We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Indian restaurant in Ashburn that can compete at a high level.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Curry Club - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Curry Club
44640 Waxpool Road, Ashburn, VA
703-723-9282
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Indian
Description: (Website is currently under construction.)
Restaurant details
Description: (Website is currently under construction.)
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“An Indian restaurant in Ashburn that can compete at a high level.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Excellent Indian food, but only a so-so bar. Come for the Indian food which is generally very good to excellent (with a few exceptions on a hit or miss basis). Their bar is rather rudimentary.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    5
    4
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great buffet and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012 via mobile

So, met a pal for lunch here. Tucked away in a small, food only strip-mall (expect reviews of a few of those other places later), it is easy to miss.
The restaurant was well decorated, dominated by an enormous oak bar and some chandeliers. It had a very Indian-colonial era vibe, and it was spotless.
The food was great. Butter chicken is a rarity in an Indian buffet but they had it, they brought out fresh naan on a regular basis, and there was always a waiter around but the service was never pushy.
I'd definitely travel here to eat, and it is highly reccomended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I'd eaten at their buffet before, but this visit I ordered take-out. The food is excellent, and they give generous portions. The manager (owner? not sure of his position) made sure I knew that one appetizer I'd ordered was good when you order it fresh but not always good for takeout.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Hill, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice place, but room for improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

My family tried the Curry Club last night. We were plesantly suprised by the ambiance, which is very up-scale: white table cloth, dark wood bar, cloth napkins, waiters in ties and vests, etc. You can't tell from the outside of the building how nice the inside is. The service is very prompt, and the servers are attentive and helpful. The food was very good, and there is a nice selection and variety of authentic Indian food broad enough that there should be something to suit everyone's taste. The prices are appropriate for the food. Two complaints: myself and another member of our party ordered Mai-tais, but there was very little alchohol in the drinks. The other complaint is that one of their menu items said that it was shrimp stuffed with crab, but there was no crab in the dish. When we brought this to the waiter's attention he said "well it used to have crab, but now it doesn't." That seems like a detail that should be mentioned to someone ordering that particular dish.

Overall, I enjoyed our experience. I think the curry club would be great for a date, formal dinner, or corporate event. I will go back, but I won't order anything with alcohol, and I will make sure to ask how individual dishes are prepared.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Delicious Indian lunch buffet at a reasonable price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

The buffet selections were varied so that one could choose mildly "hot" to very spicy. This is good because not everyone can tolerate a truly "hot" dish. The atmosphere was pleasant and everywhere in the restaurant was clean. The waiter was very attentive for refilling water glasses, bringing more Naan bread, and clearing dirty plates. You could go back to the buffet as often as you wished. The manager came to our table once to ask how we were enjoying our lunch. We would definitely go there again.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curry Club also viewed

Ashburn, Loudoun County
 
Ashburn, Loudoun County
Ashburn, Loudoun County
 
Ashburn, Loudoun County
Ashburn, Loudoun County
 
Ashburn, Loudoun County
Ashburn, Loudoun County
 
Ashburn, Loudoun County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Curry Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.