We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roaches, room temperature hard to regulate and scratchy linens.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Ashland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Ashland to your Saves list
Motel 6 Ashland
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   101 North Cottage Green Dr., Ashland, VA 23005 (Formerly Capital Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Ashland
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Roaches, room temperature hard to regulate and scratchy linens.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

German roaches! The motel was old and worn out. It was difficult to regulate the room temperature using the AC. the pillows were old and yellowed. The sheets and blankets were scratchy. The TV was really old and there was no HBO as advertised on the website. The front desk did not have a plastic fork or spoon. I heard strange scratching noises inside the wall too. Eww!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    2
    6
    9
See reviews for
5
4
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, NM
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed one night after making a phone reservation earlier in the day. The desk clerk (same person on the phone) was efficient and courteous. The motel is located in a safe area and appears to be a newer model. Room was neat and clean, shower OK, decent beds. Free WIFI and a much better TV than other Motel 6's (and other hotels) we have stayed at on this trip. All in all, we can recommend this Motel 6 as a good bargain and a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed at this hotel as an overnight stay in a long car trip. It's located close to other hotels, but this one had the right price and it was open at the time I needed it (11:30 pm). Staff was friendly. The room was clean and included amenities that other more expensive hotels don't - free HBO and WiFi. Easy access to 1-95, shopping and dining.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night. I checked in around 1100pm. It's a basic motor inn. I agree with other reviewers. I was pleasantly surprized. It was a nice clean room with a decent tv. I checked out at 800 am so all I wanted was a basic clean room for a decent price. All things considered, very happy. Easy access to I-95.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

At 4 o'clock in the morning, we decided we had to stop for a power nap after driving for 9 hours and with 11 ahead of us till our destination. So we got off at the next exit and stopped at motel 6. The room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. The only thing is that for the 50 something we paid we had no shower stuff like shampoo, body wash and such. We also requested a wake up call at 10:30 so we could check out before 11 and get on the road which we didn't get. Luckily we woke up at around 10:50, grabbed breakfast at one of near restaurants and got back on the road. The bed was very comfy and we slept very well, therefore got back on the road well rested.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This hotel is a bit old, but the rooms are clean and the staff were friendly and efficient. The price was great and as another reviewer commented, the hotel is very close to restaurants and shopping. A big plus is that it is dog friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

During 2012 I've spent many nights here while my home was being renovated. The staff is friendly and helpful. This is a well maintained older property in a terrific location. Within walking distance there are a number of restaurants, several grocery stores, drug stores, and a Hallmark card shop. Ashland is a lovely and safe small town.

Room Tip: Inside rooms around the pool are more quiet that rooms facing the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Ashland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Ashland

Address: 101 North Cottage Green Dr., Ashland, VA 23005 (Formerly Capital Hotel)
Location: United States > Virginia > Ashland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Ashland 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're on a business trip or vacation, Capital Hotel is the quality choice in lodging. As our guest you'll enjoy all the amenities of a modern hotel: from comfortably appointed rooms to our always attentive service team. Enjoy complimentary WIFI and our spacious courtyard with outdoor seasonal pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Motel 6 Ashland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashland Motel 6
Ashland Motel Six
Motel Six Ashland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Ashland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.