We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite a gem for Airway Heights” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Northern Quest Resort & Casino

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Airway Heights
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Northern Quest Resort & Casino
Save
You added Northern Quest Resort & Casino to your Saves list
100 N. Hayford Road, Airway Heights, WA 99001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Airway Heights
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Quite a gem for Airway Heights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

I recently stayed at the Northern Quest with a group of coworkers. Our district won a campaign and our prize was a weekend at the resort. I live in Seattle, so I didn't really consider Airway Heights a "destination" location, but hey, it's an all expense paid weekend!

The overall decor of the resort was very nice, everything is new and modern. And the rooms.....AMAZING. The bathroom was very large and extremely clean. The huge walk-in shower with 4 shower heads was quite a treat. I absolutely loved the color scheme of the room. I wish I could just transplant the whole hotel room to the master bedroom of my house! The room also had 2 complimentary water bottles and a Keurig coffee maker. I personally have a Tassimo which I like much better, but the Keurig was a nice touch. : )

I was quite impressed by the staff. Everyone was eager to help. We arrived at the resort at 9am, but check in wasn't until 3pm. There were 2 Queen bed rooms available, but no Kings. The woman at the front desk took down our name and number and said she'd call us as soon as a King room was available, which ended up being around 1:30pm.

There really isn't much to do outside of the resort, as it's basically in the middle of nowhere. Downtown Spokane is about 10 miles away, but this wasn't really a problem because the resort offers a shuttle anywhere you need to go. And this wasn't just a shuttle, but an Escalade! We just told the concierge we wanted to go downtown, and an Escalade arrived within minutes. My coworker went shopping downtown and the driver even waited for her to shop and then took her back to the resort. A few of us got bored at the casino in the evening and ended up going to a club downtown. When the party ended at 2 am, we just called NQ and a driver came right away to pick us up. so much better than a $25 cab ride!

My significant other and I aren't big gamblers, so we spend most of the time during the day in The Q sports bar. The big screen is huge! And on the weekends they offer $3.50 Bloody Marys and Mimosas until 4 pm which was great. The bartender was very friendly and later on when it got really busy, our server did a pretty good job of keeping up with everyone's orders.

Our group ate at the buffet for dinner and I was less than impressed. I tried two chicken options and both were undercooked; very pink and chewy. We mentioned this to our server, but no one came over to apologize. I definitely would not recommend the buffet.

You need a key to access the elevator which is a nice security feature, however it will only let you off on the floor you're staying on. We had friends staying on other floors, so this was quite an inconvenience when we wanted to visit them.

Overall, I was quite pleased with the staff and resort itself. The location however....not so great. I certainly would not choose to take a vacation here, but it was a nice weekend getaway.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    66
    8
    8
    13
See reviews for
28
136
10
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
federal way
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

This is our 2nd stay we were there in June for 2 nights and this stay we were there Oct 30th and 31st. The price was right for this visit because we had a promo offer because we belong to the casino rewards club and we were there for our niece's wedding. The hotel was just opened on 2010 so everything is new and up to date with great furnishings and decor. The bathrooms have huge showers with extra shower jets and lighted makeup mirrors and the beds are soooo comfortable with pillow top mattresses and plenty of bed pillows. The rooms have 46 inch flat screens with HD channels there is also a small refrigerator in the room. On both visits we ate breakfast at Masselows restaurant near the hotel lobby, the food is above what is usually offered on a regular breakfast menu and both times our meals were very good. It was never very busy, people may shy away when they see the menu but you should try it. The casino is connected to the hotel by a long hallway and is quite a walk.
Now the casino is a place you might not enjoy if smoking bothers you, they have a small non-smoking room you could get bored pretty quick. What they really need is a much better ventilating system it seems 85% are locals in the casino and they all smoke. When we go to a casino we usually expect to be around some smoking but this place was really bad for smoke and the amount of smokers, just a friendly warning if you are more used to some of the larger casinos on the west side of the mountains.
My recommendation stay at this hotel because, the hotel is super nice and a great value but it is out by the airport but quick easy on off to I-90 to get to downtown and it has the casino if you want a little fun added to your stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

Stayed NQ for a conference. NQ first large conference at the new facility. Although staff stated it was hectic for them, I didn't notice any glitches going on behind the scenes. Service was great from nice Escalade shuttle that picked us up from the airport to the shuttle ride back. The staff in the spa were great. Nice spa but a bit pricey. I've been to some pricey spas and this one tops the list. Masselow's restaurant has the best huckleberry french toast and bacon I have ever had, it's delicious. The dinner menu is wonderful too and they have a nice wine selection as well. Masselow's is a bit pricey for some items but the food is good. For a cheaper eat, there is a food court in the Casino which has some yummy eats. The rooms are great and I love the motion sensor nightlights in the bathroom. The TV is awesome and the beds are fabulous. I just wish the reading lights were better situated so they don't hit you right in the eyes when you're in bed. Overall a nice stay and great staff and great food!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

Quest is unbelievable. It is an oasis out in the middle of nowhere. Our room was one of the nicest rooms we have ever had - better than alot of suites we have stayed in. We had a "regular" room that came with big, fluffy robes in the closet for us to use. The shower was HUGE with water that rains on you from up and down the wall. The bed you could burrow into. Big, flat screen t.v. plus a refrigerator. The staff was so nice and helpful. There are 14 places to get something to eat. A pool, spa and bars. And a casino. All within five minutes from the airport. What a great surprise.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

We've traveled extensively all over the world (the only continents we haven't been to are Antarctica & Africa) - who'd have thought one of the most luxurious hotels we've ever stayed in would be in Airway Heights, Washington?

