We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now a Greek restaurant...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nick's Taverna

Nick's Taverna
42395 Ryan Road Rd, Ste 130, Ashburn, VA 20148
703-327-7844
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 152 Restaurants in Ashburn
Cuisines: Greek, Lebanese, Mediterranean, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Nick first opened its doors in March 2007 with owners, Nick Samiotis and his daughter, Eviania Davey, who are no strangers to the restaurant industry. Nick has been a restauranteur for over 35 years, owning and operating multiple restaurants throughout the Northern Virginia region. Eviania grew up in the family restaurants, understanding the business from the bottom up. In July of 2012, Nick and Eviania decided that the Brambleton area, in which Nick's Corner Grill is located, needed something differnet. They decided to close the restaurant for three week, in order to start theses changes. With a completely new cuisine, decor and atmosphere, Nick and Eviania created and re-opened a restaurant that was authentic to Nick's homeland of Greece. Since re-opening, Nick and Eviania couldn't be more happier with the tremendous support and feedback and would like everyone to feel as though their "home" is the customer's home as well.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Now a Greek restaurant...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I tried Nick's when is first opened and wanted to give it a second chance. I was surprised to see that it is now a Greek restaurant. I went for an early lunch on a Friday. It was very quiet. The menu looked interesting. There was a good vegetarian selection for my friend which was nice. My lunch was okay. She really enjoyed hers. I'll have to give it another chance.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    12
    9
    5
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
herndon, virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Awesome Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Recently gone Mediterranean, thank God for the upgrade! I go once a week or order take out to knock out my current Mousaka phase; it is so good. Healthy and tasty, friendly servers, decent environment, and a great place for large groups. Or, like me, line up at the cool bar and catch a game and drinks with their mixed mezze platter that shows off their yummy basics. There is a super hot tall brunette bartender to watch during commercials if you're into that.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“New menu, new look, much better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We went to Nick's several times in the past and always thought that they were an ok everyday restaurant. The food wasn't bad, they had a good selection of beer, and the wait staff did well. Then we heard that they changed up everything and turned the place into a Mediterranean restaurant that was very good. The word on the street for the new Nick's was right, the place is really good.
We were seated and got our drink orders in and shortly after were given a complimentary bowl of homemade hummus and pita that was very good. We ordered some Dolmades (stuffed grape leaves) for an appetizer that were also very good. For our main course we got Chicken Shawarma and the Mediterranean Chicken and a kids pasta, all of which were spiced nicely and done very well. I really can't think of anything that was negative. We'll definitely recommend it to others and will go back. They are a nice addition to our area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by its cover.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

I never went into this place when it was a karaoke-ish sports bar. But I was just told that the Greek owners change the menu and let me tell you the hummus, tabbouleh, saganaki and dolmas were excellent. Truly authentic Greek food in Brambleton!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Agree the food and service needs help”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

It is bad first time experiences like ours that minimize the desire to try new independent restaurants in Loudoun county. Makes you wonder why there is an abundance of fast food chains in one of the wealthiest areas in the US.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nick's Taverna also viewed

Ashburn, Loudoun County
Ashburn, Loudoun County
 
Ashburn, Loudoun County
Ashburn, Loudoun County
 

Been to Nick's Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nick's Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;