We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK, arguably overrated.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alamo Cinema Drafthouse

Alamo Cinema Drafthouse
20575 East Hampton Plaza, Ashburn, VA 20147
571-293-6808
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 12 attractions in Ashburn
Attraction Details
Centreville, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just OK, arguably overrated.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Alamo is the new novelty in northern VA, so naturally I felt like I had to check it out. It was kind of a pain to get tickets and the food was just OK. Not only that but I felt bad for the poor waiters and waitresses that crawl on their knees during the movie...

My husband and I saw the Great Gatsby here a few months ago. We decided to check it out a few hours before the show and wanted to order tickets online. Alamo is one of those places that if you want good seats, you need to plan ahead and order ASAP. Seat choices were pretty limited at that point and we sat in the front row (not my favorite place to be).

The theater itself is brand new, so it looked really nice and was clean. The waiter we had was really nice and was happy to explain how everything there worked (FYI: once the movie starts if you want to order food you write notes back and forth to your waiter that walks over on his/her knees not to disturb the movie goers, about 30 minutes before the movie ends they bring you the check for your food--pay cash or credit and when the lights come up you're free to go).

We ordered drinks from the bar, a chicken wrap and spinach artichoke dip--all just OK, think we spent about 40 bucks on food. Movie tickets we about 12 bucks a pop and this was an afternoon showing. There is an extra processing fee if you order your tickets through fandango like we did.

I'm sure we'll go there again one day--it's a neat concept, but overpriced and overrated.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    24
    9
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Virginia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great concept!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We love the reserved seating, intimate theatre and the full service concept! The food is decent, however, it's a little difficult to see what you're eating because it's dark. :) Love all the drafts available and the friendly staff! By the way, the cookies are to die for!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Comfortable way to watch a movie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

It was our first visit last night. We were celebrating our anniversary and decided to take in a movie after our dinner. If we had known we could have come to Alamo and had both. There is a lounge for before and after the movies and you can order food and drinks from your seat in the movie. The food smelled good but we were already full so we will write another review after we eat there. They have assigned seats in the theatre. I think we actually sat in the wrong seats but the show was not near full so it did not matter. Big screen and big comfy chairs, we enjoyed our show.

Visited July 2013

Review collected in partnership with Watchb4go.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln Park, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Concept Needs Improving”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is a great concept to eat and drink while watching a movie. However, they need to improve their efficiency and process of taking and delivering rods. We were 5 on one bill and only received 4 sandwiches. They should take advantage of iPad type order taking to get info to the kitchen faster. Beer selection was big but not descriptive and the server could not help.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S. expats
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Love it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I'm so glad the Alamo Cinema Drafthouse opened. It is a terrific concept combining food, movies, and a very strict no texting, no phones, no noise policy which will keep me coming back.

If you go, I would advise you to get there early, rather than late--seats are assigned, so that you party can sit and eat together. And order as soon as you can. We got our food while the pre-movie entertainment was being shown, so perfect for seeing and eating your food. Once the lights were dimmed for the feature, I could not see the food in front of me.

The food is pretty good. It's nice to be able to eat it in a movie theater. And the staff are very responsive, and quiet. We were aware--barely--of others ordering dessert/drinks in the theater, but they were brought in by staff who crouched down and seemed to glide noiselessly in. We checked our bill and paid after the feature was over.

Place is very clean, as well.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alamo Cinema Drafthouse also viewed

Ashburn, Loudoun County
Ashburn, Loudoun County
 
Dulles, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Alamo Cinema Drafthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alamo Cinema Drafthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Alamo Cinema Drafthouse to your Saves list