We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit bizarre for a brewery.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lost Rhino Brewing Company

Lost Rhino Brewing Company
21730 Red Rum Drive, Suite 142, Ashburn, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 149 restaurants in Ashburn
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A bit bizarre for a brewery.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

I must admit, I'm not much of a craft beer drinker, despite having spent time as a bar manager and bartender. But, I am very familiar with Lost Rhino since I sold several of their brews at my bar. So, after being invited to join friends at the brewery, I agreed.

What a strange place. If it was strictly a brewery and gave tours, I'd see it. But to be a bar, it's strange. There is a kid's play area in the corner. It's just bizarre.

There is seating, but it is bench seating and it's limited and rather uncomfortable.
The place is filled with guys, as you'd expect.

Sure, the beer is good. I'll give them that. And the food that we had was decent. We had nachos. Hard to screw that up.

The whole place just seemed disjointed. From where it's located to having a kid's play area to the seating.... Just out of whack.

Keep working on the venue, Rhino. You have the beer just right. The place, not so much.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

60% Recommend
    6
    12
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice hole in the wall!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

So this is a cool hole in the wall, but in the middle of an industrial park. The beer I'd good. You have to try them all to know which one you want. The only downside is they close early. Usually by 9pm. Food is OK the beer is better. Enjoy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Don't wast your time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

I went with my bf and his family of 4 because we had bought a groupon deal. HugE MisTAKE!!! The guy that was doing the tour said when told him we couldn't hear him in the back was that too bad he couldn't raise his voice. Then I got I'm line to get the growler and the shirt after waiting 10 min in line the girl told me I needed to go to the next line the other guy handles it . I get in that line for another 10 min the guy says he is not responsible for it so I decide to get a drink and cool off. While I am waiting for my drink, another customer came and asked for the groupon goodies and he just handed it to him.... Interesting. This place can not afford to so groupon deals because the place can probably only hold 100-150 but they sold over a 1,000 tickets for a beer festival that is happening??? You might need to be seated on the roof ! So anyway, we were all having a drink at the table then then the manager comes and plots a reserved table for 6 . ( it was 5:30 when we were there) seriously? While the customer is there you are going to reserve a table?? Her answer was well we actually don't reserve tables but this is a big group. Appearantly 6 of us wasn't enough for them. Save your money for a real brewery, whwre you don't have to wait 15 min for a drink

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Appetizers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The crab stuffed, bacon wrapped, jalapenos were amazing! The Nachos were fantastic, and nothing beats beer from the source!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Just ok...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We went to Lost Rhino using a Living Social voucher, the voucher included a glass, tour, tshirt, growler (no beer), but you still had to pay for beer... but it was cheap to do so.

Beer: I'll start this by saying I'm not a HUGE beer fan; however, I do like the "craft beers" in the area. They have plenty on tap, but my review of the beer is a "take it or leave it" because of the flavors we may individually like. Out of about 9 on tap in the back, I liked 1, and that 1 I couldn't get in a growler because they were running out... My husband liked a few more than I did, so seems there is at least 1 that you will like! :)

Seating: terrible, there isn't enough room for such a popular place.

Atmosphere: we went once before and turned right around because it was so crowded and the band was SO LOUD that you couldn't hear yourself think. During this trip it was quiet and pleasant, so just be warned if you don't look at what's going on that day that it might be too much/too little for you. It also seems really "kid friendly", they had toys out, children were there, etc... which in a weird way I think is cool and disastrous at the same time. It is a bar after all.

Overall its a nice place to try new beers and maybe hang out because its close to home, but its not "the best microbrewery" I've ever come across.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lost Rhino Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Lost Rhino Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lost Rhino Brewing Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.