We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awfull "fresh tuna steak"” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Turner And Bragg Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Turner And Bragg Restaurant
504 England St, Ashland, VA 23005
(804) 752-2626
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 76 Restaurants in Ashland
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ashland, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Awfull "fresh tuna steak"”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We asked is your tuna steak fresh "yes" Worst dinner ever. Asked again after we tasted it, tuna fresh? "Oh yes we get it in fresh every week and freeze it so it stays fresh." If you are a fish lover u know once frozen fish becomes very dry and tough.

Baked potato was not throughly cooked, beans were from a can. Did not get our rolls. No sal included with dinner. $16.00 for the tuna steak and it sucked big time. We did tell server we were not happy wth our meals and she said "Im sorry."

Will never go there again. We thought we were treating ourselves to a great fresh Tuna Steak dinner left very dissapointed and hungry.

Oh and my sweet husband kept saying this is not like you make it.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Food, priced right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

We had fried oysters and crab cakes. Both very good, esp the oysters, and reasonabley priced. The name is now just Turner's. Will go back.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excellent food, reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

My family and I been going to Turners for over a year now. They have excellent food and service and reasonable prices. They have some of the best seafood around and their steaks are good also. I am partial to their scallops, fried oysters, and fried shrimp. They use very little breading on the shrimp and oysters so you get the full seafood taste. The scallops can be fried, broiled, or fixed cajun style. The best part about Turners is they fix seasonal items and always have specials. Last night we had for the first time a whole, baked apple that was tasty and not overly sweet. In the summer they fixed a tomato pie (similar to quiche) that was the best I have ever eaten. They also have very good spoonbread. The portions are very large, and you certainly get your money's worth. It is not fancy inside (just booths and tables) but very comfortable. They also have a full bar. I prefer to eat here because I can always can on excellent, quality food, and wonderful service.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

The restaurant has been remodeled and renamed "Turner's" no Bragg the restaurant was located at "The Hollows" golf course and has moved to Ashland. Great seafood and the best steaks!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Turner's Skip the fast food and a have a real meal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Turner's( there is no more Bragg) is locally owned and the food is great, They grind their own meat for their hamburgers and cut their own steaks. I love their burgers and my husband loves their steak sandwich but their blackened steak is excellent also. Good crab cakes, local tomatoes and sometimes there is even spoon bread. I'm sure everything else is good but we can't seem to get past our favorites. Friendly staff. Good drinks.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turner And Bragg Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Turner And Bragg Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turner And Bragg Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.