We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great concept!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alamo Cinema Drafthouse

Alamo Cinema Drafthouse
20575 East Hampton Plaza, Ashburn, VA 20147
571-293-6808
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 12 Attractions in Ashburn
Attraction Details
Sterling, Virginia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great concept!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We love the reserved seating, intimate theatre and the full service concept! The food is decent, however, it's a little difficult to see what you're eating because it's dark. :) Love all the drafts available and the friendly staff! By the way, the cookies are to die for!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    26
    10
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Comfortable way to watch a movie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

It was our first visit last night. We were celebrating our anniversary and decided to take in a movie after our dinner. If we had known we could have come to Alamo and had both. There is a lounge for before and after the movies and you can order food and drinks from your seat in the movie. The food smelled good but we were already full so we will write another review after we eat there. They have assigned seats in the theatre. I think we actually sat in the wrong seats but the show was not near full so it did not matter. Big screen and big comfy chairs, we enjoyed our show.

Visited July 2013

Review collected in partnership with Watchb4go.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln Park, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Concept Needs Improving”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is a great concept to eat and drink while watching a movie. However, they need to improve their efficiency and process of taking and delivering rods. We were 5 on one bill and only received 4 sandwiches. They should take advantage of iPad type order taking to get info to the kitchen faster. Beer selection was big but not descriptive and the server could not help.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S. expats
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Love it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I'm so glad the Alamo Cinema Drafthouse opened. It is a terrific concept combining food, movies, and a very strict no texting, no phones, no noise policy which will keep me coming back.

If you go, I would advise you to get there early, rather than late--seats are assigned, so that you party can sit and eat together. And order as soon as you can. We got our food while the pre-movie entertainment was being shown, so perfect for seeing and eating your food. Once the lights were dimmed for the feature, I could not see the food in front of me.

The food is pretty good. It's nice to be able to eat it in a movie theater. And the staff are very responsive, and quiet. We were aware--barely--of others ordering dessert/drinks in the theater, but they were brought in by staff who crouched down and seemed to glide noiselessly in. We checked our bill and paid after the feature was over.

Place is very clean, as well.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Great concept. More work to do.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We have had 2 visits so far. Both movies were not crowded. The first was 3 weeks ago and we ordered simple items such as popcorn and a coke. No problems although getting the bill and paying seemed to take some time. This weekend we went to see another movie and brought a guest to showcase the place. We ordered a complete dinner. A disaster. They got half wrong and one item that did not have the avocado in it when questioned, I was told it would cost me again to have it delivered. At the end, the screwed up the bills charging me for another customer and he me. They were only 6-8 people in the cinema hall. The reps were polite enough but totally disorganized and there seemed to be more employees than customers. Its expensive and if we are ordering from a restaurant and paying restaurant prices, we should have the food correct, delivered hot and receive and pay the correct bill. I won't bring any more friends until its a better experience.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alamo Cinema Drafthouse also viewed

Ashburn, Loudoun County
Dulles, Loudoun County
 
Ashburn, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Alamo Cinema Drafthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alamo Cinema Drafthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.