We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, Decent Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bob's Chowder Bar & BBQ Salmon

Bob's Chowder Bar & BBQ Salmon
3320 Commercial Ave, Anacortes, WA 98221-4226
360-299-8000
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 82 restaurants in Anacortes
Cuisines: Barbecue, Seafood
Restaurant details
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fun, Decent Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Recommend by local coffee barista,when asked where I could get some good fried shrimp. We got there just as it opened for lunch. We were there first customers. I ordered the fried shrimp and chips, hubby had salmon and chips. My shrimp was great, battered in a very crunchy type batter, not your usual batter, loved it. Fresh, sweet, nice sized shrimp. Salmon was small chunks battered the same. Fries were standard fries, but cooked well and not greasy. Great customer service from server, full of interesting tidbits about area and hints on places to go.

Prices were fair for amt and quaility of food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    33
    25
    15
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“So good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We found this by asking at a convenience store for a place to find a fish sandwich.
We had a shrimp sandwich,shrimp salad and chowder. Delicious!
Wish we could come back to try more!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Expected a lot more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Cute remodel of the place. Nice that they have more seating. Too bad the food is just plain bad. Even the fries had a weird taste. Not sure why this place is busy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

These guys have the BEST clam chowder! It's always served hot and it's delicious. The fish-n-chips are really good, too. The service is excellent, although when they're super busy there can be a long line, but it's worth waiting for! Since they recently added on to the building the seating area and restrooms are new and clean. There's even a nice view of the mountains. If you like this kind of food you gotta try this place!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Close to the Marina Inn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

This place sits right beside the Marina Inn. We ate here because it was easy. We got the mighty bob meal. It was a bit pricy for deep fried fish and shrimp. I don't mind paying for good food, but not stuff that's frozen and nuked. Taste a bit like the microwave fish sticks in my opinion.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bob's Chowder Bar & BBQ Salmon also viewed

 

Been to Bob's Chowder Bar & BBQ Salmon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bob's Chowder Bar & BBQ Salmon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.