We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical American Fare” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ponderosa Steakhouse

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ponderosa Steakhouse
809 England St, Ashland, VA 23005-2232
804-798-8205
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 74 Restaurants in Ashland
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Sicklerville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Typical American Fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

If you're looking for a decent, quick meal of American home cooked food, Ponderosa is a good spot. The buffet offers selections such as fired chicken, meatloaf, meatballs, roasted chocked, mashed potatoes, sweet potatoe casserole (A+), butter beans, cabbage, etc. The food is fresh, plentiful and hot, and they have a pretty decent dessert buffet including self-serve ice cream (iced/frozen milk). The servers are efficient and pleasant.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    12
    7
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Vermont
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Good basic food at end of long drive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Ashland, VA is the place we always stop on our way north from visits to Florida. It is just north of Richmond, and by driving this far on the first day, our second day is comparatively light. We usually get there around 8pm and are always looking for some comfort food to be followed by a good night's rest. Several times we have visited this Ponderosa and always find it clean, comfortable and serving good basic food. This visit we each had the baked tilapia meal with the buffet. Yes, as always some of the food on the buffet looked a little tired, but it was at the end of the night. Everything we tried was good, hot and satisfying. Our baked tilapia was very good. Service was fine and before they began clearing the buffet for the night, the wait staff came over and asked if there was anything else we wanted from the buffet before they closed it down. That was thoughtful.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodinvirginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice buffet for a lunch or if you have the kids with you”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Reasonable prices for family fare with full buffet around 7.00 a plate. You can order off the menu for better selections brought straight to your table. Good place for large families Casual and laid back kind of place

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Convnient to I-95, Exit 92”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Convenient to I-95 Exit 92. Pleasantly clean. Inexpensive buffet gets you back on the road more quickly than restaurants where you order and wait for your food to be prepared. Good food, good selection.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“great food and family atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

I've been coming to Ponderosa (in Ashland) all my life. Ponderosa went non-smoking YEARS before other restaurants did. In addition, it doesn't serve alcohol. It is the perfect "family-friendly" environment. The prices are great- especially in this economy, and the food is not terrible by any means (in response to the previous poster). Mass produced? Perhaps a little- it's a buffet after all! However, the quality of the food still good and there is a variety to choose from. I've also noticed the food gets rotated often to ensure it's hot and fresh. The service is great as well! Ponderosa is a favorite of mine, and of others I know as well- hence the reason it has been in business for almost 25 years!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ponderosa Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Ponderosa Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ponderosa Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.