We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highway robbery” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Baek Chun Sushi Yama

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Baek Chun Sushi Yama
13032 W 14th Ave, Airway Heights, WA 99001
(509) 244-3545
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Japanese, Korean
Restaurant details
Spokane, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Highway robbery”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Highway robbery. 2 rolls 2 nigiri. 2 beers and one cooked salmon cheek $80. Kept 22$ of change assuming a tip. $100 night. Completely unreasonable. Will never go back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheney, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fresh Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We just love this little hole in the wall. The owner drives to Seattle to personally select and transport his fish. The dishes are delicious EVERY time we stop in.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Spokane location review - Great Japanese & Korean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Please note:

This review is for the location in Spokane WA on Third Street.

The first thing I noticed when I walked through the door was how much the owners have improved the decor for the restaurant its former life as an Artic Circle (burger joint). The interior shows simple, Asian elegance and the small space is very well used.

The food was excellent and fresh. The bento boxes are huge meals. Their tempura is the best I've had in the area. Unlike other places, their tempura is crispy and not greasy. Their tofu salad was yummy. My step daughter enjoyed her yakisoba.

None of us care much for sushi; so we can't comment on the raw fish.

Three of us ate: tea, full meals and a side salad for $45.00. I thought the prices were quite reasonable given the quantity and quality of the food.

The husband speaks with a slight accent and the wife, at times, appeared to have a bit of a language barrier. However, the service was still attentive. They were very willing to please. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Found this restaurant by accident. Warm welcome from owner. Great food (Korean and Japanese) at a great price. Strongly recommended.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Really good sushi.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Fabulous sushi, good Korean food (though House of Seoul gets my vote in that category). Pricey (isn't sushi always?) but worth it. Attentive staff and a sushi chef with the eye of a master.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baek Chun Sushi Yama also viewed

Airway Heights, WA
Airway Heights, WA
 

Been to Baek Chun Sushi Yama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baek Chun Sushi Yama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.