We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel - Would stay again.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Richmond - North / Ashland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Richmond - North / Ashland to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Richmond - North / Ashland
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   705 England St, Ashland, VA 23005   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Ashland
Bessemer, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel - Would stay again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

We stopped at the Hampton in Ashland on our way to the Outer Banks. I reserved a room based on other positive reviews of this hotel. We were not disappointed. Very close to I95. The beds were very comfortable. Everything felt clean. The room was quiet even though we were fairly close to an elevator. We enjoyed the outdoor pool as it was about 100 degrees the day we stopped there. We did have the complimentary breakfast the next morning, and it was pretty good as they offered things like sausage and waffles in addition to the usual fare of cereal and danishes. This was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    60
    12
    6
    5
See reviews for
87
60
12
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CT
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

We did not have reservations, but were able to check-in quickly to a beautiful room. Reception person was great, friendly, helpful - recommended an excellent Mexican restaurant across the street to eat supper at. We LOVE the beds at Hampton Inns - they are the most comfortable!! We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

This was Hampton Inn #2 of our journey to Florida. A 2 night stay in Ashland booked under the "Great Getaway" promotion which meant a great rate. It was located in a very convenient location south of DC but just a touch north of Richmond, VA. Close to Kings Dominion theme park, which is why we stayed here. Also just 20 minutes from the Science Museum of Virginia and The Short Pump Town Centre. We visited both. Short Pump Town Centre is a fantastic mall, with some high end stores. Ashland itself was very basic, but had many restaurants and minor shopping options. Staff was nice, not as amazing as the staff at the Hampton in Hanover, PA, but still friendly and helpful. Hotel and rooms were clean and seemed to have had some upgrades recently. A nice pool to cool off in, great for the little ones. My only real issue was the noisy hallways late at night. The room doors were very heavy and slammed really loudly when closed. I was awoken more than once during the night. All in all a good stay at a great option for those travelling down HWY 95

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

The Hampton Inn Richmond North / Ashland is exactly what Hampton Inns are supposed to be. The room was fresh and relaxing - SUPER CLEAN, with extremely comfortable beds, and crisply laundered linens - and very quiet. (I cannot remember ever having slept so well in an overnight hotel.) Our all-important wireless internet worked flawlessly. Breakfast was good; coffee was great. Staff were efficient and friendly. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor City, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

After 12 hours on the road from Ga. I told my nephew the next that states there is a Hampton we are stopping. The next exit was Ashland Va on I 95.

I am glad I choose Hampton. We have used them before in the past. The staff and room were great. The breakfast and traffic advice were great also.

My suggestion to any traveler looing for a one night stop or more. They should use the Hampton Inns.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC Metro Area
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

When arrived but the hotel couldn't find my reservation. I couldn't find my confirmation number. The front office staff went the extra mile to call other possible Hampton Inns to make sure I didn't get billed for a no-show. The result: somehow my reservation was for Ashland (KY) not Ashland (VA). The hotel is fine, access to I-95 is great, but the staff made this memorable. Stay here if you're looking for a good spot on I-95 -- but double check to make sure that they book you in Virginia, not Kentucky by mistake.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

We stayed one night at this hotel while traveling. It is conveniently located off I-95. Our king room was clean and nicely appointed with a very comfortable bed. The front desk employee was very friendly and check in was a breeze. The continental breakfast offered the usual fare of coffee, juice, muffins, cereal, and fruit; however, the attendant who was working the breakfast area was wonderful and kept the food areas and tables very clean and made sure all food items were quickly refilled.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Richmond - North / Ashland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Richmond - North / Ashland

Address: 705 England St, Ashland, VA 23005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Richmond - North / Ashland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award-Winning Hampton Inn Ashland is 5 minutes south of Kings Dominion & 0.5 miles from Randolph Macon College. We are located 22 miles from Richmond International Airport & 14 miles from Richmond International Raceway. We are near a variety of restaurants such as Ironhorse & Cracker Barrel.All rooms have Cloud Nine Bedding, 37” flat screen televisions, complimentary wired & wireless internet, microwaves & mini refrigerators, irons/ironing boards, hairdryer, & coffee maker. We also have an on-site fitness center. Deluxe Hot Breakfast Bar served daily 6am-10am. Guest laundry room and valet laundry service available.Our hotel offers an outdoor, heated, salt water pool. The business center is open 24 hrs & includes a printer/scanner & wireless internet. The fitness center has advanced cardio equipment such as an elliptical machine, a treadmill and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Richmond - North / Ashland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Richmond North / Ashland Hotel Ashland
Hampton Inn Ashland
Ashland Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Richmond - North / Ashland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.