We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ford's Fish Shack

Ford's Fish Shack
44620 Ice Rink Plaza, Ashburn, VA 20147
571-918-4092
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 165 Restaurants in Ashburn
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Oyster Bar, Family Fare
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I was staying in the area for 1 night and didn't have a client dinner so thought I take quick bite- saw Ford's well reviewed so I went. Yum - even though this isn't exactly the type of place you would generally think of as a business dinner, I wouldn't hesitate. The clam chowder was very good - word of warning, if you don't like spicy, stay away from the crackers. The fish and chips are about the best I've ever had.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    125
    33
    16
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pawleys Island, South Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We had never been and was expecting a "Long John Silver's" experience. Instead we had a fine lunch experience that was out of the ordinary. The crab cake sandwich was great. The chowdah was wonderful. The "small plate" of smoked salmon bruschetta was awesome! The place was nearly empty when we arrived at 11:30. There was a line of people waiting to be seated when we left an hour later.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“So very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Such good food. The angry mussels app is to die for. The fish tacos are that good. Love their shrimp. Above average restaurant with excellent service and great prices. Go early. We've gone so many times and left because the waits are so long.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Must go!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The menu was so great, it took me forever to decide what I wanted. I ended up splitting meals with others at my table having the same problems. We all ordered something different and then shared. The cornbread mini muffins were delicious. The lobster was perfectly cooked as were the scallops. Our server was knowledgeable and very good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good variety in seafood”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is local favorite which is evident the moment you walk in and see the multiple people with buzzers. I have a food allergy and was dismayed at how cavalier the wait staff was to my problem. Our large group had ordered three appetizers and I was not able to eat any of them because the kitchen had carelessly dressed everyone instead of putting the sauce on the side as requested.

I had the Connecticut lobster roll. The lobster was well cooked. And it was my first time trying this variation on the theme. Basically it was warm lobster on a bun with butter. I'll be back to the traditional version next time.

They have this affectation for mispelling lobster. Not sure what that is about, and it is a bit kitch, though I'm not sure necessary.

Overall a wide ranging variety of seafood.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ford's Fish Shack also viewed

Ashburn, Loudoun County
 
Ashburn, Loudoun County
Ashburn, Loudoun County
 

Been to Ford's Fish Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ford's Fish Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.