We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“soooooooooooooo good!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yen's Cafe

Yen's Cafe
43490 Yukon Drive #113, Ashburn, VA 20147
703 723-8811
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 150 restaurants in Ashburn
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
northern virginia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“soooooooooooooo good!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

we just had our first take-out from yen's café & are VERY satisfied customers!!! delicious food...generous portions...fast & friendly delivery. they even took care to keep the chicken crispy for the sweet & sour chicken. we highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    13
    7
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great Chinese food in an unlikely location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had lunch on a Sunday at this gem of a Chinese restaurant. There are only 5 or 6 tables in the dinning room and I only saw Asian families eating there on this particular Sunday. My daughter and son in law were familiar with the large menu and ordered the food. The hot and sour soup was great. The steamed dumplings and spring rolls were cooked to perfection. The main dishes we had ordered were Hunan chicken, Crispy beef, braised pork meat balls and cabbage in a hot pot and Taiwanese fried chicken. Each dish was cooked to perfection. The food here can easily compete with the food in the best Chinese restaurants in New York City and San Francisco China Towns. I highly recommend this restaurant and will definitely eat here again. The food is a little pricey but it is of the highest quality. Service was fast, freindly and excellent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“This used to be our favorite Chinese restaurant...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We used to love Yen's Cafe and thought it had the best Chinese food in the area. Their General Tso's Chicken was the best and one of our favorite menu items there. But, last night we stopped in for take-out and we were greatly disappointed. The egg-drop soup was good; the added corn is a nice touch. The vegetable spring rolls were very bland, but the biggest disappointment was the General Tso's Chicken. The chicken was dry and honestly tasted like McDonald's Chicken Nuggets with a bare minimum of sauce on top. I'm not kidding. I thought they had run out of chicken and gone over to McDonald's to buy up a bunch of Chicken McNuggets to use in their dish. My husband and I each ate a few and then threw out the rest. It was that bad. Not even worth saving for cold Chinese food leftovers. We also did take-out from Yen's for our Jewish Christmas night and it wasn't great then, either. The hot and sour soup was oily, and our entrees were just so-so. At that time, I attributed it to the fact that they were busy for Christmas. But last night, it was very quiet there, so no excuses. Two strikes they're out? Maybe. I'm not sure if we will go back to Yen's Cafe.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC area
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Fresh & Authentic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Went there to celebrate "Jewish Christmas". Great food. Dumplings taste homemade. Crispy Sesame Beef is actually crispy (!), Chicken with Chinese Chilies is actually spicy (!), excellent pea shoots in garlic sauce too. Hubby has been to Taiwan on business, said some of our selections came pretty close. Prices seem high, but portions are gigantic, we took home half of what we ate and could have probably fed 6 more people on it. For dessert they bring complimentary sweets - ours was a fried donut sweet bao with custard filling, yum. Inside is tiny, only about 7 tables, so if you don't feel like waiting, order take out. Services was pretty good despite being slammed. We are ex-New Yorkers who have eaten Chinese food around the world, so our standards are very, very high. This place exceeded them.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fried chicken lovers - try the Taiwanese fried chicken morsels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This place is a find in the middle of the vast residential community in Ashburn. It's a small and quiet place tucked behind the Giant shopping center but once you try their tasty and authentic Chinese cuisine, you'll be craving for their dishes. The owner and staff are very friendly and originally from Taiwan.

We haven't tried everything on their specialties menu yet, but we do have our favorites. We love the bits of crispy skin and seasonings on the Taiwanese fried chicken morsels served with crispy basil leaves. It goes well with the vegetable side dish of string beans with pork. The salt and pepper pork chop is also delicious. The egg drop soup with ham brings me back memories of my visit to China.

Prices are higher than other small Chinese restaurants in the area but you are also paying for higher quality, better ingredients, and more flavor.

Their fresh fruit smoothies are also excellent to end the meal for your ride home. Drinking water is also filtered. They do have a wide selection of specialty teas. At the end of your meal, you may love their complimentary little fried donuts.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yen's Cafe also viewed

Ashburn, Loudoun County
Ashburn, Loudoun County
 
Ashburn, Loudoun County
 

Been to Yen's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yen's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.