We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, moderately wooded park (check for ticks)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashburn Park

Ashburn Park
43546 Partlow Road, Ashburn, VA 20147
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 19 things to do in Ashburn
Attraction details
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice, moderately wooded park (check for ticks)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This is my daughter's favorite park in Ashburn by far. It has several playgrounds, each one focusing on a different age group. The area is moderately wooded so it is nice for shade, but you should probably check for ticks after a visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Joshua P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    1
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Beautiful for Everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Ashburn Park (also referred to as the "Dinosaur Park") is situated between an elementary school and a quiet neighborhood. It is a beautiful, serene park that is often punctuated with the laughter of children as they enjoy the swings and climbing structures. You'll see parents in business attire after work spending time with their kids, along with stay at home Moms and nannies. This is usually not one of the more crowded parks, possibly in part because many people don't know about it. The park recently had a small but permanent restroom facility added, but I haven't checked it out yet to see if it's open all the time or just during certain occasions (i.e. when someone has rented the park for a birthday, etc.). There are a few picnic tables and a nice sized covered deck area that I believe can be rented. Due to the extensive tree cover, the park is usually about ten degrees cooler than everywhere else. It is generally well maintained and clean. A path goes through the side of the park and connects with a walking trail, so you'll see people jogging, walking their dogs or taking a stroll. I've always felt safe in this park, which closes at dark and with good reason, as there is no light and the park isn't intended for evening visits. I've noticed an occasional police presence there, probably to ward off teens or those seeking to use the park as a nighttime hangout. When my kids were young we came here a lot and always enjoyed it. I still like to go there when I'm walking just because it's so lovely. If you're looking for a less crowded park to take the kids to, give this one a try.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank MySunsetProse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun Dinosaur Themed Park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Great to take the kids to on a good weather day. Kids enjoy the prehistoric themed playground. Pavilion has good space to eat lunch.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I LOVE THIS PLACE!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I used to go here all the time when I was younger. That was a really long time ago but it was the coolest little park, especially if you like dinosaurs!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank iluvs0ccer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn,VA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“LOVE "THE DINOSAUR PARK"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great park for all ages! Several different play sets based on ages, nice wooded/shady location. Swings, jungle gyms, a gazebo for dining and near walking trails. For locals (Ashburn Farm) this park is easily accessed by the surrounding walking trails. However, it is not conveniently located off any major road. It has a good variety of play sets, however, the larger kid play area is down an embankment which makes it a little difficult to keep you eye on younger & older kids. The lower area is a little buggy. Port-a-Potties are the only restrooms. Nearby creeks, walk ways and bridges are fun to explore! Pick up lunch from the Wine'ing Butcher or stop by after.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank eavatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ashburn Park also viewed

Ashburn, Loudoun County
 
Ashburn, Loudoun County
Ashburn, Loudoun County
 

Been to Ashburn Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing