We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience, bad food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alamo Cinema Drafthouse

Alamo Cinema Drafthouse
20575 East Hampton Plaza, Ashburn, VA 20147
571-293-6808
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Ashburn
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Herndon, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great experience, bad food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I absolutely love the Alamo because of it's atmosphere. I have been there several times. I do not recommend eating there though. I recommend to have a drink and getting popcorn. I love the fact that they serve the popcorn in a homestyle bowl. I am only able to give average for the poor food selection and taste. I recommend it for the experience though.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    48
    16
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best movie theater!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

After moving back home from Texas the biggest thing I missed was The Alamo Drafthouse. I was thrilled when one opened in Ashburn. Its still a 2 hour drive for us but we make a point to go at least twice a year! No stupid commercials, great pre-shows that cater to the movie you are seeing. Food and drinks are great too!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Megan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nothing great as a movie theater, awful food smell”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The movie theater is just average, nothing wrong with it, but nothing to write home about. What really turned us off is the food smell. I guess we would prefer if movie theaters, which are enclosed spaces, would stick to the standard fare: popcorn, hotdogs, nachos, chocolate. Having a more diverse and spicier menu may be attractive for some, but for us, the combination of smells was just unbearable, and it really took away from the movie experience.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Platypus2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
222 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Very fun and good food too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This drafthouse was very nice and clean the food was good I had a burger and there is a very extensive menu to chose from.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MrMouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing first visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We were (3) so looking forward to having a good time!
First, I ordered online 3 seats fourth row back in the center. What we got was end of the first row, and the manager said the place was sold out. So there was no changing our seats. Well if that was true then approx 30 people were no shows.
Second, turkey burger tasted so nasty it was returned, and the popcorn was cold, tasting a bit stale!
Good ice tea though! After spending $11.50 per ticket +over $40 bucks on food I should be writing a great review!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joyceann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alamo Cinema Drafthouse also viewed

Ashburn, Loudoun County
Ashburn, Loudoun County
 
Ashburn, Loudoun County
 

Been to Alamo Cinema Drafthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing