooms without.

Thank you again for the positive review and for the great suggestions for our property. Hope to see you again soon!


Justin Shank, Marketing Coordinator, Swinomish Casino & Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukilteo, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Check in was prompt and courteous with a check-in call after arrival in the room to make sure it was satisfactory. The room and the view were well worth the reasonable price. The food quality was fine but selection let quite a bit to be desired. The casino had a reasonable selection of slots with a very small gaming table area. Didn't spend much time in the room until time to go to bed, when we found that there was a "dull far off roar" like a freight train going by at a distance - - - just enough that I heard it all night. Finally figured out what it was. At the west end of the lodge ground level on the bay side is a kitchen room area with very large - - - and loud - - - exhaust fans. Made sleep quite difficult. Let the desk clerk know about it at check out and was brushed off with no concern. DO NOT ACCEPT A ROOM ON THE WEST END OF THE BAY SIDE IF YOU WANT TO SLEEP! Otherwise the hotel and casino were a pleasant experience that I would do again.

Room Tip: West end of bay side has exhaust fan noise that makes quality sleep difficult so get smaller room nu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin S, Marketing Coordinator, Swinomish Casino & Lodge at Swinomish Casino & Lodge, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Hi there,

Thank you for your review! We appologize for the noise and will work diligently with our engineering department to identify the source and remedy the issue.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our property and we hope that you sleep soundly on your next visit.

Justin Shank, Marketing Coordinator, Swinomish Casino & Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Our first time at Swinomish Casino and Lodge. We visited from Abbotsford BC and found it very easy to get to. Beautiful new hotel with lovely rooms, wouldn't change a thing. Rooms and decor very well thought out. Love the stone tiled bathroom and glass enclosed shower. Very comfortable bed. Casino was great and we had a lot of fun, nice atmosphere. Only ate at the deli and cafe but enjoyed our food. Great deal on the $2.00 domestic draught beer happy hour, from 4-7pm. Big thumbs up to every single one of your Employees for being so awesome. EVERY staff member of EVERY job description that we came across, from the hotel through the casino, the bars the deli and the cafe and cleaning staff had a friendly welcoming smile and provided superb customer service. Well done, we will be back for sure!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin S, Marketing Coordinator at Swinomish Casino & Lodge, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Thank you so much for your review, it is very comforting to hear that you had such a positive first visit to our property. We are proud of our team and I will share your kind words with the staff and management.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our property. Looking forward to your next visit.

Justin Shank, Marketing Coordintor, jshank@swinomishcasino.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We really enjoyed our 2 night complimentary stay. Beautiful rooms with balcony facing Padilla Bay, well decorated with native american art, and the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. 40 inch HD Directv, Keurig coffee makers, a safe too keep your big winnings from the casino in.
Even an I-pod dock clock radio. The only thing negative is they could put some real glasses in the rooms so we did'nt have to drink our wine in plastic cups. The down side of the stay was the restaurant, and the service. We sat in the restaurant for 20 min. after being seated, finally got up and left. Went to the new sports bar to order on there limited menu, my wife took one bite of her "chilli dog" and sent it back. We did'nt get to try the new restaurant since it was closed sun-mon,

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, Manager at Swinomish Casino & Lodge, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
We have had so many great comments regarding our beds and I am thrilled that you enjoy them also! Thank you also for the wonderful review of the Lodge. We spent long hours designing it to make sure it is a special place. We are in the process of adding real glass tumblers to the guest room so please look forward to that. In response to your comments with the food and beverage experience, this is not the standard experience or one that we would ever want you to have. I have forwarded your comments to our Director of Food and Beverage and she has assured me that she will be addressing this with her staff and fixing the issues you experienced. We are very proud of our food and beverage program and I can assure you that if you come back to our property you will have nothing but a great experience. Thank you again for taking the time to review our property and have a great rest of the week!

