We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two in One Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Dulles - North / Loudoun, VA

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites Dulles - North / Loudoun, VA to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites Dulles - North / Loudoun, VA
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44620 Waxpool Road, Ashburn, VA 20147   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Ashburn
Dallas Tx
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Two in One Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Yes, we stayed at the Homewood Suites, but connected to it was an Embassy Suites. One had an outdoor pool and the other an indoor. There were other things they shared, but we did not spend a lot of time at the hotel.

The time we did spend was sleeping and breakfast. The hotel was not full and they did a good job of spreading out the guest so they would not disturb each other. The breakfast was good but not fantastic. We did have supper one night and they had ordered from the local Italian place and it was very good. We did see a lot of dogs staying there, but they did not disturb us.

The front desk was helpful. My husband had business meetings all day and so I was left to my own devices. They helped me figure out how to get to the bus so that I could get to DC and enjoy sight seeing. I also saw them helping other guests with issues they were having.

Very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: This hotel does accept dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkuglitsch, General Manager at Homewood Suites Dulles - North / Loudoun, VA, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Dear Guest

On behalf of the entire team at the Homewood Suites Ashburn, I would like to thank you for staying at our hotel. I'm glad that your stay was delightful and that you had such a great experience with our front desk personel. We hope that you will return again when next business or leisure brings you to the Ashburn area. We value your business and promise that we will never take it for granted. If there is anything that we could have done to make your stay better, kindly let me know. Also, I would like to "Thank You" for your great comments made through Trip Advisor!
If I can assist with anything before or during your next visit, kindly give me a call. Thank you so much .

Sincerely,

Luis Kuglitsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    35
    11
    9
    4
See reviews for
63
8
11
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Getting away from the coast, we moved inland away from Irene. I needed a hotel that would take my dog and this Homewood did just that, only for a $20 fee. If you've traveled with pets before, you already know how $20 is a steal.

Our stay was uneventful, except for a fire alarm in the early evening that was due to some teenagers playing with the smoke detector in their room. That was quickly resolved and my daughter got to see a fire truck! So she thought it was pretty fun and it made her night.

The room was not overly spacious, but it still was a one bedroom suite with two queen beds. We did not have to ask twice for the crib in the room, as it was here when we arrived. I don't know how many times we stay at hotels, request a crib, and then repeatedly request the crib until it finally shows. The bed was a little soft for me, so I had to pull out the sofa bed in the living room. A little lumpy, but I slept then.

We had dinner at the restaurant at the Embassy Suites next door to the Homewood. Great burgers! It is not actually a restaurant as you'd expect, but more of an extension of the breakfast nook, that oh by the way, serves dinner from a menu. We expected to find a traditional restaurant and scratched our heads as we were directed to the closed breakfast buffet area. The staff was wonderful.

The pool was small, but heated. When we arrived at the pool, we had it all to ourselves. Eventually a group of two adults and 8 children arrived. That drove us from the waters as they completely took over and created a total nightmare. There were screaming kids everywhere in such a small area.

All in all, a good stay during an emergency and the staff was very nice to work with. If ever in this area again, we'd stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Ontario
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Our family of 6 was very comfortable in our spacious, two room suite with kitchenette. As requested in advanced, a crib (pack 'n' play) was set up for the baby, and the sofa bed was pulled out and made. The room was impeccably clean. The only complaint I have is that the bed I slept in was unfortunately just beneath the air conditioning vent. Throughout the night I was periodically awakened by a blast of cool air. This wouldn't prevent me from staying at this hotel again though if the need arose. The staff was friendly and attentive. The breakfast was good. In addition to cereals, pastries, and seasonal fruit, there were hot items: bacon, scrambled eggs, pancakes, French toast, hashbrowns. Off the breakfast area there is an outdoor pool; there is also an indoor pool at the adjoining Embassy Suites which guests of both hotels share. In the same plaza there are some fast food restaurants: Mexican food and a burger joint. The Ashburn area is lovely. We attended the nearby beautiful St. Theresa's Chuch which appears to have a devout and vibrant congregation. Historic Leesburg is minutes away. And there is an outlet mall there. It took us about 45 minutes to get into DC with traffic due to construction. The best rate I found was the advanced rate through the hotel website (you need to book at least a week ahead).

