We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Barbecue” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Urban Bar-B-Que Restaurant & Catering- Ashburn

Urban Bar-B-Que Restaurant & Catering- Ashburn
44050 Ashburn Shopping Plz Ste 151, Suite #151, Ashburn, VA 20147 (Formerly Urban Bar-B-Que Company)
(703) 858-7226
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 169 Restaurants in Ashburn
Price range: $0 - $16
Cuisines: American, Sandwiches, Barbecue
Restaurant details
Northern Virginnie
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Disappointing Barbecue”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We finally went to eat at Urban Bar-B-Que, located in the strip mall of Asburn. It seemed more geared to being a take-out place, but there are some booths, a cute bar with stools along the window, and a few tables where you can eat at, The decor was barbecue cute. You place your orders at the counter and pay there. Their staff was helpful and knowledgable.
The downside was the food - I had no idea that the salad had tiny cubes, rather than shredded meat in it. And the dressing, which was supposed to be blue cheese, could have easily passed for ranch - it wasn't until I found a tiny piece of cheese actually in it that I realized it must be their version of bc. After a few bites, we decided not to eat the salads there and that perhaps they would improve with some real blue cheese dressing so we wrapped our dinners to bring them home. But by the time we got home, we were not feeling well and threw the food away.
I gave this chain restaurant an "average" rating, but their food was definitely less than that.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    12
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“great barbeque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Just solid authentic food, sides are great as well. Pleasant counter-staff. Even the salads are good. Nice barbecue appropriate decor.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Very good BBQ. We ate from Texas and this was great choice for some Q.

Recomed the brisket and beans.

Will come back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Really good BBQ!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Coming from Texas, we didn't know what to expect with this place. Not bad at all. Would recommend ordering by the pound instead of individual orders. Cheaper that way. 1/2 price Wednesdays baby back ribs and kids eat free on Tuesdays.

Recommend and will return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good choice in Ashburn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

One of the better choices in Ashburn. Decent food and prices are good.
The employees are very personable unlike a lot of other area restaurants.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urban Bar-B-Que Restaurant & Catering- Ashburn also viewed

Ashburn, Loudoun County
 
Ashburn, Loudoun County
Ashburn, Loudoun County
 

Been to Urban Bar-B-Que Restaurant & Catering- Ashburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urban Bar-B-Que Restaurant & Catering- Ashburn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.