We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ford's Fish Shack

Ford's Fish Shack
44620 Ice Rink Plaza, Ashburn, VA 20147
571-918-4092
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 149 restaurants in Ashburn
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Oyster Bar, Family Fare
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Pawleys Island, South Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We had never been and was expecting a "Long John Silver's" experience. Instead we had a fine lunch experience that was out of the ordinary. The crab cake sandwich was great. The chowdah was wonderful. The "small plate" of smoked salmon bruschetta was awesome! The place was nearly empty when we arrived at 11:30. There was a line of people waiting to be seated when we left an hour later.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    141
    88
    25
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Such good food. The angry mussels app is to die for. The fish tacos are that good. Love their shrimp. Above average restaurant with excellent service and great prices. Go early. We've gone so many times and left because the waits are so long.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Must go!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The menu was so great, it took me forever to decide what I wanted. I ended up splitting meals with others at my table having the same problems. We all ordered something different and then shared. The cornbread mini muffins were delicious. The lobster was perfectly cooked as were the scallops. Our server was knowledgeable and very good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good variety in seafood”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is local favorite which is evident the moment you walk in and see the multiple people with buzzers. I have a food allergy and was dismayed at how cavalier the wait staff was to my problem. Our large group had ordered three appetizers and I was not able to eat any of them because the kitchen had carelessly dressed everyone instead of putting the sauce on the side as requested.

I had the Connecticut lobster roll. The lobster was well cooked. And it was my first time trying this variation on the theme. Basically it was warm lobster on a bun with butter. I'll be back to the traditional version next time.

They have this affectation for mispelling lobster. Not sure what that is about, and it is a bit kitch, though I'm not sure necessary.

Overall a wide ranging variety of seafood.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
1 review
“The Best Seafood Restaurant EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This restaurant is one of the best we have ever been to for seafood. From their lobster rolls (my personal favorite) and their fish and chips (my husband's favorite) to whatever the fresh fish of the day always delicious along with the sides. I don't mean to exclude their fabulous Blueberry Martini. It also has a fantastic brunch; Eggs Benedict over crab!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ford's Fish Shack also viewed

Ashburn, Loudoun County
 
Ashburn, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 

Been to Ford's Fish Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ford's Fish Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.