We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always soild” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mali Thai Cuisine

Mali Thai Cuisine
43150 Broadlands Center Plaza, Suite 180, Ashburn, VA 20148
+1 703-726-8833
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 154 Restaurants in Ashburn
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Takeout
Description: Nice Restaurant in Broadlands Center Plaza, Ashburn Virginia. Offer Lunch Special, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Available, Kids' Menu, Full Bar offering.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always soild”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Delicious food, great service, good value, clean and pleasant setting. It is our place to go for Thai. And Pong is good people.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    6
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, California
Top Contributor
379 reviews 379 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
450 helpful votes 450 helpful votes
“Great modern Thai restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

First off, the food. It's just plain perfect. It's tasty, spicy (with accent on balance and complexity, not on making it "hot"), great presentation, fresh, clean - absolutely delicious! The prices are very reasonable too.

Second, the staff. Again, never had a better experience in any thai place. The service was great.

Finally the place. There are some thai touches but it's mostly modern western sleek clean design. Just think about modern cafe, not an "expensive", "traditional", or "ethnic" restaurant.

Bottom line is, this is a perfect lunch place. Speaking about dinners, it depends if you're looking for food or service (which both are absolutely great), or for a theme (arguably this is not the most romantic or "expensive" looking place) - then it depends on your expectations.

Overall, highly, highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent and delicious!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant has been open for aprox. 2 years. The atmosphere is peaceful and relaxing! The restaurant is clean. The quality of the food it's excellent! We highly recommend trying this place!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Thai restaurant in Ashburn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Amazing over the years that Ashburn has grown to the point of having almost 10 Thai restaurants. I've probably visited them all this point and just tried Mail Thai for the first time. I thoroughly enjoyed the meal and overall, I would put Mali Thai at the top of the list for overall Thai dining experience in Ashburn. For one, they have happy hour from 5-7:30 (i think those were the times) and many of their appetizers are $3 and their drink prices are reduced ($2 domestic and $3 import beers, wines and mixed drinks reduced too). My wife and I both got the house red (which I think was $3) and it was quite good. Paired perfectly with the food. We had spring rolls, drunken noodles, duck, and for dessert, fried banana with ice cream. Everything was wonderful. Freshly prepared and tasty. Portions were generous; brought home dinner for the next night! Our waitress was very friendly and very attentive and the decor was very clean and fresh. Definitely worth the visit and plan on returning soon. All that being said, we were the only diners at the restaurant for our entire meal (although several folks did come in for take out) and we were there at about 5:30 on a beautiful Friday night. Maybe a bit early for a Friday and the weather was so nice that I could see people not wanting to go inside to eat, but the only ones! I sure hope folks give this place try because they have an extensive menu and I'd like for it to stick around so I can try everything on it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive Branch, Mississippi, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Thai in Northern VA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I travel the world with my job. Once a month I go to Northern VA (Dulles Airport) and I always stop at Mali Thai. The food is consistently excellent and the service is superb. The place is clean and neatly decorated. Prices are very reasonable. Daily Happy Hour is a great deal. I have tried several of the Thai Restaurants in the Northern VA area....Mali Thai is #1.

Try the Vegetable Green Curry with Tofu. It is the best I've ever had!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mali Thai Cuisine also viewed

Ashburn, Loudoun County
Ashburn, Loudoun County
 
Ashburn, Loudoun County
Ashburn, Loudoun County
 

Been to Mali Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mali Thai Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.