We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The promise of smoke free fell through..” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Northern Quest Resort & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Northern Quest Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Northern Quest Resort & Casino
100 N. Hayford Road, Airway Heights, WA 99001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Airway Heights
Sherwood, Oregon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The promise of smoke free fell through..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

To be fair I will start with our organization should not have not booked a conference consisting almost exclusively of non-smokers in a Hotel/Casino establishment. Try at they may, smoke fills every conference room, walkway and common area.

Our organization brought professionals from three US states and one Canadian providence for a 2 day conference. Our agenda kept us in educational classes from 8AM to 5 PM. Lunch was provided along with easy access to the facilities eating establishments and of course the casino.

If I remove smoke from the equation, the Hotel/Casino provided above average service in all areas. We attended a concert on the green while we were there. Good access to the swimming pool and spa. Plenty of help available for moving luggage in/out of the facility.

I would recommend this facility to all but non-smokers.

Room Tip: Suggest a smoke free room on the highest level
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Northern Quest Resort & Casino, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
We appreciate your organization choosing Northern Quest Resort & Casino as your meeting place and you taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

It is pleasing to hear you enjoyed the majority of our property, though we regret the smoke kept you from having a truly satisfying experience. We understand that even the slightest trace of cigarette smoke can be unbearable to a non-smoker and want to assure you we are continuously working to prevent the smoke exchange from occurring. Maintaining clean air-quality is our constant concern and we are consistently upgrading our air-filtration system to ensure a continuous flow of fresh-air exchange throughout our property.

Thank you for taking the time to help us improve the experience of Northern Quest Resort & Casino. We hope you will consider visiting us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    62
    6
    8
    12
See reviews for
27
122
9
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Idaho
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed at Northern Quest prior to an early morning flight from Spokane Airport. Our first
impression of the room was that it was very nice. It felt fresh and new with a comfortable bed.
We asked for king bed, non-smoking and that is what we got. We had an average resort dinner
and played a few slots and then to bed. As soon as we got in bed the noise started. We were
not by the elevators we used to reach our room but it sounded like an elevator and the noise went on most of the night. We got up at 4:00 am with no sleep to get ready for our 6:00 am
flight. As we left our room there was a service door next to our room that appeared to be for an elevator for room service and whatever. We are usually pretty carefeul about our room requests but failed to consider this problem. So if you decide to stay here be sure and ask for a room
away from their service elevator. I was surprised because this was a week night and the resort
was not that busy. I am sure there were other rooms available without this problem!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Northern Quest Resort & Casino, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you for your review. It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests, as it is the best tool we have for making improvements.

We regret we were unable to resolve your concern before your departure. While we pride ourselves on being a property that offers superior service, we are not pleased you found your night full of disturbances. Noise is not normally an issue here at Northern Quest Resort & Casino, as our rooms are insulated and designed to absorb sound, however, your review has made us aware of an area that may need improvement - Thank you for that!!