Room Tip: advanced rate through hotel site
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011 via mobile

I stayed there for 5 days and the service was extraordinary. The stuff was very nice and caring. The rooms are very spacious and clean. It feels like arriving home.
I really enjoyed my stay there so next time I'm around that area I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011 via mobile

I loved staying at the Homewood suites. The personnel are absolutely so professional and very courteous. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. I definitely recommend staying there.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

We loved this hotel, everything was perfect. Check in was quick, and finding the hotel was not a problem. The room was very nice, it was a two bedroom two bathroom suite, so it was pretty big. Everything was very clean in the room, and the furniture was maintained very well. The TV's were not new, but still gave a nice picture. Everything worked well, and the room was quite comfy. The hallways were well-lit and clean also.

As for the two pools, we used both. I went every single night for four nights and loved it. When it was a nice night, I would go outside and swim a bit then go to the Embassy indoor pool until it closed at 10. They were very clean, and the hot tub was relaxing. Homewood Suites guests are entitled to the Embassy Pool, it's actually encouraged. You can go to the main desk at the Embassy, show your Homewood Card and they give you a temporary pass.

Breakfast was also good, French Toast one day, Pancakes another, and Waffles twice. Everything was warm and replaced very promptly. There was a lot to choose from, eggs every day, potatoes, cereal, yogurt, breads, muffins, fruit, doughnuts, and more. We stayed from a Friday to Tuesday so we had their light dinner Monday night and loved it. You can easily call it a full meal. That day there was Macaroni and Cheese (which surprisingly we LOVED), green beens, salad, and chicken. Also drinks too.

Location wise, there are now restaurants nearby and in walking distance. Walking distance is Moe's and 5 Guys Burgers. It's very hard though, to be a DC tourist from here. This hotel is perfect for the area and staying at the airport, but going into DC is quite the trip. To the nearest Metro is about 25 - 40 minutes without traffic, and you have to wait for a train and a long ride into DC. Basically, on the Metro it's easily and hour to get in, and an hour to get to the hotel. Also, is it me or are Norther Virginia Streets very difficult to follow? Everything by the hotel are routes and highways, or unpaved roads. I found it very hard to find what I needed in Norther VA, but that's not really the hotels fault.

The only things I did not like were, since it was a two bedroom room, the two safes in the closets did not work. One was locked when we got there and the other had a "low battery" so it would not lock. I found it odd that Both safes did not work. The other is that I questioned how sanitary the plates, dishes, bowls, and silverware the hotel provided us with. They were very spotty, and one time we came into our room while house keeping was cleaning and they stopped the dishwasher halfway through the cycle. I used my own plates and silverware just to be safe.

Other than those things, our stay was great, it was a true value for $620 for 4 nights in a two bedroom two bathroom room in the DC area. I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

Just stayed here for a trip into DC. A 30 minute drive if no traffic.
Very clean, and nice suites.
Nice location, indoor pool (shared with Embassy Suites next door), and very good hot breakfast.
The staff could have been friendlier however. The lady who checked us in was nice but no one went out of there way to say hi etc. When checking out, the man sat on his stool and asked room number and said okay. No thanks for staying, how were things, etc. Its not a big deal but these little things are what set this hotel from others like the residence inn down the street.
Only other minor complaint was no coffee in lobby 24 hours a day like most hotels.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homewood Suites Dulles - North / Loudoun, VA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Dulles - North / Loudoun, VA

Address: 44620 Waxpool Road, Ashburn, VA 20147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Ashburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ashburn
#2 Family Hotel in Ashburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Dulles - North / Loudoun, VA 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our extended stay Dulles Airport hotel is designed to make you comfortable, whether you're traveling for a few nights or longer. Our accommodations near Dulles Airport feature spacious studio, one- and/or two-bedroom suites feature separate living and sleeping areas. Each has a fully-equipped kitchen with full-size refrigerator, microwave, 2-burner stove and dishwasher. You'll find enough space for work, study or entertaining - plus all the comforts of home including two remote control TVs, complimentary high speed internet access, and two phones with voice mail. Enjoy a complimentary Suite Start™ hot breakfast seven days a week and a Welcome Home® Reception featuring a complimentary light meal and beverages Monday through Thursday evenings (local laws apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Homewood Suites Dulles - North / Loudoun, VA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Dulles - North / Loudoun, Va Hotel Ashburn
Homewood Dulles
Dulles Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Dulles - North / Loudoun, VA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.