We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Would Stay Here Again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Hanover

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites Hanover to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites Hanover
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11600 Lakeridge Parkway, Ashland, VA 23005   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Ashland
Lancaster County, PA
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“We Would Stay Here Again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This Country Inns and Suites in Hanover was a one-night I-95 overnight stop. It was opened in the summer of 2012 and is still very fresh and new looking. The bedding is super comfortable. The rooms are a good size with modern baths, and the large flat screen TVs are nice. Having a microwave and refrigerator in the room is very convenient.

The staff is especially helpful and friendly. Dave at the front desk and Marsha who is in charge of the breakfast room were both delightful. Marsha is a charming lady who dispenses hugs as well as managing the breakfast offerings. What a nice way to start the day! Even a room attendant that we passed in the hall was cheery and greeted us with a happy smile and a “good morning.”

For us there were just a few minor negatives. The hotel is in an area that does not have a lot of restaurants or stores. However, there is a pretty good Fish Company restaurant located in a Bass Pro Shop nearby. We enjoyed our casual meal there and loved looking around the shop afterwards. Quite a different, fun experience!

Another small negative is that the HVAC system is unpredictable. We needed to set the temperature in our room at about 80 to have it warm and comfortable.

Also, initially I had a hard time connecting to the internet. (When traveling I have never before had this problem with my laptop.) After a call to their provider, the" access point" was reset and this seemed to fix the problem.

In spite of these very small inconveniences, we would definitely recommend this hotel as a good stopover when traveling I-95.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    26
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
64
37
12
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We stopped here on our way back up to Jersey from Charleston. We choose this Country Inn based on the overwhelmingly positive reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. The indoor pool was perfect for the kids to release their energy after being pent up in the car all day. The hot tub was the perfect temperature for the adults after driving all day. The hot breakfast was just what we needed before heading back on the road. The room was very clean. My only complaint is that the wifi was very weak. It was ok for retrieving email but couldn't get netflix or even facebook, but it was free. Overall, it was a great value. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boones Mill, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The good things started at check in with a friendly and prompt Lisa Crawford. The room was spotless and the bed slept excellent, but why not, with six pillows. I had a relaxing time in the pool and whirlpool which had perfect temps. I was checked on by Nilan Patel and Taworia Davis who were very interested if I was enjoying my stay. The breakfast the next morning was excellent and I'm glad to say I received a hug from Alison Coleman to help me on my way. Overall, I would say this hotel would be an excellent choice for anyone in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington,NJ
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
279 helpful votes 279 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This Manager made a verbal promise to give us a room for $84. The hotel is new and fairly empty so she does need the business. On the internet, as with many other hotels, the price said more. Since she verbally told me a rate, I agreed to stay there! Beware, we got conned. There are plenty of other hotels to stay at but I have never been swindled by the verbal con and it was pure and simple "a Con". Other hotels that I've called to get the best price who need business have honored what they say. This person did not and would not after speaking to her. Beware of the verbal "switch and bait". She needs the business and should give everyone a good rate, especially when you tell her that she said one price. She quoted "internet" prices after refusing to give the credit due. We will be reporting her also to our Credit Card company because we travel a lot as you can see by my extensive contributions and she purposely did Nothing because she wanted the extra money and knew we were not local. She doesn't understand that most people are traveling through and Yes, they talk. I was extremely disappointed in how she handle this and did nothing for her customer. She's only interested in your money, not customer satisfaction. We stay at many hotels and when they give us a good price, they stand by it. She acted like we wanted a different room and I could tell she was "trying" to portray a misunderstanding. There was no misunderstanding. I will never stay here again. They know we are calling and looking at many options, not just one! She failed miserably even after my call to correct her overcharge. The Head Office is going to hear about it next, as is my credit card. We left very displeased with the "solution", which was to screw us out of $30. I won't be back and it's a shame. The place was clean.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnAshland, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Hanover, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest NatureFreak

Thank you for taking the time to post your reviews of my hotel. As explained your reservation was made for a Standard King upon arrival you requested to upgrade/move to a Suite with Two Queen Beds as you now had three children traveling with you- for this room type there is an additional fee. We have by no means scammed you out of your money but simply provided the accommodations required at a rate set in advance which was explained to you. Please be advised that is certainly not our policy to pull any type of "switch and bait" on any of our guests. Thank you for your business and we look forward to accommodating you if ever in the Ashland, VA area again.

Cordially,

GM
Country Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We left Charleston SC without a reservation expecting to stop along the way when we felt we could not travel further. We landed at the doorstep of the Country Inn and asked for a room. We got one for $84. Rather empty hotel. Restaurants were a drive away for dinner. The price however was right, the bed was large and comfortable, WIFI was free. The breakfast was made exceptional by the wonderful attendant who insisted on a morning hug and exuded happiness. Great way to start the day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We travel every year from Syracuse to Myrtle Beach for two weeks. There are 4 adults and 2 children in our group. Virginia has always been a great half way point for us to stop. This is the first time we had stayed at this hotel and we were SO happy that we did. It was clean and check in was very fast. The staff was extremely friendly and we especially loved Miss Marcia and her hugs in the morning. The staff really made us feel like family. The location was easy on and easy off of 95. The hotel is also located within walking distance of an awesome Bass Pro Shops. We will definitely be staying here again and highly recommend this hotel to everyone.
The pool and work out area were very nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnAshland, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Hanover, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Amy A.,

Thank you for choosing Country Inn & Suites of Hanover on your annual trip to Myrtle Beach. I am certainly happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and were treated to a morning hug from Ms Marsha. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again on your next rip to SC.

Thanks,

GM
Country Inn & Suites
Ashland/Hanover, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stopped at Country Inn and Suites as a halfway point on a trip to the Outer Banks from Pennsylvania on a Friday night. I am a fan of the chain, but this one was exceptional. Extremely clean and the staff was ultra friendly. In the morning at breakfast a woman came around to each table — Marsha I believe her name was — and hugged everyone because she said, "every day should begin with a hug." The food was hot and eggs even tasted like "real" eggs. Next door was a Bass Pro Shop with a wonderful Fish Company restaurant that we ate at. Again food and service were exceptional. It is right off I-95, but not at a major exit so it is a little remote, but we will plan to stay there again. Plus we are Club Carlson member and got a king room for only $55 and some points! Great Job Country Inn & Suites.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnAshland, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Hanover, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest loose cannons,

Ms. Marsha's hugs are certainly are great way to start the day..so happy to get one every morning from her. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here in Hanover. We certainly appreciate your business and hope to see you again when passing through the central VA area.

Cordially,

GM
Country Inn & Suites
Ashland/Hanover, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites Hanover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Hanover

Address: 11600 Lakeridge Parkway, Ashland, VA 23005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Hanover 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NOW OPEN!!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Carlson, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Hanover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Hanover, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.