We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel has been going down the past few years. Hair dryer...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn & Suites/Kings Dominion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn & Suites/Kings Dominion to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites/Kings Dominion
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   107 N Carter Rd, Ashland, VA 23005   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Ashland
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    57
    54
    48
    36
See reviews for
121
43
23
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
ZEPHYRHILLS
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Adam, I believe that is his name, was the desk clerk for our stay in November and in January. How nice he remembered us. Lovely hotel/motel. Beautiful room. Great breakfast. Would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling this road. Hotel/motel seems as if it's brand new. Rooms were fresh and inviting. Just a few more TV channels would have been nice :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
513 helpful votes 513 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We have been stopping at this hotel numerous times since 2009 and when we visited again in December 2012 we were still satisfied with this place. I must say that we just needed a place to crash for the night on our way to Florida.

If you never went you might have a little trouble finding the hotel since the road to get there is very dark at night, but it is worth it because the hotel is not too expensive and it is clean.

Also, when you book you should ask for a room that is not facing the I-95 so it would not be too noisy. We got a room on the first floor and it was fine.

The previous time we use this hotel there were a mini-fridge and a microwave in the room, but this time there was no microwave. I asked about it and they told me that only a few rooms had microwave. We did not need one, but if you do, be sure to specify it when you book.

The queen beds were very comfortable and the free Wi-Fi is working well. There is also a workstation in the lobby if you don't have your computer.

The carpet in the corridors has seen better days but the rest of the hotel was meeting our expectations.

The staff was very helpful and this was really appreciated.

Also if you need a quick bite there are a lot of fast-food around (Taco Bell, McDo, Burger King, Subway) and there is also a Wal-Mart less than 5 minutes away.

The complimentary breakfast was good. They have hot waffles, cereals, mini-bagels, etc... But the choice is limited. Adding a basket of fruit (apple, bananas, orange) would be great.

I would definitely go back and I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to my friends and family if the price is right. I really think that this is the best choice in that area.

Note: See my other reviews of this hotel for pictures.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing I-95.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I go to Ashland Va, about 8 times a year and always stay At this Hotel for 3 to 5 days per visit. Lots of places close by to eat. Close to the Mall. Easy access to interstate 95. Always had a comfortable stay staff has always been friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Riding, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Comfort Inn last night and that was luxurious compared to this. The amenities were just pretty basic and raw. It reminded me of a camping retreat, and was no better than that. The beds were basically springs with a bit of foam. There were two pillows per bed. Where at the Comfort Inn they gave you four pillows per bed, decent linens and decent space. At the Howard Johnson the towels and blankets were rough. The walls were thin. And there was a 1980s tinted mirror along the entire wall that made you think it was a two way mirror. Creepy.
The worst part is that it was right on the highway and the road noise was super loud. What a crappy night sleep.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn & Suites/Kings Dominion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn & Suites/Kings Dominion

Address: 107 N Carter Rd, Ashland, VA 23005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Ashland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn & Suites/Kings Dominion 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Wyndham, Orbitz, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn & Suites/Kings Dominion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites/Kings Dominion Hotel Ashland
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites/Kings Dominion
Howard Johnson Ashland
Howard Johnson Hotel Ashland
Ashland Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn & Suites/Kings Dominion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.