We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very hungry and thirsty late afternoon stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lost Rhino Brewing Company

Lost Rhino Brewing Company
21730 Red Rum Drive, Suite 142, Ashburn, VA
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #49 of 148 restaurants in Ashburn
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Very hungry and thirsty late afternoon stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We arrived in D.C., picked up a car, and began driving. Oh the driving. On and on it went, but we were hungry and thirsty. Found this listed on Yelp and followed their directions to get there. Never would have found it elsewise. But what a fine find! Very nice beer sampler; you get to pick your own choices. And tasty food, too. Perfect stop for us.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

58% Recommend
    6
    11
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great Beer---Too Crowded”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Few seats on a warm Sunday afternoon. The choices of beer and the parking was great. Picnic table seating and poor counter service and organization make this place more hassle than fun. Long lines and children running everywhere make this venue remind you of Chucky Cheese.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Minimalist brewery with good beer and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Communal tables and order at the bar service, great selection of apps and shared plates. Pretty in Pink was my fav beer... Most were subtle, medium body lager genre. Double check your GPS if you're using one--- it's in an obscure locale in an industrial park

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A bit bizarre for a brewery.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

I must admit, I'm not much of a craft beer drinker, despite having spent time as a bar manager and bartender. But, I am very familiar with Lost Rhino since I sold several of their brews at my bar. So, after being invited to join friends at the brewery, I agreed.

What a strange place. If it was strictly a brewery and gave tours, I'd see it. But to be a bar, it's strange. There is a kid's play area in the corner. It's just bizarre.

There is seating, but it is bench seating and it's limited and rather uncomfortable.
The place is filled with guys, as you'd expect.

Sure, the beer is good. I'll give them that. And the food that we had was decent. We had nachos. Hard to screw that up.

The whole place just seemed disjointed. From where it's located to having a kid's play area to the seating.... Just out of whack.

Keep working on the venue, Rhino. You have the beer just right. The place, not so much.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice hole in the wall!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

So this is a cool hole in the wall, but in the middle of an industrial park. The beer I'd good. You have to try them all to know which one you want. The only downside is they close early. Usually by 9pm. Food is OK the beer is better. Enjoy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lost Rhino Brewing Company also viewed

Ashburn, Loudoun County
Ashburn, Loudoun County
 

Been to Lost Rhino Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lost Rhino Brewing Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.