We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful basket of fried oysters” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bob's Chowder Bar & BBQ Salmon

Bob's Chowder Bar & BBQ Salmon
3320 Commercial Ave, Anacortes, WA 98221-4226
360-299-8000
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 61 Restaurants in Anacortes
Cuisines: Seafood, Barbecue
Restaurant details
Redding, California
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Wonderful basket of fried oysters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Ok - perhaps but the healthiest but these fried oysters were the biggest ones I ever had. They were plump and juicy and cooked to perfection. The fries were golden and crispy. The clam chowder was very good with plenty of small clams. The restaurant is a small shanty on the main highway in Anacortes. Not much of a view and poor beer choices but do as the locals and stop by ....fish tacos looked wonderful.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    34
    23
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best clam chowder”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We drive 25 miles to have chowder at Bob's. Love it. Easy to find on the main street right into Anscortes.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Once again a great Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I treat myself to a lunch at Bob's Chowder House once a month (at least) for the last 3 years or so. The menu is amazing and open to all diets. My favorite is getting the chowder and one piece of the fresh hand battered cod. I probably have tasted everything on the menu twice and recommend all of it. Great friendly service and fun atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great little spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I've driven by so many times and finally went there on a date. I had the salmon bites and chips special. It was DELICIOUS!! They let me try their in house made dressings and the service was wonderful! I'll go back again and again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Oregon
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Almost great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

On Main drag in Anacortes on left side when you enter town. Next to Marina Inn. Street parking, outside and inside tables- LOTS of tables. VERY CLEAN restrooms. Table and chairs, plastic forks and spoons, paper containers. Average sized menu.Friendly service. Chowder: very good, lots of little clams in it, comes in cup and bowl, nearly same size. Tasty, sole proviso, they could be more generous with soup, $3.95 and $4.95. You really need 2 bowls to feel satisfied. Prawns not greasy, meaty, lightly breaded and fried, Good, could be great, but again slightly shy on portion size, comes with fries in basket. Fish and Chips were very good, no complaint again about the food it was lightly battered, not greasy, warm, tasty, fresh. I had the 1 piece which was insufficient to fill you up, a 2 would be better. Tartar was spot on, Lots of tables inside and out. Not fancy or pretentious, but good, It was a 3.5 out of 4. It could be a 4 if they just added a bit more value for the money. Good for dates, kids, seniors, disabled, men, women. Sale prices 3-5 pm I believe. It was all so good, we left saying it was alllllmooost great, it just pulled back a bit on portions. Still, a recommend, of course.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bob's Chowder Bar & BBQ Salmon also viewed

 

Been to Bob's Chowder Bar & BBQ Salmon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bob's Chowder Bar & BBQ Salmon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.