We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food, but OK for a veg-eating desi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Banjara Indian Cuisine

Banjara Indian Cuisine
44050 Ashburn Shopping Plz, Ashburn, VA 20147-7915
703-723-0040
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 157 Restaurants in Ashburn
Cuisines: Indian, Middle Eastern, Pakistani
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Average food, but OK for a veg-eating desi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My colleague and I went to Banjara for dinner while staying at Leesburg for a conference. Being veggies, we lapped up the chance to get some desi food. The place s large and decent. The service is pretty good. The food portions are quite big.

The food itself was pretty average I think. We ordered aloo and chana masala and both tasted pretty much the same (they didn't tell us that the gravy would be identical). The rotis were huge in size and we couldn't finish what we had ordered.

Overall, an average place. But if you want desi food and are stuck somewhere in the Leesburg area, its an option you can try.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    12
    5
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
97 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Poor consistency and lack of flavor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We've visited Banjara ever since it opened. The first few years were excellent...very good food and service.
Things started to slide a few years ago, and we haven't been for a while.
So, we decided to give it another try.
Major disappointment. The chicken tikka masala is bland and lacking any real authentic curry flavor. The fish curry was not much better.
Not bad food, just bland, and for the $, I expect flavor.
It's sad, since it used to be really good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Indian in Ashburn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Wonderful food, and we rely on the servers to help us decide what to order.. Always great advice! The staff is wonderful, very relaxed and helpful. They are wonderful with kids here too, they are not going to rush you through your meal, but food comes out fast and hot. We love this place and enjoy our experiences here - eating in and doing takeout....

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sucks big time at dinner time.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Don't even bother. Very, very, very slow service and the food wasn't even good. Zero rating for me here. Sorry.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

The food was great, but service was a little slow.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banjara Indian Cuisine also viewed

Ashburn, Loudoun County
 
Ashburn, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Banjara Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banjara Indian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.