We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great idea and really good food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alamo Cinema Drafthouse

Alamo Cinema Drafthouse
20575 East Hampton Plaza, Ashburn, VA 20147
571-293-6808
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 12 Attractions in Ashburn
Attraction Details
northern virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great idea and really good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

It's a movie theater with a full menu of tasty food AND a full bar! This place is great. The seats are comfy, the food is surprisingly good and the mojitos are fantastic. Our server, Matt, was very friendly, fast and knowledgable. We will definitely be back. They have theme nights too...I see an Animal House toga party on their calendar next week!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    26
    10
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“4k Digital films and great local beer selection served to your seat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

The films are in 4k. Large beer selection that is served to you in your seat. Decent American style food.
The seating are assigned and you pay at about 30min left of the movie.
The pizza wasn't bad and was a large portion. I could only eat half of it. This is my new favorite way to see a movie.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STERLING
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fun at the Alamo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We rarely go to the movies, but if I'm gonna go, then this is the most fun way. We would spend about the same amount or more doing dinner and a movie, but here, you can do dinner with the movie! The service is great, the food was yummy. We sat in the bar before our show and had a glass of wine - very nice! This was my second time, and the first was just as fun, only that time it was snacks and a movie - the bottomless bowl of popcorn and drinks. The theater chairs are comfortable, nice screen and sound, and spacious! We had to sit in the very front row the first time I went and it was fine, although I do admit I like sitting further back better. Fun place!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“New Favorite Movie Theatre!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This place is the best. You get comfy seats with a great view, and seatside service that is friendly, fast, and unobtrusive. The popcorn is freshly popped and served in a bowl with butter, just like being at home. The food is decent, and being able to have champagne with your popcorn? Absurdly awesome. The stuff they run before the movie is a little weird, but let's call it "quirky". Love, love, love this theatre.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Movie and a meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Have made it to Alamo four times now. Theaters are small which is nice and sound and picture are very good. Great to watch a movie. Food is really good but it does take longer to get my food than i would like (particularly for popcorn and soda). Popcorn made with real butter and they give it to you in a metal bowl with free refills (although with the speed of the wait staff, I'd be surprised if you could get more than one refill unless it was a really long movie). Great craft beer selection at a DC price. Expect to pay about $6 for a pint. I have not made it to one of their specialty nights but it seems as though they are really trying to excite people in wanting to come to a movie and making it a complete experience. Worth a visit. Can't wait for the holidays and their Elf quote-along!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alamo Cinema Drafthouse also viewed

Ashburn, Loudoun County
Dulles, Loudoun County
 
Ashburn, Loudoun County
Ashburn, Loudoun County
 

Been to Alamo Cinema Drafthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alamo Cinema Drafthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.