We continually strive for excellence in service and encourage our guests to notify us of any challenges as soon as possible, so we can correct the situation immediately. We hope to have you again as our guest and that you find your next stay with us to be superior.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I've stayed here twice recently. Once with my husband and once as part of a conference. Both times were great experiences. Hotel staff is very accommodating and helpful. Rooms are very nice. The only negative I can even think of is that there is no bathtub in most of the rooms. All have a huge shower with multiple shower heads. Overall great place to stay with lots of dining choices. If you are planning to attend on a date that they have a concert or event be aware that they will book solid months in advance.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Q, Manager at Northern Quest Resort & Casino, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thank you for choosing us for both your business and personal stays. We are glad you enjoyed your visits and hope to see you again soon! We will be sure to share your review with the staff regarding their service and room upkeep. Please accept our apologies for our lack of bathtubs. We don’t usually hear from guests regarding bathtubs because so many are thrilled by our showers! They are the stuff of legends! That being said, several of our junior, superior and premiere suites boast luxurious jetted tubs. On your next stay, be sure to let our staff know your preference and we’ll do our best to accommodate you!
As to dining, from Masselow’s, our acclaimed AAA four-diamond fine dining restaurant, to our 24-hour, seven-day-a-week Fatburger, we pride ourselves on providing guests with a variety of high quality dining choices.
We would also like to thank you for giving other travelers a heads up regarding our Outdoor Summer Concerts. They are very popular events and the response to room and concert packages has been fantastic! Who wouldn’t want to catch a top act, have a couple drinks, enjoy a late night snack or supper and then stay overnight in complete luxury? Anyway, we digress. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Our first experience at Northern Quest was Labor Day 2011 for just a day trip. We were very impressed with the atmosphere & decor & the "Vegas feel." We returned for a 2 night stay in October. What a fantastic getaway! Northern Quest has everything you need! We didn't leave once in two days! Everywhere we went was clean. Our room was great. The shower & bed are amazing! The motion activated night light in the bathroom is perfect for not having to turn bright lights on. The spa is beyond amazing! The separate hot tub, lounge area, and locker room are very nice and comfortable. The experiential shower is just that, such an experience! Flashing lights, music, water temperature changes......wow! One issue we had twice....After dinner we were returning to our room. We purchased 2 drinks at the Lobby Bar. We went up to our room just to put our food in the fridge. Upon returning to the lobby we were harrassed by the security guy in a red jacket regarding our drinks. He claimed that drinks were not allowed off of the elevator because they didn't know if we bought them there or made it in our room. First off, what does it matter? It's not against any rules or policy to bring in your own alcohol as a hotel guest. Secondly, we had to get the bartendar and food & beverage manager, Kevin, involved. The bartendar vouched for us buying our drinks, and Kevin said that weather we purchased the drinks there or not doesn't matter and that the security guys need to be trained properly and get on the same page. The very next day this happened again to us. It was quite annoying. Two adults in our mid-30s were feeling harrassed as we got off the elevator, yet as we were being talked to by security, a group of 5 girls that looked barely 21 all walked off the elevator with drinks and security doesn't say one word to them.....???? One elevator trip we went out of our way to avoid the security coming off of the elevator....we went down to the spa level and walked up the stairs so we would hopefully not be questioned by the red jackets! One thing that needs to change with the Camas Club, is that they don't give you any points or credit for hotel stays or dining. We have stayed there 2 nights, and have an expensive night booked in July for the Kelly Clarkson concert, and another 2 night stay in August for my girlfriend's 40th Birthday.....I'll be spending over $800 on the hotel & concert for the two different stays, yet I won't get any discounts for it in the future????? That's not right. Not to mention the money we will spend at the spa, on the slots, and restaurants. Anyway, overall Northern Quest is great and we can't wait for our return trip on July 22!

Room Tip: The website doesn't mention Executive King rooms......it's worth the extra $10/night for a t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Northern Quest Resort & Casino, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thank you so much for your review! We are fortunate to have guests like you who share your positive experiences while also providing us with some very helpful feedback. We are very happy you enjoyed the hospitality and comfort of our hotel and spa. We take great pride in providing the best possible experiences for our guests – whether you are indulging in an amazing night’s sleep in our signature beds or taking part in our luxurious spa services.

However, we are concerned about your interactions with our security team and your observations about our rewards programs. As a casino establishment, we are subject to strict rules governing where drinks can be taken on and off of the casino floor. Under Washington State Liquor Control Board (WSLCB) regulations, we can sell alcohol in “open containers” to be consumed on the premises. Un-opened alcoholic beverages can only be consumed in the privacy of each guest’s hotel room. We are very sorry you didn’t have a positive experience with a few of our security team members. They walk a fine line while monitoring all areas of the resort. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention so we can address it in our regular security retraining programs.

You, like many other guests and fans of Northern Quest, are anxious to receive points or credit for hotel stays and dining experiences. We hear you loud and clear and are working to finalize a rewards program that will recognize non-gaming spending. We are planning to roll out this new program in the coming months.

Again, we appreciate your review and look forward to serving you again soon. We have already held our first Pepsi Summer Outdoor Concert and know you’re in for a great time when you attend Kelly Clarkson at our beautiful venue in July! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quilcene, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Hotels are missing out on great reviews by not investing in great beds like the NQ. Comfy with perfect firmness mixed with softness, and immaculantly fresh! The shower is another terrific perk! Quad heads to give a luxurious shower! Lovely toiletries which I generally don't use in hotels-these were the exception. Quality coffee in room and free water! Although this is a casino establishment, it is separated enough from the casino that there is no smoke in the hotel area whatsoever.Rarely heard any one in hall, so sleep was uninterupted. Shuttle to/from airport was on time and hotel staff very accomodating with questions. Can't wait for my next visit!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Q, Manager at Northern Quest Resort & Casino, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review. That bed you are referring to is made especially for us by Northwest Bedding, a local manufacturer who does incredible work. It is called, “The Bed” because that is all the description it needs! As a four-diamond hotel, our staff and management take great pride in providing the best service and amenities you can find anywhere. And our shower is the subject of countless “ohhhhs and ahhhhhs!” We appreciate your time sharing your experience with us and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

What a nice hotel and resort! The beds were cushy, the spa was relaxing. I loved playing blackjack with real live cards and real live dealers! What a fun place to spend a weekend and feel like you are in Vegas when you are not!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Q, Manager at Northern Quest Resort & Casino, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for your review! We take a lot of pride in “The Bed” made exclusively for Northern Quest Resort & Casino and our discerning guests. We’re also thrilled you took the time to experience La Rive – our world class day spa! The fact that our casino rivals the best Las Vegas has to offer is very intentional. We have friendly and knowledgeable dealers and are proud to offer a variety of table games, as well as more than 1,800 slot machines. We are so happy you enjoyed yourself and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, Washington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Traveled to Spokane to pick up our new puppy choose the Northern Quest and it was great choice. It was very clean, decor was well done, the room rocked and was well thought out.
Food at the Hotel was very good and priced fairly. The down side and why I gave it 4 stars and not 5 was slow service. Masslow's service was friendly but getting our food was very slow for dinner and breakfast (quality was very good however), next was the slow service deliverying our car (25 min) only one couple ahead of us and they checked twice to where their car was- by the time we left there was 8 familys waiting on pick up. I would still go back again the room was GREAT!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: 450 sq ft room was great glad I didn't choose the Junior Suite (didn't need it)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Q, Manager at Northern Quest Resort & Casino, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Give your puppy a snuggle for us! We appreciate your review and are pleased you enjoyed Northern Quest Resort & Casino. Our guests consistently comment on how beautiful and well-apportioned the rooms are and our hotel team members are the best at what they do, from cleanliness to guest services. We are concerned, however, that you experienced slow service. Chef Bob and his staff at Masselow’s take as much great care with their food preparations as they do with service and we are sorry to hear you had to wait a while for your meals. As a four diamond restaurant, we aim to be the best – and we want you to know your concerns will be addressed. Under favorable conditions, our complimentary valet service takes approximately five minutes for car delivery. If an incident causes delay, it can sometimes take a little longer. Please accept our apologies for the delay you experienced. We will be sure to share your comments with our valet team. Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Northern Quest Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Quest Resort & Casino

Address: 100 N. Hayford Road, Airway Heights, WA 99001
Location: United States > Washington > Airway Heights
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Airway Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four-Diamond and Forbes Travel Guide Four-Star Northern Quest Resort & Casino is the premier destination in Eastern Washington, with award-winning restaurants, lounges and bars, complete luxury spa, extensive gaming options (with a non-smoking area), cigar bar, night club and star-studded entertainment all just minutes from Downtown Spokane. The Resort features 250 lavishly appointed rooms, including 22 suites; approximately 40,000 sq ft of flexible space for meetings and events. The Resort features an indoor pool and whirlpool, complimentary fitness center with personal trainers (by appointment), and complimentary shuttle, valet and garage parking. Northern Quest Resort & Casino - Spokane's premier destination resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Northern Quest Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northern Quest Resort And Casino
Northern Quest Hotel Airway Heights

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northern Quest Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.