The king room we had was very spacious, scrupulously clean & luxuriously appointed. I don't know what some of the previous reviewers are talking about - some people aren't used to such modern, state-of-the-art accommodations & get hung up on things that aren't important to me. I feel if the place is clean, the rooms are well-decorated & the staff is friendly & efficient, then there's little to complain about. In fact, I want to transport the whole bathroom to my house & my husband even took photos for our "idea file" when we decide to renovate.

Parking was quite convenient, although a little hike to the hotel, but not bad since having a parking garage undercover in an area of the country where it gets so hot is such a bonus. Once we figured out you can get to the hotel via the parking garage rather than going outside first, it was no problem.

It was lovely to have a coffee maker & small fridge in the room (something most Vegas hotels do NOT have . . . they want you out of your room gambling & buying high-priced coffee in their venues) as we don't like to get up early & go for breakfast. We purchased croissants, fruit & tea in the little coffee shop/store near the hotel area to have breakfast in the room - very convenient. I was also happy to see no giant tray of overpriced snacks or an "honor bar" with $12 beers in the room - something prevalent even in $300 luxury hotel rooms. However, anything you wanted was just a phone call away if you chose to have room service or something delivered to the room.

The price we paid (with AAA discount) was VERY reasonable, food service in the restaurants was friendly & efficient and the concert we attended was great. We had front row center tickets in the "cabaret-style" pavilion & I was pleased to see they didn't cram a lot more tables into the venue just to make more $$$ & the acoustics were very good, with giant TV screens @ each end of the pavilion to catch everything that was going on onstage.

As for the location, if you choose to go to the Spokane area, you should know there's not much "luxury" in the surroundings. Northern Quest Casino is a little island of loveliness in a harsh environment. Many times Native American casinos are located where the tribes own land & where there's a need or demand - in this case, the Kalispell tribe has been in this area for generations & the Kalispel Tribe and Northern Quest Resort & Casino support approximately 1,600 living-wage jobs, purchase over $1.1 million dollars each month in local or locally-affiliated goods and services, and have contributed over $3 million dollars to the community in total. All the while, supporting the community with first-class service to customers. My theory is: if you want something (especially service-wise) at a hotel or resort, you make your wishes clear & keep making them clear until they are met. If you don't get what you want, then speak to the management & it's always been my experience some sort of compromise or remuneration can be made. If you don't check a place out beforehand (especially staying somewhere like Spokane then complaining about the "terrible" location) or speak with management to make your stay what you want it to be, then you've got no one to blame but yourself when your experience is not "optimal." They have photos all over their website to get an idea of what the place is like, but when you're traveling in Eastern Washington, be prepared for arid, sparse countryside. It's not Hawaii & doesn't represent itself as such. The Spokane area has plenty to offer (the town itself is quite nice & we really enjoyed driving around looking @ all the historic homes) if you're open-minded & adjust your expectations as to what your "getaway" should look like.

Someone has done a lot of research into what people with truly discriminating tastes want in a hotel/resort & done their best to meet expectations.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

We went up to Spokane for a one night get away and was surprized at the Northern Quest hotel and casino. The hotel was 4 1/2 stars. The staff bent over backwards to help us- they were having a concert that night and we walked in looking for a room. The room was beautiful ,clean. We ate dinner at the buffet in the casino and it was excellent. We ate breakfast at the coffee shop and had a really good breakfast for $4.95 - $6.95.Security was very good-key cards to get to your rooms- while I was in the pool someone walked the hall outside every 20 minutes.The pool is on the small side but very beautiful -large hot tub . Staff was excellent. We will be going back again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington state
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

The hotel lobby could use a bit better tasteful decorations. Valet was excellent. Hotel staff were excellent. The room was beautiful especially the bathroom that is to die for. the bed wasn't as comfortable as the davenport and this does NOT compete with the davenport if you want class and sophistication. But for a romantic getaway it did ok. nice pool area. the room was quiet and comforable. very modern looking.

Gambling of course since it was a casino. was only fair very cold inside I think they think that is a good way to filter smoke. be prepared to stink when you come out. only a small area for nonsmoking that is even colder then everything else and limited machines. lots of table games. Variety of choices on slot machines but beware some maximums go up to 20.00 . needs to offer bingo. Live keno area is great. Non smoking area needs to be revised.

several small bar areas and gathering spots that are tasteful. impulse lounge for music and comedy is ok can get really loud and spills over into the casino. several places to eat from high end to buffett. buffett is only mediocre CDA casino is much better. several other eatiers such as an italian fast food spot (I don't recomend), fat burger is awesome, noodle house, expresso stand. Great sports bar and a beautiful cigar bar. shopping is mediocre.

the casino is not within walking distance of anything and the view from the windows is not the best.

parking garage is FAR from the casino and hotel. lot parking is available but far and limited most reserved for their high rollers. best to choose valet but be prepared to wait a long time up to an hour during promotions and events.

they really need to visit some of the larger casinos in washington like muckleshoot to get a better idea how to run things.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Northern Quest Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Quest Resort & Casino

Address: 100 N. Hayford Road, Airway Heights, WA 99001
Location: United States > Washington > Airway Heights
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Airway Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four-Diamond and Forbes Travel Guide Four-Star Northern Quest Resort & Casino is the premier destination in Eastern Washington, with award-winning restaurants, lounges and bars, complete luxury spa, extensive gaming options (with a non-smoking area), cigar bar, night club and star-studded entertainment all just minutes from Downtown Spokane. The Resort features 250 lavishly appointed rooms, including 22 suites; approximately 40,000 sq ft of flexible space for meetings and events. The Resort features an indoor pool and whirlpool, complimentary fitness center with personal trainers (by appointment), and complimentary shuttle, valet and garage parking. Northern Quest Resort & Casino - Spokane's premier destination resort! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Northern Quest Resort And Casino
Northern Quest Hotel Airway Heights

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northern Quest Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.