We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Urban Bar-B-Que Restaurant & Catering- Ashburn

Urban Bar-B-Que Restaurant & Catering- Ashburn
44050 Ashburn Shopping Plz Ste 151, Suite #151, Ashburn, VA (Formerly Urban Bar-B-Que Company)
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 152 restaurants in Ashburn
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Portsmouth, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Enjoyed a heaping sliced beef brisket sandwich and fries at lunch. Very tasty with large portions. If you get a sandwich by itself -- split an order of fries as there will be plenty. You can order meat by the pound for take out as well. My first visit as I was only in town on business and was recommended by someone. The place was hopping at lunch, which I take as a good sign the food is worth it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

59% Recommend
    6
    10
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Good coleslaw, good barbecued ranch beans; pulled pork was so so, room size about 50 X 50 with no dividers. 3 or 4 booths on each side wall and 6 tables in the middle of the floor, walls covered with unattractive stuff. Not a particularly pretty place, but as a fast food joint it's ok. Nothing I would rush back to.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Decent but not particularly great barbeque with mediocre sauces and poor value side dishes.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

First of all, don't expect great pork barbeque when their are lots of Texas logos. Texans don't understand that pork barbeque should be a redundant term! That being said, the pork is ok, but (not surprisingly) the brisket is better. The wing "drumsticks" were about the same size as the actual drumsticks on the chicken - seriously?!? The side dishes were marginally larger than the little cups that coleslaw is generally served in regular barbeque joints - seriously - a very poor value! The food was better than our first visit right after opening, but service, while pleasant, was still slow, and the food, while decent, was not outstanding (but better than Red, Hot, & Blue and Famous Dave's) but provided a pricey "fix" when we couldn't travel out of town for the real thing!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Worst BBQ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Probably the worst $15 I have ever spent on BBQ ever. Ordered 2 meats combo at the Norbeck branch - 1/2 rack ribs and sausage. The ribs had hardly any meat. The meat was dry and was probably cooked yesterday. The sausage was soft - probably again carried over from yesterday - zero snap. I left the corn bread aside with one bite after the soft bread felt uncooked.
Last time to Urban BBQ for me, my family, and possibly my friends.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We are a barbeque loving family and this place was great - reasonable prices, good selection, fairly quick service. Order at the counter and the food is brought to your table. The brisket was wonderful, served with choice of sides and cornbread. Lots of decor on the walls and the flags of each branch of service hanging inside. When I couldn't decide what to eat, a regular patron behind me in line told me anything I ordered would be good - he was right!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urban Bar-B-Que Restaurant & Catering- Ashburn also viewed

Ashburn, Loudoun County
Ashburn, Loudoun County
 
Ashburn, Loudoun County
 

Been to Urban Bar-B-Que Restaurant & Catering- Ashburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urban Bar-B-Que Restaurant & Catering- Ashburn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.