We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Ashland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Ashland to your Saves list
Days Inn Ashland
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   806 England Street, I-95 and Rt 54, Ashland, VA 23005   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Ashland
pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Horrible Experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2007

An awful Days Inn! The A/C wasn't working properly, the room (especially the bathroom) was dirty, the security lock was broken off the door, could hear everyone around and there was a drunk being sick in the parking lot.

Our room was in such bad shape that the motel refunded our money and we changed to a different motel.

This motel was the worst I have ever seen ... I had read some negative reviews on another site and thought it couldn't possibly be that bad ... it is a Days Inn ... but it was worst than I could have imagined.

  • Disliked — how dirty it was
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    27
    30
    30
    25
See reviews for
55
33
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
cortlandt manor, ny
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2007

Needed a place to stay on the way home to NY-had forgotten to book a hotel before I left Florida-now I was stuck just winging it. Usually do ok at Days so I thought I would try it. Had to check in at the window-it was a bit chilly to be standing out at midnight-lady was nice enough. Room was ok-beds looked clean and were comfortable. Refridge was clean and working. Bathroom area needed some help-some mildew. Needed some molding and new shower curtain. It was ok for a night but I wouldn't stay for longer than that.

  • Liked — price, location
  • Disliked — bathroom needed a makeover
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2006

When my husband and I arrived at the hotel, the women at the front desk looked like she had slept in her clothes. She was not friendly at all. Our room was very dirty. There were stains on the wall, the bathroom was dirty and the door to the bathroom looked like someone tried to rip it off from the bottom. The blanket on the bed was disgusting. It looked like it was bought in 1960. There were 2 children playing kick ball in the parking lot and kicking the ball into my car. Even after I told them to move, they just stood there and looked at me like they dared me to say another word. Overall, the place really needs a complete makeover!!!!

  • Liked — It was close to my son's college.
  • Disliked — Dirty
  • Tips/Secrets — You can find a nicer place for about the same money.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2006

The motel itself was fine and the room was pretty standard. The front desk people were very nice. My main problem with this place was the location. It is in an alley behind some fast food restaurants and surrounded by a number of other motels. When we checked in late (around 10pm) we couldn't go inside the lobby. Instead, we had to check in at a window on the side of the building - similar to what gas stations use late at night to protect their employees from robery. This made us and the other people checking in at the same time feel a little uncomfortable about the place we had chosen to stay. I was tempted to put the chair in front of the door inside our room for extra security.

  • Liked — It was a good price and right off the highway.
  • Disliked — The actual location of the motel.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2006

Cost $50/weekday $55/weekend. Floors need replaced or steam cleaned, they have high speed, but will only give you a cable with a $10 deposit. The shower curtain rod was about to fall down in my room. Continental breakfast isn't much-bagel,muffin,oatmeal, or cereal. Recommend the Quality Inn instead, you get a voucher for Perkins which is attached to the hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2006

Newly ranovation saved this older hotel. Nicely decorated but the doors and exterior still in need of repair. Nice but would not pay full price, used a discount. Not a lot of options in the area unless you want to stay in a motel.

  • Liked — Very Clean
  • Disliked — Old looking from the outside
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Ashland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Ashland

Address: 806 England Street, I-95 and Rt 54, Ashland, VA 23005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Ashland 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Days Inn Ashland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Ashland Hotel Ashland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Ashland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.