We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food but is it worth the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Urban Bar-B-Que Restaurant & Catering- Ashburn

Urban Bar-B-Que Restaurant & Catering- Ashburn
44050 Ashburn Shopping Plz Ste 151, Suite #151, Ashburn, VA (Formerly Urban Bar-B-Que Company)
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 157 Restaurants in Ashburn
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Ashburn, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food but is it worth the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The staff is very friendly and made us feel right at home. But two BBQ dinners and two beers tipped the scale at $46! Yes, it was good and the beer is local, but only the price keeps me from coming back more frequently.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    12
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
1 review
“Friendly and tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I'm not one to write reviews but I really enjoyed this place. The person at the counter was friendly and the manager came out from the back to greet us. The music was fun and they had 3 different sports on to entertain my boyfriend. The prices aren't bad for how much food you get as long as you don't buy each item seperate. The ranch beans were awesome and the pulled chicken wasn't bad at all. The bun was thick which I love because it holds the sandwich together. Their red sauce was my favorite and it tasted great on the chicken. My boyfriend really enjoyed the pork platter and wants to try it on the sandwich next time. Although I got a little bone in my sandwich it was still great. If you don't like your food with a little grease you probably shouldn't go here.

All in all, I really like this place and I'm glad we try it. Certainly going back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
545 reviews 545 reviews
301 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
“Average BBQ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

It was nice to hear Urban BBQ was going to be putting a shop in the Ashburn area. Unfortuantely, the food was only average. The staff was nice, the selections plentiful, but average food is average food.

Let's break down the entrees:

First, there was a lot of Urban BBQ Company "dust" put on everything. The seasoning wasn't needed on so many items. The smoked pork gets 3 out of 5 stars. The pulled chicken was a little dry and only gets 2.5. The half rack of ribs gets 3 stars, and the cornbread was ok, but a little dry. There was a lot of spice on the ribs, which turned into a grit which was not very pleasing.

As for the sides, the chooped cole slaw, potato salad and bbq ranch beans all get 3 stars. The beans were very saucy and goopy. The mac and cheese only gets 2.5 stars.

The sweet tea was nice and gets 4.5 stars and free refills on a $1.99 investment.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, VA
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great Staff, Above Average Eats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

They have another joint near where I work and it was good so I took the family to the Ashburn location closer to home. We got ribs, pulled pork with a bunch of sides. For starters, the young lady at the counter helped me naviagate the menu and where the sauces were. Even helped carry my food over to the table. The Ribs were smoky and just right. The Pulled Pork was tender and their array of sauces were great with the pulled pork. Like a little kid, I tried each one and kept changing up the rotation. The sides were just okay, nothing really stood out to me. We'll be back...probably this weekend as I'm starting to get the itch already and it's only Tuesday!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Finally Some Decent 'Q' in Ashburn and across Northern VA in general”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

You will like this food. Offering a great selection of chicken, pork, beef, and sausage, there is something for everyone. Good sides too, like beans and mac n cheese, plus a hearty corn bread. Meats are nicely smoked and not overdosed with sauce, so you can fix it up with one of self-service sauces just the way you like it. Fries are tasty too, very close to those numbered burger guys quality. More tables than most BBQ joints and very clean plus good classic rock music in the background. And they have sweet tea - true to a good 'Q' joint - sweet enough you may want to temper it with some of the unsweetened peach tea for a nice blend. My wife (BBQ is *not* her favorite food group) even liked the steak (brisket) salad. You order at the counter and pick up your food when they yell out your name, so consider that you may not be the only person with your name in the place and keep an eye out for your food - or give them your Facebook alias...

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urban Bar-B-Que Restaurant & Catering- Ashburn also viewed

Ashburn, Loudoun County
Ashburn, Loudoun County
 
Ashburn, Loudoun County
Ashburn, Loudoun County
 

Been to Urban Bar-B-Que Restaurant & Catering- Ashburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urban Bar-B-Que Restaurant & Catering- Ashburn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.