~Ian Robert McClendon, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Check in was easy and very fast. The girls at the desk were very friendly. Easy access to our room from the elevators.
Of course the rooms are nice and clean except our bedding looked like someone had sat on the bed, so I quickly looked around to make sure were weren't sharing a room with someone.
Being a brand new hotel, The view from the room was very nice. you could see the mountains and the bay. Nice way to wake up!
I could see a few details that might have been overlooked. A makeup mirror in the bathroom, real glasses instead of plastic wrapped ones (and maybe a few more then 2) and I think the room is big enough for one more chair so two people can sit around the table.
I thought the rooms were supposed to have "Plush Bathrobes"? I didn't see any in the closet.
One other thing I noticed was that the rooms still smell like new paint and flooring. I got pretty stuffed up from the smell.
Now, I would definitely come back in a few months when the smell subsides. The lack of the above mentioned items will just make me pack my own next time.
Thank you for inviting us to your hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, Ian Robert McClendon, Front Office Manager at Swinomish Casino & Lodge, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. The rooms that have our plush robes are actually the suites, but you can request one for your room if we have them available. We do not have many, but if we do have a couple, we would be more than happy to send them up to you! I have taken down all of your requests and we will make sure to add them to the guest rooms as soon as possible! Thank you again for taking the time to review our property and have a great rest of the week!

~Ian Robert McClendon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, WA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We are locals, and have been visiting the Swinomish Northern Lights Casino for years. We received an offer from the new hotel to come stay for a complimentary night, so we took them up on it.

The valet staff are completely different from the people we've seen for years. The new people don't really have what it takes to be a really good valet, but I'm hoping that will come in time. It's disappointing to not see familiar faces greet us when we drive up.

The front desk staff got us checked in quickly, and painlessly.

We found our room easily, and it's really a beautiful room. The HD television, comfy bed, and Keurig coffee machines are a nice touch. VERY smart idea on the part of the design team, to put table lamps in the rooms that have plenty of power outlets on the lamps themselves! Makes it easy to charge phones, e-readers, tablets, and laptops.

The iPod radio docs are nice, too.

The view from the bay side rooms is fantastic. Bring binoculars with you if you like to bird watch or look for seals and stuff.

I have to say, our sleep suffered, though. Nothing we could put a finger on, as everything was comfortable, and fairly quiet (there did seem to be a bit of noise from people doing things in other rooms or maintenance items, maybe sound transmitted by the steel beam construction?). Could have been that it was a new place to us, but that's only reason I dinged them on sleep quality.

There were a few little niggles that I'd like to point out to the management, that may help them deliver the next level of quality in such a nice place. I noticed the hotel manager appears to be looking at these reviews, and would like to contact him directly, rather than post them here, since they're small items and shouldn't dissuade anyone from visiting.

We would stay again!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the bay and a balcony. Some 3rd floor bay view rooms have a view of the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, Ian Robert McClendon, Front Office Manager at Swinomish Casino & Lodge, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We have not changed the valet staff, but since we have gone to 24 hours, we have added a couple members to our team. I appreciate you wanting to give us more feedback and we would love that. I am very sorry to hear that you were unable to get enough sleep with us. I would love to hear more about that so we can fix whatever happened.

Thank you again for your comments and I hope to see you back at the Swinomish Casino and Lodge very soon!

~Ian Robert McClendon
imcclendon@swinomishcasino.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swinomish Casino & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swinomish Casino & Lodge

Address: 12885 Casino Dr, Anacortes, WA 98221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Anacortes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 hotels in Anacortes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swinomish Casino & Lodge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swinomish Casino & Lodge includes 98 luxury rooms, all 100% smoke free, overlooking the Padilla Bay and San Juan Islands. 13moons Restaurant features flavors of hand-cut Alder wood grilled seafood, meats and the freshest flavors of the Northwest. In addition to 13moons, the Swinomish Casino & Lodge features dining options to satisfy any appetite including, Two Salmon Café, 10 Sports Bar, and The Deli. With Las Vegas style gaming, the Swinomish Casino & Lodge features 800 of the latest slot titles, table games including Black Jack, Craps, Roulette, Pai Gow, Poker, Keno and Bingo. The Wa Walton Event Center boasts 9,000 square feet of multipurpose meeting and convention space with flexible breakout rooms along with 6,000 square feet of pre-function space for gatherings and networking events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TravelClick, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Swinomish Casino & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swinomish Casino & Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.