We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chowder Northwest Style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bob's Chowder Bar & BBQ Salmon

Bob's Chowder Bar & BBQ Salmon
3320 Commercial Ave, Anacortes, WA 98221-4226
360-299-8000
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 78 Restaurants in Anacortes
Cuisines: Barbecue, Seafood
Restaurant details
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Chowder Northwest Style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Love the salmon wraps with lemon sauce, and the chowder is delicious. Newly expanded seating should be an incentive to stop by, and I think they will now have inside bathrooms as they transition from a take-away place to a cafe atmosphere.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    34
    22
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“There are better alternatives”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Fish pieces were pretty small, but the batter was unique. The fries are standard food service quality thin cut - they would be better served using a nicer cut, or even making their own. Some seasoning on the fries might be nice too. The chowder wasn't ready and had to wait. They served it up once it was hot, but it hadn't thickened yet. They told me it was like that, but I accepted it as it was. They should know the golden rule is that you shouldn't serve it just to serve it, you should only serve it when it's right!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Overlooked the fact it was being re-modeled, but the location on the main street is noisy, with a view of passing cars; the chowder was too thick with more potatoes than clams. Unimpressed.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stopped here on an unintentional ride through Anacortes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Was surprised to see chowder described as New England when the Seattle area seafood is so much better. Wife got salmon wrap which was fresh and plentiful and delicious. I got fish and chips. Fish was perfect, flaky, not dry, not greasy. Help was genuinely helpful and courteous. Would definitely come back if we ever pass through here again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
“Fun in the sun.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I had heard of this little place. Stopped in to try the tacos. They were great. I looked for the salmon salad that I read about. There was a salmon dinner for just 8.95. Hubby liked it. Good variety of drinks. I don't know what people think, great, inexpensive meal.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bob's Chowder Bar & BBQ Salmon also viewed

 

Been to Bob's Chowder Bar & BBQ Salmon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bob's Chowder Bar & BBQ Salmon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.