We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun at the Alamo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alamo Cinema Drafthouse

Alamo Cinema Drafthouse
20575 East Hampton Plaza, Ashburn, VA 20147
571-293-6808
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 12 Attractions in Ashburn
Type: Amusement
Attraction details
STERLING
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fun at the Alamo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We rarely go to the movies, but if I'm gonna go, then this is the most fun way. We would spend about the same amount or more doing dinner and a movie, but here, you can do dinner with the movie! The service is great, the food was yummy. We sat in the bar before our show and had a glass of wine - very nice! This was my second time, and the first was just as fun, only that time it was snacks and a movie - the bottomless bowl of popcorn and drinks. The theater chairs are comfortable, nice screen and sound, and spacious! We had to sit in the very front row the first time I went and it was fine, although I do admit I like sitting further back better. Fun place!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    28
    12
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“New Favorite Movie Theatre!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This place is the best. You get comfy seats with a great view, and seatside service that is friendly, fast, and unobtrusive. The popcorn is freshly popped and served in a bowl with butter, just like being at home. The food is decent, and being able to have champagne with your popcorn? Absurdly awesome. The stuff they run before the movie is a little weird, but let's call it "quirky". Love, love, love this theatre.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Movie and a meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Have made it to Alamo four times now. Theaters are small which is nice and sound and picture are very good. Great to watch a movie. Food is really good but it does take longer to get my food than i would like (particularly for popcorn and soda). Popcorn made with real butter and they give it to you in a metal bowl with free refills (although with the speed of the wait staff, I'd be surprised if you could get more than one refill unless it was a really long movie). Great craft beer selection at a DC price. Expect to pay about $6 for a pint. I have not made it to one of their specialty nights but it seems as though they are really trying to excite people in wanting to come to a movie and making it a complete experience. Worth a visit. Can't wait for the holidays and their Elf quote-along!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great place to watch a movie and eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The food is good, the theaters are not too crowded and it's reasonably priced. The service is sometimes iffy, but on the whole it is a great place. It of course has stadium seating, and even when the waiters and waitresses are serving, you can still see the movie. I've been there several times when the service was fantastic, but I've also been there when they have delivered the wrong food to the wrong people. If you're the recipient of something you didn't order, your attention is taken away from the movie while trying to flag down a waiter/waitress to correct the mistake. And I don't like it if my food is delivered to someone else, and then given to me.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The way to see a movie!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Saw The Heat at The Alamo and was impressed. Ticket prices were in line with other theaters, but found refreshments to be a better deal! A bottomless bowl of popcorn, topped with REAL butter, was only $6 and unlimited soft drinks, only $4. There were no objections to sharing the bowl of popcorn and getting it warm, even warmer on a refill was great. Once again, there is a real difference in popcorn with REAL butter versus the "butter"/oil used in most theaters. Yes, you have to tip the servers but not having to juggle your snacks while trying to make your way to a seat made it well worth it. Reserved seating is also a plus. Seats were comfortable and easy to access. Viewing and sound were both good. Overall, I really enjoyed the experience and look forward to going back. A final comment is that since the popcorn and soft drinks were not served in paper containers, but rather containers that are washed and used again, it is better for the environment!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alamo Cinema Drafthouse also viewed

Ashburn, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Alamo Cinema Drafthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alamo Cinema Drafthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.