We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dad's Diner a go go

Dad's Diner a go go
2219 Commercial, Anacortes, WA 98221 (Formerly Dsd's Diner a go go)
3608402938
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 78 Restaurants in Anacortes
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Seattle
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Great little town restaurant. Good food and even better customer service. My husband had the pulled pork sandwich and raved about it. I had the BLTA and it was great. Loved that a diner had beer too!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    11
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
“Dad's breakfast exceedingly terrific!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Stopped here on a Sunday while I was waiting for the morning ferry to the San Juan Islands. There were quite a few cars out front and I could see through the front door that there was a bar at which to eat. So, I stopped.

Staff were friendly and it appears many Anacortes locals choose Dad's because the staff called most folks by name. Even those of who aren't local were treated kindly and promptly. No turf wars here--the staff all helped anyone who needed it. The menu is fairly short and on a blackboard. I can't remember the name of my order "Dan's-something-breakfast." It was incredibly fresh, fast and tasty. I looked the place and saw that I could have chosen and been delighted with any of the other meals.

You can read the reviews. This is a place not to be missed. Can't believe my sister has lived on Lopez for years and has never been here.

A definite must. Plan your trip so you have to stay overnight. Rock Fish Grill and a couple of other local craft brew places the night before, Ship Harbor Inn over night and breakfast at Dan's before you catch the ferry. Enjoy!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Go Hungry -Leave Full”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

It started as a food truck (still there at times) and transitioned into a Diner (not your typical diner) downtown Anacortes. They have worked a little magic into their breakfasts and burgers, which make you want to come back for more. I like the "ground your own beef for juicy burgers" trend. Yum!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, WA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“YUM, YUM, YUMMY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Where to start. From the moment you walk in the door, you can smell the aroma of the best burger in town. They have homemade sauces, incredible steak fries, and beef that has no equal. Bring your appetite, because the servings are Huge!! This restaurant is a must visit if you are in Anacortes!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, WA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

You know this place is different the moment you walk in...a huge chalkboard boasts the menu, there are pictures of people's fathers all over the walls...and the place smells incredible! The team at Dad's takes pride in what they do, and it shows. You'll be greeted as if they've known you for a long time, the minute you walk in the door. Don't see something on the menu...ask. Think you've had the best biscuits and gravy ... I doubt it (unless you've eaten at Dad's already). Think you know brisket, pastrami, pulled pork or burgers ... I doubt it. Insider tip ... get the Party Melt with a fried egg on it for breakfast. Or, the hash. Or the biscuits and gravy. Or the fiesta french toast. Ah heck, just come every day that you're visiting Anacortes and try it all!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dad's Diner a go go also viewed

 

Been to Dad's Diner a go go? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dad's Diner a go go, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.