We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and delicious!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mali Thai Cuisine

Mali Thai Cuisine
43150 Broadlands Center Plaza, Suite 180, Ashburn, VA
703-726-8833
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 150 restaurants in Ashburn
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Quiet atmosphere in Broadlands Center Plaza, Ashburn Virginia. Good for entertain guest. Have a business lunch on private section of the restaurant.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Excellent and delicious!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant has been open for aprox. 2 years. The atmosphere is peaceful and relaxing! The restaurant is clean. The quality of the food it's excellent! We highly recommend trying this place!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    8
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Thai restaurant in Ashburn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Amazing over the years that Ashburn has grown to the point of having almost 10 Thai restaurants. I've probably visited them all this point and just tried Mail Thai for the first time. I thoroughly enjoyed the meal and overall, I would put Mali Thai at the top of the list for overall Thai dining experience in Ashburn. For one, they have happy hour from 5-7:30 (i think those were the times) and many of their appetizers are $3 and their drink prices are reduced ($2 domestic and $3 import beers, wines and mixed drinks reduced too). My wife and I both got the house red (which I think was $3) and it was quite good. Paired perfectly with the food. We had spring rolls, drunken noodles, duck, and for dessert, fried banana with ice cream. Everything was wonderful. Freshly prepared and tasty. Portions were generous; brought home dinner for the next night! Our waitress was very friendly and very attentive and the decor was very clean and fresh. Definitely worth the visit and plan on returning soon. All that being said, we were the only diners at the restaurant for our entire meal (although several folks did come in for take out) and we were there at about 5:30 on a beautiful Friday night. Maybe a bit early for a Friday and the weather was so nice that I could see people not wanting to go inside to eat, but the only ones! I sure hope folks give this place try because they have an extensive menu and I'd like for it to stick around so I can try everything on it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive Branch, Mississippi, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Thai in Northern VA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I travel the world with my job. Once a month I go to Northern VA (Dulles Airport) and I always stop at Mali Thai. The food is consistently excellent and the service is superb. The place is clean and neatly decorated. Prices are very reasonable. Daily Happy Hour is a great deal. I have tried several of the Thai Restaurants in the Northern VA area....Mali Thai is #1.

Try the Vegetable Green Curry with Tofu. It is the best I've ever had!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, VA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Tidy Thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

If you are a new traveler to the world of Thai cuisine, Mali Thai in Ashburn would be a very good first stop. The welcoming, moderately sized dining room offers both tables and booths and there is a small bar in the rear. The room is bright, light and extremely clean. There is soft music playing in the background and you can hear the trickling water from a water feature in the front window. The menu is large, easy to read, with full dish descriptions and even peppered with some photographs. The wait staff is very willing to answer any questions and to indicate which choices come with that delicious Thai "heat". The plates come to the table looking just as good as they taste with lovely garnishes--edible too. The food is freshly prepared and the dipping sauces are made on site. Each of four bites in to the Kanom Jeeb and you taste four separate, delicious ingredients. The portions are generous and easily shared. Your cup of tea is accompanied by your own pot of hot water. The service is quick and to the point. While the food may be a bit more generic than what you would experience in Southeast Asia, it doesn't require a passport or those pesky shots and it won't cost you a lot of baht.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginnie
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“After almost a year, still absolutely delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Although we have enjoyed the food from this restaurant often, we find that Mali Thai, located in the Broadlands' Safeway mall area gets even better with time!
Recently, the owners attended a very special family wedding in Thailand, so we were without their tasty Thai food at the beginning of this summer and are so glad to have them back!
Some things at Mali Thai have changed over the past year - they now have a full bar, offer happy hours during the week with $3 appetizers plus other specials, and service couldn't be better!
But, thankfully, some things have remained the same - their chef still makes her amazing food to order, their food is consistently fresh and flavorful, Mali Thai is comfy for dining, either individually or in a group, and the value at this restaurant is excellent!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mali Thai Cuisine also viewed

Ashburn, Loudoun County
Ashburn, Loudoun County
 
Ashburn, Loudoun County
Ashburn, Loudoun County
 
Ashburn, Loudoun County
Ashburn, Loudoun County
 
Ashburn, Loudoun County
Ashburn, Loudoun County
 

Been to Mali Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mali Thai Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.